We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly; great pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed
Ranked #20 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
New England
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly; great pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I'd rate this higher id the beach was ever usable for swimming. The Sheraton has 2 lovely, large pools, and for me, that's key. Swim up bars, too. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean, the staff are very friendly, the location is close to the Malecon. There are plenty of restaurants and bars, and they run some fairly amusing activities every day (dance lessons, volleyball, water aerobics,etc.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    702
    480
    225
    103
    74
See reviews for
419
534
73
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver bc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Spent a week here, great property and good location, close to Malecon and old town
Andres at Reception exemplifies what great service is all about, so gracious and helpful
Juan, the young student who attended to us in the Club Lounge was excellent. For someone so young he understands excellent customer service, as did Artulfo and the rest of the staff.
The property is very clean, well maintained and highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a few days ago and had a great time.
This is an older Sheraton but it is in great condition - a recently renovated property - and the views and location were terrific. The location is a few minutes from Centro Puerto Vallarta and we walked to the malecon each day. We also walked from the hotel to old Puerto Vallarta but if you decide to walk wear good walking shoes.
The property is well kept with two great poolside areas and well groomed gardens on the beach. There is a small fitness centre, a spa, several restaurants, and the Sheraton Link for internet access. The hotel offers wi-fi access in guest rooms.
The staff were very accomodating and went out of their way on many occasions exceeding our expectations repeatedly.. At Check in, Andres was extremely helpful. Prior to arrival, I had called the hotel to confirm whether upgades were available and at what cost. I spoke with Andres who explained upgrade options. With my rate I had access to the complimentary continental breakfast ( 7 am to 11 am) which includes fresh fruit, eggs, cold cuts, chesse, many different cereals, muffins, fresh baked breads and pastries, coffee, tea, fresh orange juice and other items. Evening appetizers were also available in the club on the 23 rd floor and varied each day, These were included in my rate and consisted of 4 or 5 items such as quesadillas, shrimp cocktall, chicken, ribs, roast beef, sandwiches, pizza, etc....served with red or white wine from 5 pm to 8 pm, This hotel offers butler service with certain rates and the butlers are very accomodating and also exceeded our expectations.. The butlers Arnulfo, Efrain, Juan and Ernesto took great care of us and we were greeted on arrival with a glass of champagne delivered to our room.at no charge after checking in. The butlers serve coffee and tea in the morning and wines in the evening. They are also available to take care of ice delivery, etc......Bottled water was always available.
Our room had a mini bar but we opted not to use it.I didn't see a price list but assumed we would have ot pay fo whatever we consumed,
The housekeping staff were also very attentive and did a great job cleaning each day. They even called prior to arriving to make sure it was convenient to come. We had some special requests which were always taken care of and in a very prompt and timely manner.
On our day of departure, we had a late afternoon flight and when I asked for a late check out it was granted without hesitation by Andres.
I rented a car which I parked at the hotel each day in the parking lot. Parking was included at no charge. The property has security staff on site patrolling the entrances and the beach access is also monitored by security personnel.
All in all, the Sheraton Buganvilias provided a great vacation experience and we are already booked to return here later this year. We met several couples who return here annually and who appreciate the service and amenities this property has to offer so we will likley return next year to meet these folks and to be spoiled once again by the Sheraton Buganvilias staff!

Room Tip: Check rates on various sites including expedia and spg.com. This hotel offers great views of the Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest from Canada:

With great pride we have read your appreciation for our resort facilities and the staff services your received from the moment of your arrival at the front desk to the maid and butlers indulgence throughout your stay.

Your high esteem for the personal dedication of our staff to exced your expectations will deliver a warm incentive for their performance. I will make sure our associates receives a loud recognition for their service devotion.

