We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Aguascalientes, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We love to stay here since we were young. The pool area is fantastic. The rooms are really confy. The beach is a little too rocky...but, it is nice. The malecon area its 10 mins away walking. The morning buffet its delicious. A taxy cab to the malecon its only 50 pesos, you will get to the main street in 5 minutes max.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ricky:
Thank you about your review, we really thank you for returning every time you have a chance. We really love to see you again and that you share your special moments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    526
    253
    109
    89
See reviews for
492
591
77
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 10 day all inclusive stay at the Sheraton. This was our second trip to PV and we were really looking forward to returning. Although nothing was outright horrible, there were a number of minor annoyances that added up.

When checking in, the young man at the desk seemed rather disinterested in helping us and did not give any information regarding our inclusive stay. He also obviously did not even look at our reservation and put us in a room with no view and 2 double beds after we had booked (and paid for) a room with a king bed and a ocean view. When we complained and showed our reservation we were moved to the room we paid for.

Our new room had the mini bar we were told was included in our package, but it was locked. Once we got it unlocked, we had to ask for it to be restocked even though we were told at the front desk that it was restocked daily. It was restocked twice during our 10 day stay.

Overall, we found the service lacking. We did have one great waiter at the restaurant (Oliviero, I think) who would watch for us once he realized we did tip! But during more than one meal we were basically completely ignored by the staff. The food is basic and there is not a huge selection, but luckily the hotel is close to town and there are tons of great places to eat.

As expected, the time share push was a pain, but we now know to ignore, ignore, ignore! Trust me, they say 90 minutes but it never is! We did not attend our invitation to learn more and no matter what they say the time is not worth the "free gifts"!

We really felt like this hotel is just that . . . A hotel. If you are looking for a resort experience, I would not recommend it. If you just want a place to sleep, have a quick breakfast and enjoy the sights and restaurants in PV, it works.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Kerry:
We are really sorry to give you that poor impression; we really are a resort in Puerto Vallarta. We want you to return with us and notice that every comment you made, was correctly attended and we are improving our services.
We want to thank your comments, because it makes us to improve more and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We spent 8 days at the Buganvilias in Puerto Vallarta and despite rain half the time, we had the best time ever and would go back again. Every single staff member treated us like we were the only guest. The enthusiasm, the cheerfulness, the "hola"s and the help were more than what we expected. My son is in a wheelchair and I expected difficulties... instead I received extra help every day. The only difficulty was with the internet which was sporadic at best... but on the other hand, that kept us from wasting time on things we could do when we went home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: We had a wheelchair accessible room and for anyone with challenges walking would love this. Walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Eileen:
It’s always a pleasure to receive and help you in our resort. We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us and we hope you are thinking to return with us!
In the Internet point, we are working in order to have a better connection for you.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just got back from a week at the Sheraton Bunganvilias and thoroughly enjoyed it. My group and I had the all inclusive option and were treated very well during our stay. The staff is AMAZING! Every single staff member went out the their way to say "Hola" and give a smile when you walked by. Special mention to Lulu at the concierge desk, Ricardo from the activity pool, Ignacio, Javier and Rodrigo from the pool bar and of course Milly at the lobby bar! They all made our stay wonderful.

Great location, close to the Malecon and old town. Walked most days to get there but also opted for the city bus. Very easy to take with bus stops right outside the hotel.

Spent a lot of time by the pool and swim up bar. Waiters take your drink order right from your pool chair (best to order 2 at a time) Music is played throughout the day and a lot of activities are going on. (water aerobics, tequila volleyball, etc) I like to read and did not find it loud or distracting to do so.

The hotel is very clean. Every morning, staff would sweep up around the pool and make sure pathways were clear. Rooms were check on in a timely manner and there was even turn down service which I did not necessarily need but it was a nice gesture.

The buffet was pretty generic. The food was good but there wasn't much change in dishes throughout the week. The Sunday brunch did offer more items. The Mexican al la carte was very good, so good we went twice! Also ate a few times on the downtown. There are a lot of great restaurants with good prices and drink specials.

