We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Bed
Ranked #20 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Prince Rupert, Canada
2 reviews
“wonderful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one week at the hotel, other than the wifi. The hotel was great, staff were great especially Lulu who was very kind and patient, gave us a whole lot of tips. PV is very safe and would return.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view - very nice, wanted to upgrade to a balcony, if we did it would not come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    476
    225
    103
    74
See reviews for
426
535
73
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

if you are a family, this is a decent, typical sheraton. i was on a very high club floor and the room had a beautiful view of the ocean.

the club lounge is a stingy, lame, embarassment to the sheraton brand. their offerings are very poor. not enough food, the food they do have is cheap and unappetizing.

the hotel clearly has an employee fraud problem. for example, posters are placed throughout the property explaining that no cash is accepted, anywhere on the premises. of course, while eating at the pool restaurant, our waiter offered to give us a discount if we paid in cash instead of a credit card. obviously, the waiter is pocketing the cash. (typical of american-heavy tourist towns in mexico, really. just about everybody down there sees american green in their eyes and they are motivated to profit somehow from it.)

pool restaurant food was pretty decent, unremarkable.

the pool area is nice but it's a typical "family" pool, full of shrieking kids. fun for your wife and kids, not so much fun for the single traveler who has to listen to them all, instead of having some peace and quiet.

the RATE is what really stood out here. if you book directly on the MEXICAN site, and not the US Starwood site, you will find a significantly cheaper set of rates, that suddenly make this "okay" property actually quite attractive.

another benefit to this property is its location - it is further south than most of the big chain hotels, so if you want to go into town a lot, instead of hibernating at the hotel, it's convenient for that. the Westin PV is a much, much nicer property, but it's further north, toward the airport, and coming to/from the Westin takes much longer in a cab.

the WIFI is TERRIBLE. there are very few places where you get a good signal. you absolutely CANNOT get work done, while staying at this property. at best, the wifi is good enough for some very basic, very very slow, social/news surfing. if you have an actual need for legitimate internet access, do NOT stay here, although you should also know about PV, that internet access seems to suck all over town.

also the hotel security is pretty aggressive, they do not let people in and out of the lot very easily, so be warned, if you plan on inviting visitors over, etc.

they also try to make you wear a tacky white wristband while you are staying there. i refused, and carried the wristband with me, instead.

Room Tip: higher floors mean a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest from California:

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Sheraton Hotels have provided for you. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments about your insatisfaction with the club lounge available service and for the your comment about the situation encountered with the pool staff – we would like to be able to correct this immediately. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel's email so I can investigate this further, as I would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we have been coming here for over 8 years spending as much as 8 weeks a year . we are treated like family from the moment we arrive till our departure date. every staff member goes out of his or her way to make you feel like you are the most special guest in the hotel.the front desk manager staff and concierge are wonderful. we stay on the club level and the breakfasts and cocktail hours are first rate. the rooms are large bright and well maintained. the butlers go out of their way to give wonderful service. housekeeping makes everything clean and bright. the pool area is beautiful and there are enough chairs to keep people from fighting over space as often happens at hotels of this type. all in all we love the sheraton and hope we will be able to stay there for many years to come on our trips to puerto vallarta.

Room Tip: one should stay on the club level and opt for the junior suite with a lovely lovely large terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Buganvilias several times and each year is better than the last. Great location, great service at the pool. We do not eat at the hotel - always go downtown or up in the mountains. The beach is rocky so if you love a soft sandy beach this isn't the place for you. We actually love the pool and the view of the beach from the pool which is great. We will be back in the fall!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have been going here almost 20 years and really enjoy the experience. They have a very good staff and maintenance is also good. Also the security is very good! Generally Puerto Vallarta is very safe. We saw many police and para military groups all thru the town. They have completely redone the Malacon area and increased the sidewalk area by closing part of the street. Well done!!