We will look forward to your next visit to the Buganvilias Sheraton Resort.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We traded our timeshare week Jan 26, 2013 through Feb 2, 2013 for Sheraton Buganvilias Vacation Club Puerto Vallarta. The staff throughout the resort were pleasant and helpful. We were upgraded to a Presidential Suite due to me needing a handicap accessible room since I was in a wheelchair. The rooms 1163&1164 are in need of updating. The sales staff was on every corner of the hotel harrassing us at least 5 times a day to attend their timeshare presentation. We finally gave in and went to it so they would leave us alone for the remainder of the week. We told them upfront that we were NOT going to purchase a timeshare at their property. They pressured us anyway but did not gain our purchase. The "free" breakfast we had for attending their timeshare presentation was all cold. Cold eggs, sausages, hashbrowns. We went at 8:30 a.m. & I think it was too early for the restaurant as they were not prepared for serving warm food that early in the morning. Because of the poor quality of breakfast we chose not to eat at their other restaurants. The pool had a lift chair that I used every day. Their pool was heated and was very nice. We checked out on Saturday, Feb 2 and went to the Westin Hotel at the Puerto Vallarta Marina and I discovered I had left my tennis shoes at the Sheraton Buganvilias. I called them and the maid had turned them in to lost & found so I took a taxi back to Sheraton & the Bellman had them for me. That was a trustworthy maid that turned them in. We went to their Thursday night Mexican Fiesta and had a great time. The authentic Mexican food, dancers, & Mariachi band were excellent & we got 20% off for attending their timeshare.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked this resort on Hotwire, so got a good deal. Upon arrival we upgraded to the Club level which came with a few bonuses such as a continental breakfast, and snacks & wine between 5-8pm, which we thought were worth the small extra. The beach is not the tropical beach that one hopes for in a warmer destination, but thats the Pacific side. It is very rocky and the waves are very big, so swimming is not on the top of the to do list here. The Sheraton is a very nice resort, the staff is friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. We saw some beautiful resorts farther down the bay, but they would have been to far from the boardwalk so we were quite pleased with the Sheraton's location. If we come back to Puerto Vallarta, we would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Plata, Dominican Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Older resort but it has clean rooms, great pools, and close access to downtown Puerto Vallarta. If you choose this resort do the all inclusive, otherwise they will cheap shot you to death. The drinks and their restaurants are very pricey. The maid forgot to leave coffee so I had to go to the restaurant, for two cups of coffee I paid $6.30. We had planned on eating our breakfast and lunch at the resort and then eating out at night, but that little cheap shot changed our minds. For 60 cents you can get on the bus right outside of the resort and eat at gourmet restaurants with the quality and prices of U.S. dinning. The pools are great, maybe to make up for the beach, which is rocky and swimming there is dangerous, during the time we were there the red flag was always displayed. If you want to swim in the ocean take the bus down to the old downtown area. In most resorts you can buy fruit and luncheon meats for snacks, forget that because the rooms do not have refrigerators. If you need wifi if was free but only after 9am, get your code at the desk. Some of the restaurants we frequented were Freddys Tucan, which is four block on the other side of the downtown bridge, the Pancake House, Olla grille, Riverside Grill, Hay Caramba, and Oscars; these are hard to beat for taste, cleanliness, and value. Puerto Vallarta is a beautiful city with a lot of culture and history. Take the mountain tour, it takes you to some of the small villages and you really get a taste of Mexico. One of the other fascinating points of interest is the local fish market, every morning the fishermen come in with the days catch and it is auctioned off to the restaurants.

Room Tip: The floors are designated, lobby then 12, 13, 14 etc. You need to be on at least the 15th floor to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed Feb 2-9, 2013. Just outstanding. Some of the friendliest people ever. At all services-pool, hotel staff, bell hops and on and on and on great service, helpful with areas to visit and which not to visit. Three extra large pools. Didn't walk the beach so I can't comment. But the beach/water view from our room was spectacular. We were on the 17th floor. No balcony but it didn't matter. Free internet was available but the connectivity was spotty. We were able retrieve all of our mail. We did not frequent any of the Hotel restaurants. I was told that the food was good but pricey. Aren't most hotels that way? We ate at the local restaurants. The food was great and inexpensive. We did order drinks each day at the pool. 2/1 each day from 12-1 for drinks. Decent sandwich menu, about $13-$15 pp. We had lunch each day.
Time shares were suggested multiple times for free breakfasts and different perks. We weren't interested and politely said no each time. Probably 3-4 times. Didn't bother us.
The real pushy time share people were at the airport. There is about a 100'-150' area where they are on either side of you when you exit. Just put your sunglasses on and walk straight ahead. Don't listen no matter how they try to appeal to you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.