Yes, there are people selling time shares in the lobby. The 'Bunganvilias' part of the resort has time shares and they are there trying to sell those ones specifically. I did not get bothered by anyone and simply replied "No, thank you" when asked if I need help or wanted a "free tour". All it takes is a little courtesy.

It was a great experience! Thank you to all the staff for the great hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor right above the lobby bar. We opted for a king bed and balcony vs. a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Jessi:
You don’t have to thank the hospitality; we always glad to receive you in our hotel. We really like to hear that you had a great time with us and hope you are thinking in return to Sheraton Buganvilias.
We want to thank the time you take for writing this great review
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visit Sheraton Buganvilias for about 3 weeks every April-May--adding about 2 days every year to our stay. This year, we decided to do a quick "teaser" trip to Puerto Vallarta during the first week of December. We were not disappointed!

So many of the staff recognized us from our previous visits--which made us feel very welcome and at home. We enjoyed our favorite floor--the 13th---non-smoking and a wonderful walkout patio.

We are already counting down the days until our next visit in April---know it will probably be a little busier at the hotel then, as we find ourselves in Puerto Vallarta over the Easter Holiday--but we've visited before at the same time, and it just adds to the enjoyment.

Room Tip: We love the 13th floor--non-smoking and wonderful patio--if you are more into looking far out into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Columbia:
Thank you for visiting us again, we always glad to receive you any time. We will be waiting for you your next vacations.
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was there for 6 nights on all included packaging and the worst thing on it was the internet, I mean lack of internet... during all those days it was impossible to check my mails and get in contact with my company mates... well, if you want to hide yourself from the rest of the world.. that is the place.
Despite all comments on all included packaging I had no problem on beverages and food... it was all served as expected.
The rooms are spaced and clean. The majority of personal are amiable and try always to help you on your requests.

Room Tip: Try to get the club level... these floors doesn't allowed kids and maximum occupancy per room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Robinson:
We are really sorry about the internet problems that were presented during your stay in our resort, we are working in order to improve it and to offer a better connection service.
We are glad to hear that the other services were fine for you, please let us be your hosts during you next Puerto Vallarta trip to demonstrate you that we learned from our errors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatoon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I were at the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort from Dec 15 - 22, 2013. We booked the all inclusive package and were pleasantly surprised. The food and drinks were very good. The beach is not really great but I think the pools make up for that. The staff was incredible and the service was great. No complaints there. We were in Club Class but I'm not sure I would recommend spending a ton of extra money for this. You really didn't get any spectacular perks but if you are a Starwoods rewards member(we are) you can appreciate having the little extras you get with all Sheraton properties.

It seems that a majority of the rooms face the ocean so I don't think there is a bad room. We were on the 22nd floor (which is actually the 12th) and the view was amazing, don't miss the sunsets. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. I would say that the taps needed to be replaced they were super old and hard to turn on and off.

The location is perfect. We were about 15 - 20 min walking to the Malecon and we felt very safe walking around PV. Cabs were very affordable if you are out too late and don't want to walk back to the hotel. There are many good restaurants in PV and we went to quite a few. It was still the slow time there so there were lots of good deals still otherwise I've heard it can be expensive.

I want to say a special thanks to Miriam at the lobby bar - she was great . She helped us play a practical joke on a friend back home on the phone - she was a good sport and a great lady.

Really the only negative things are the time share people - but hey that's Mexico - they are everywhere. It's hard to get away from them. And every time you order anything a drink/food etc you have to give your room number even though you have a bracelet color coded to indicate you are all inclusive. The problem is that there are so many different colored bracelets because there are so many ways you can stay at this hotel. I understand why they feel the need to do this but what a hassle for the staff and for the guests. Everyone we spoke with was annoyed by this. I'm sure that they can come up with a better system for the people who are all inclusive.

I would definitely recommend this hotel/resort.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms have a pretty good view so really it's whether you would rather be high up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Fernando G, Social Media Champion at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Ellemore:
Thank you for visiting us! We really appreciate your comments and the time you take for doing them; we always are looking for the comfort of our guests. We really want to see you again in any chance you have to come to Puerto Vallarta.
Greetings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.