We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed
Ranked #21 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

the hotel is excellente, we was in 23 floor and the look was great, the people very nice and the food, everything was really good.
the attention from them for us was very important and they was very attending specially by the concerige.
looking forward to attending again next year around the hotel,including the happy lobster.
the food, a la cartes were excellent, excellent services as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    697
    478
    222
    103
    74
See reviews for
413
531
73
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked our room through hotwire and received a standard room on the 15th floor. (Really the 5th floor.) We were high enough to view the pool and the bay from our room. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was located within walking distance to downtown Puerto Vallarta, shops and the Mega grocery store. The bus stop was also right out front of the hotel on the left hand side. There were two heated pools at this hotel. We found that we liked the timeshare poolside better than the hotel's side. The people were friendly and more outgoing. When we first arrived they did try to have us do a timeshare presentation, but we firmly said "No" and they never asked us again. They may have tried to call our room twice, but we never answered the phone. The maid was always early to clean our room and it was nice to have it done right away in the early afternoon. We did not eat at any of the restaurants. We did attend the show "Grease" on Wednesday night, which was pretty good. The staff was friendly and I would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The pools each had children's pools connected to the big pool and they also had a hot tub on the timeshare pool side.

Room Tip: The higher floor you are on, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Has another great expereinced at the hotel. Made special by the concerige Lulu Becerra and Club Lounge attendants Juan Garcia and Arnulfo Torres. Well done! Junir suite was sweet! Looking forward to attending again next year. Good access to a number of good restaturants around the hotel, inlcuding the Happy Lobster and Kashi sushi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

stayed march 4th to 11th with my buddy. had a great time.only two minor problems, the buffet food could have been warmer, and the beach is rocky. a la cartes were excelent, the room very nice, over all very nice hotel. would go back today if i could.special thanks to Edwardo Castro (director of activities) who did a great job, also to Miriam in the bar who gave myself and bud excelent service as well. hope to see you both next time i,m there.

Room Tip: book a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear guest from Westbank:

Thank you for sharing your gratifying experience during your vacation in our resort.

It is indeed our objective to deliver optimal service to all our guests and entirely comply with our guest expectancies. We will post your comments on our in house bulleting board and share your kindhearted consideration for our staff. Eduardo and Miriam will be proud for your recognition. We are currently evaluating several options to have and maintain our beach in the best possible conditions for our guests and visitors.

Please receive our appreciation for sharing your feelings with us, and look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Buganvilias Resort..

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sorry to say this, but the Sheraton has seen better days.
Pluses - a good location (you can walk to the Centro). Good pools. Nice views from the rooms. Good food for the breakfast buffet.
Minuses - spare furniture that needs some updating. Outside of the building is a bit worn. Not the best neighborhood. Not well soundproofed. HORRIBLE internet. Some bureaucracy (one place for towel tickets, another to check in, another for the towels themselves, etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Ken:

One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you.

Thank you for your comments about the maintenance issues you encountered in your guestroom – I should add that shortly we will start a remodeling process for our guests rooms, and the first stage will be finished by the end of the year.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you once again on your next visit to Vallarta and permit us to show our newly appointed rooms.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

They claim to have free WiFi, the problem is it barely works. If your windows or patio doors are open it may work 50% of the time. If you have your air conditioning on you can't open the windows or doors. I found myself in the business center with an Ethernet wire plugged in, this is the only way I could communicate with my office. A computer person stuck in a resort without internet is no way to spend your vacation. Go somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you expect WiFi, don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We did an exchange through RCI. They originally booked us at Mayan Palace We had heard many bad reviews and requested a change. They only had a hotel room for our two bedroom but it was close to town and supposedly Sheraton. Well, it was not the Sheraton s we used to know. Sheraton was the Ritz Carlton of hotels for years and years. The quality of the property is just awful. The staff, rude and short. I know times are tough but tips and good service go hand in hand. The reservation group was nice . We had a young girl who was very friendly and outgoing. She spoke great English which was helpful. She helped find a nice view. She made the trip worth at least one smile. No air conditioning. Plumbing noises. Late night parties. The rooms are 100 years old. Pushy timeshare pests. Rude salespeople. Unhelpful management. Just a bad experience. You hope the name means value and service but, this day and age Sheraton stands for no values and no care! Sad times. Sad place. I m sorry for members there. I thought my timeshare was bad. Makes me appreciate what we bought 30 yrs ago. Recommendation...AVOID THIS PROPERTY. RCI SHOULD BE EMBARRASSED.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.