We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #30 of 122 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Wonderful family holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel was amazing- fantastic pools- 2 large ones and excellent service. We had our 15 month old daughter with us and the staff was so accommodating! Before we arrived, Hector arranged by email for us to have adjoining rooms with my parents so that they could watch the baby in the evening while we went out- it was wonderful! We also had great ocean views and the rooms were cleaned meticulously each and every day. The staff were all extremely friendly and and happy to help with anything. There is a kids club, amazing pools, and a public bus that takes 5 min. to take you into town for 6.5 pesos- the downtown is really nice, lots of street performers, old cobble streets, shops, food, and tequila! One thing I would say is definitely go for the all inclusive deal as the food was fantastic and without it, prices are pretty expensive- a great variety and a couple different restaurants to choose from- in addition to great bar side food, and bottomless drinks!! We got a great deal on expedia but make sure to scroll down when selecting your room to see how much the all inclusive costs- it is well worth it as we didn't spend a penny on food or drink the whole week and were completely satisfied- the margaritas were not watered down and waiters were constantly brining you whatever you wanted. An excellent family vacation where we met other families with kids and played in the fabulous pool- there is a large 1ft section for the babies to play around in. All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel and thank everyone there for our amazing trip- we will be back!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great- nothing fancy but more than sufficient. Also, as mentioned go for the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    651
    288
    125
    105
See reviews for
595
714
89
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the hotel is excellente, we was in 23 floor and the look was great, the people very nice and the food, everything was really good.
the attention from them for us was very important and they was very attending specially by the concerige.
looking forward to attending again next year around the hotel,including the happy lobster.
the food, a la cartes were excellent, excellent services as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked our room through hotwire and received a standard room on the 15th floor. (Really the 5th floor.) We were high enough to view the pool and the bay from our room. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was located within walking distance to downtown Puerto Vallarta, shops and the Mega grocery store. The bus stop was also right out front of the hotel on the left hand side. There were two heated pools at this hotel. We found that we liked the timeshare poolside better than the hotel's side. The people were friendly and more outgoing. When we first arrived they did try to have us do a timeshare presentation, but we firmly said "No" and they never asked us again. They may have tried to call our room twice, but we never answered the phone. The maid was always early to clean our room and it was nice to have it done right away in the early afternoon. We did not eat at any of the restaurants. We did attend the show "Grease" on Wednesday night, which was pretty good. The staff was friendly and I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The pools each had children's pools connected to the big pool and they also had a hot tub on the timeshare pool side.

Room Tip: The higher floor you are on, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Has another great expereinced at the hotel. Made special by the concerige Lulu Becerra and Club Lounge attendants Juan Garcia and Arnulfo Torres. Well done! Junir suite was sweet! Looking forward to attending again next year. Good access to a number of good restaturants around the hotel, inlcuding the Happy Lobster and Kashi sushi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed march 4th to 11th with my buddy. had a great time.only two minor problems, the buffet food could have been warmer, and the beach is rocky. a la cartes were excelent, the room very nice, over all very nice hotel. would go back today if i could.special thanks to Edwardo Castro (director of activities) who did a great job, also to Miriam in the bar who gave myself and bud excelent service as well. hope to see you both next time i,m there.

Room Tip: book a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest from Westbank:

Thank you for sharing your gratifying experience during your vacation in our resort.

It is indeed our objective to deliver optimal service to all our guests and entirely comply with our guest expectancies. We will post your comments on our in house bulleting board and share your kindhearted consideration for our staff. Eduardo and Miriam will be proud for your recognition. We are currently evaluating several options to have and maintain our beach in the best possible conditions for our guests and visitors.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sorry to say this, but the Sheraton has seen better days.
Pluses - a good location (you can walk to the Centro). Good pools. Nice views from the rooms. Good food for the breakfast buffet.
Minuses - spare furniture that needs some updating. Outside of the building is a bit worn. Not the best neighborhood. Not well soundproofed. HORRIBLE internet. Some bureaucracy (one place for towel tickets, another to check in, another for the towels themselves, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Ken:

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.

Thank you for your comments about the maintenance issues you encountered in your guestroom – I should add that shortly we will start a remodeling process for our guests rooms, and the first stage will be finished by the end of the year.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to Vallarta and permit us to show our newly appointed rooms.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

They claim to have free WiFi, the problem is it barely works. If your windows or patio doors are open it may work 50% of the time. If you have your air conditioning on you can't open the windows or doors. I found myself in the business center with an Ethernet wire plugged in, this is the only way I could communicate with my office. A computer person stuck in a resort without internet is no way to spend your vacation. Go somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you expect WiFi, don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.