The WiFi is weak but they are rewiring for improved connectivity. There are IT people available 24/7 to help you get hooked up. I noticed a marked improvement this year but you have to stay near the windows to stay hooked up. That should improve with time.

Food comments:
We ate at the gourmet restarant twice this time and had good food/service both times. The other food venues are buffet oriented and pretty expensive abt $20/person. You can order off the menu at all locations.

The food is on the buffet was plentiful but expensive for the quality. The fruit is very good but the meat choices are just average. But you are just a few blocks ( $5 taxi ride ) from the town with many good resaurants of all types. Or within walking distance from several good restaurants across the street behind the soccer field.

The following applies to the Vacation Club Only:

They are currently working on redoing/modernizing the top 9 floors with a major recontruction or the 25th floor with bigger units, more luxury and, of course, more cost. The 17th floor is being worked on now. The new units on the 7-24 floor are not going to be bigger but they will be rebuilt with new appliances and tvs. The units in floor 1-6 are getting no upgrades but they will replace a tv with a newer tube type unit if you ask.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Lovely property.

Lulu the concierge is a wonderful asset. Contact her for all your planning, and trust her suggestions.

Beds are super comfy.

Food choices and quality so so. But we went out to downtown restaurants mostly, and there are plenty of them.

Wifi access was a huge problem the first few days, but got sorted out after many complaints.

Time share folks can be quite pesky...keep your spine stiff and don't fall for the amenity trap.

Keep track of your various paperwork...towel cards, VIP cards, etc

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buganviliasrp, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. I will pass on your kind comment to Lulu, she will will be proud to receive your commendation. It is rewarding for us to be recognized for the positive experience of our guests and visitor, as important as your feedback about the sales staff performance, which we will review to improve on for the future

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards from sunny Vallarta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second time at the Sheraton, our first time being about 8 years ago. We came back to the Sheraton because we loved the beauty of the resort and the location was great for walking downtown to shop and eat. Upon checking in we weren't able to get adjoining rooms (we have 2 children ages 18 and 21) so I asked for a larger room we could all fit in (they gave us a good deal). They had a room with two bedrooms, two full baths, a full kitchen with dishwasher and living room. The room was located on the ground floor right by the pool which was great because we could sit outside on the porch and be right by the pool, which is lovely. Our kids like to sunbath but my husband prefers sitting outside reading, so the location could not have been better. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the view of the ocean so nice. The service is great, the local people are very welcoming and kind, although I must say room service took over a hour - but judging from the fact at the hotel is so large, it's really not a surprise and something you have to deal with. The restaurants are good -- varied choices at the buffet as well as many options on the menu. We liked the fact that there are a couple of grocery stores on the hotel grounds that have everything from coffee, milk, light foods, snacks, liquor, beach stuff, medications, etc. There is also a large grocery store a few blocks away. Walking downtown is about six blocks and we love trying out different restaurants and shopping. The only complaint I would have is because it is so humid outside that the rooms really never felt cool and dry, instead feeling quite humid, which is uncomfortable sleeping in. All in all though the hotel had everything we came for and because of that we enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool or ocean have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevard Medina Ascencio 999 | Zona Hotelera las Glorias, Puerto Vallarta 48330, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relish the sun, the ocean, the extended landscaping, the entire exhuberant nature of the tropic from your own Deluxe ocean view room or the unique Ocean Front Club Level. A few steps away from traditional downtown and 4 miles from Vallarta's International Airport. Appreciate a peaceful afternoon stroll on renovated Malecon and savor the friendliness of the locals; admire the city’s distinctive architecture with red-tiled roofs, lush tropical gardens, cobblestone streets and the Guadalupe church.Enjoy our fine cuisine restaurants and bars, shop a variety of clothing, silver and souvenirs in the boutiques, and relax in the SPA taking an unparalleled massage in our unique cabin's next to the ocean or immersed in lush gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Buganvilias Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Sheraton Buganvilias Resort And Convention Center
Sheraton Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Buganvilias Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.