We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent price, lots of fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 125 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muncie, IN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Good location, decent price, lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Everyone was very nice. The concierge was very helpful. We did not go the "all-inclusive" route, and were surprised that we were charged for the bottled water left in our room everyday. There was no indication that we would be charged for the water...we thought it came with the price of the room. Guess we will ask next time! Beautiful hotel, good location, decent price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

First trip to Puerto Vallarta. We loved it. The area is a good blend of Mexican culture and beach/resort community. I'm not a major beach person so I appreciated the local culture which did not appear as impoverished as some locations we've visited. The weather was magnificent and we felt relaxed and yet exhilarated in this community. The Sheraton location was excellent for us as we tried to station ourselves between the old town and the beach activity. We were able to walk to town which was nice. A location closer to town may be better but the hotels are not as well known so were more difficult to select via internet. Lots of restaurants, shopping and activity nearer to town. The Sheraton facility and rooms were outstanding....comfortable, good size, immaculate,beautiful view of the ocean. The regulars, basically the time share holders, said they loved the Sheraton. The only downside was that inside the hotel we were inundated with requests to attend time share presentations. We were approached at least 20 times inside the hotel and another 30 when we were out and about. I would go back to the Sheraton though because the hotel was that good!

Room Tip: Request ocean side and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank servins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good food, good people, perfect weather, great company, great tequila,great first time,but definitely not my last!! pipi's was fantastic!!!!!! The party from Canada was having a great time,the lady's birthday. I just had to go back a second time the food was so good,but most important the whole place was having a great time!!! It felt like home, but in a blurry way. HA! Every day the temperature was about 80-85 degrees the pools were perfect! This ole white boy got a great tan! Long time since that happened. Old town was my favorite place to spend time other than the pool! Please TIP when and if you can a lot of creative people. A PROUD and sobering AMERICAN!!!!! HA! but I'm thankful to MEXICO for such a great people. GRACIAS

Room Tip: just have fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

everyone at Buganvillias sharaton was awesome. and the bar tender Rafeal was the best .the service was great, the beer was always cold and service was perfect.everytime i wanted a beer they were always ready with a fresh one. they were making the best rum punch, they were hard to refuse. .............the whole ordeal of the resort ,.the games the events were awsome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darrin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from our week long Buganvilias vacation. It was our first time to Puerto Vallarta, so the location of this resort was perfect for us to walk to the malecon/old town area. There is so much to discover there. We did not do the all inclusive package, which we were offered at $65.00 per person per day. Not a bad price for good restaurant dining, we just preferred to walk downtown. We stayed in building D, which had beautiful ocean, mountain and old town views!!! Very nice. The resort is well maintained, beautiful grounds and small enough to easily walk to everything. It has two beautiful pools, with great ocean views. The beach area is pretty rocky at the resort, but a very short walk to the north has great beach area for swimming. The resort staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. We had no problems at all, and would definitely like to go back. If your expectations are for brand new, large, over the top resorts, then this may not be for you. If you like a clean beautiful place, where you can more easily enjoy these beautiful people and their culture, you will not want to miss this resort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseekers0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a really nice place. Service is always with a smile and very good (but don't count on fast - you are on vacation!). The food is very good and you may be tired of the buffet after a week, so explore the other dining opportunities this place has to offer. The Mexican Night is a hoot. The beds are very comfortable, but the rooms are nothing fancy and seem 'cold' with tiled floors and white cement walls without any art. The rooms have been repainted many many times. The outside of the hotel is being repainted and needs the spruce-up. Bird poop on the balcony. The beach is not really for swimming. Get to the pool(s) early to get a prime spot. Overall this is a very enjoyable place located < 15 minutes from the airport. So nice to at an all-inclusive and not get a bill at the end of it!!

Room Tip: 1330-1334 (3rd floor) can't see the ocean as the central restaurant hut obscures the view. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachseeker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Sheraton was ok. The location was good. I liked that it was close to town, unlike most of the other hotels which are closer to marina area. I would not rate it as a 5 star, more between 3 and 4. Bathrooms were too small and a little outdated. The view was beautiful, although would be nice to have a terrace too. The higher levels have a nicer view. Pool was ok.. Disappointed that there was no kiddy pool. Beach was ok, not many people on the beach. Tide was very high, so can't get too near the water. I didn't like that they constantly hound you about the time share at the hotel. As soon as we asked any question about amenities, restaurants, activities, etc. they would try to convince you to come to their time share. I just started asking the bell boys for recommendations. Restaurants at the hotel were not very good, not much variety and very small portions. Not to mention very tasteless. Go out to eat! You will get better food and pay less.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
Hilton Puerto Vallarta Resort
#33 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta All Inclusive & Spa
Fiesta Americana Puerto Vallarta...
#8 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#35 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallar...
#11 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Valla...
#42 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
3.3 mi away
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
Velas Vallarta Suite Resort
#9 of 125 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Shertaon Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city's distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing