We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Salem
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from 7 days at the Sherton. My husband and I stayed in the Vacation Club (time share) and our friends stayed AI at the resort. The food was beyond expectations and the service was over the top. I believe that they have upgraded in a lot of areas. The drinks had plenty of alcohol and with a little bit of tip, you had all your could handle for drinks throughout the day. We ate at all the restaurants on site and were never disappointed. The only compliant that I would have is that the activities were not well organized. It said that water aerobics were at 1:00 each day, but only once did someone show up to conduct both the water aerobics as well as an organized water volleyball game. But, it may have a lot to do with the time of the year. This resort is a short walk to 'town' and the pools are expansive, the beach is rocky and nothing special, but with the great pools, we didn't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    545
    259
    113
    93
See reviews for
516
610
78
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Loved staying here. Staff was attentive and very friendly. On the mornings I was up early, there was a lot of cleaning going on everywhere; the whole place was kept really clean.

Super close to walk to the malecon, so we were able to get out and about on foot.

Only complaint was the time share harassment.

Enjoyed karaoke at night in the bar, and cooling off in the pool during the day :^)

We had exceptionally great service from Miriam, Marizia, Gabriel, Enrique, Ramon, Felipe, Rigo, and the breakfast servers were all very friendly and attentive!

I felt after a week of staying here that I had made friends I look forward to seeing again in the future.

My next trip down I plan to take my kids with me.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean views. I didn't spend much time in the room, so picked the least expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and the service is consistently excellent. Arnulfo and Juan in the Club Lounge always made me feel like I was truly a valued guest. The location is great for an easy walk into town. The pool is nice and the food is good. The ocean view rooms offer amazing sunsets and how can you go wrong looking out your window at the ocean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The top floor (23) has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest from Oshawa:

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Our Club Level section on the top of the hotel has devoted butler service to provide the best Sheraton experience to all out guest, we are glad to see that our efforts were worth it. We hope you had the opportunity to use our Beach Lounge Chairs exclusive for our Club Guests use, a comfortable beach area to relish the murmur of the ocean and share quality time with a few selected guests.

I will forward your comments to our butles, Arnulfo and Juan, they will be inspired to know your kindhearted consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your wife.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a sun terrace room with an ocean view, which was very good for an older hotel. The problem is that every time we went to or exited from the elevator, we we "attacked" by the time share people. (they refer to themselves as a club, but are definitely time share.) The hotel is definitely on side with this behavior as we were escorted to their counter when we checked in. They are very well trained force, knowing all all the right buzz words, like this is your second home, but it was anything but relaxing, when you start spending your time devising ways to get passed them.

Room Tip: Most rooms do not have a balcony or terrace. It is worth the price to get sun terrace room if you e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Patricia:

With interest I learnt about your experience during your stay, we deeply regret your disconcert. We appreciate your insight and you can rest assured, we will amend our our sales staff observance of estabished practices and will review our current costumer service approach procedures and sales techniques to convene with our guest expectations. Appropriate action will be taken to correct our miscalculation and prevent annoying our guests, your confort and service satisfaction is important to us and our ambition is to provide the best Sheraton experience in Puerto Vallarta.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort..

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff, scenery, food, and atmosphere were beyond exceptional! Just wish there was a disco/more entertainment.. Short trip to downtown makes it the perfect place to stay! I cannot say enough about the staff! Very friendly and always working hard to go a step beyond!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton for a few weeks in March and found the property to be excellent in most regards. Special note to the staff in the outdoor restaurant , Olivero, Jose, and staff. Top notch service as well as excellent fooc. Pool area and the rooms were kept spotless and even the little Siamese cat mascot looked well cared for. A short walk to the town center and it is ideal for quiet rerlaxing time.

Room Tip: Sunday brunch is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Carl:

With pride we have read about your gratifying experience in our resort and in our lovely Puerto Vallarta,

It is indeed our ambition to be the best hotel resort in town and fully comply with our guest expectations. We will print out your comments and share them with our restaurant staff, including Oliverio and Jose, they will be thrilled to know your kindhearted consideration for the excellent service rendered to you and your wife.

Pease receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, clean, on the ocean and has friendly and knowledgeable staff. Our suite was well equipped, large and with a view second to none. Great place.
We found the hotel to be quiet, help was available when needed and we weren't hounded about timeshare, sightseeing trips or other promotional stuff, yet we were made aware that it was there if we wished to have more information. We spent two weeks and loved every minute.

Room Tip: We had a great suite - no complaints, hence no specific recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.