We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very convenient and well-equipped” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Anita y Corona del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Anita y Corona del Mar to your Saves list
Casa Anita y Corona del Mar
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Barra De Navidad No 601, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very convenient and well-equipped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a lovely and relaxing time. We stayed on a top floor (Anita 18) but spent most of our time with friends around the private pool (Corona 6), which was glorious. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the bed very comfortable and the kitchen(s) fully equipped. The view is nice, but not magnificent since there is hotel construction immediately in front. Also, it is an urban landscape over water which is the same as I have at home, but it's still pretty. The location is convenient to lots of good, cheap food and the beach. The stairs (and hill up from town) are exhausting, but suck it up, it's good for you.

The only negative was the noise. First, from the road, which was significant even from the top floor. Down by the pool we had to raise our voices to converse. Also the balconies are practically in each other's laps so the people next to us who were up all night drinking and laughing kept us up with them too... I mean really, you can hear everything, even someone's dog's incessant squeaky toy. And even with ear plugs and a white noise machine.

I would advise people not to pay for the transportation to and from the hotel. Coming from the airport it is a collective service so you may have to wait for others (this is not stated on the website when you pay), and at $25 USD for a 20 minute ride, this is nuts. For that price you can get your own cab, even if you get ripped off it would still be faster and no more expensive. Also, on the way back all they do is flag a cab from the busy road. We had to remind them to do it on time, so really, we could have done this ourselves. If you've ever negotiated your own travel in a country other than your own, don't bother paying for this "service".

Overall, it was exactly what we needed to take a fun and affordable vacation with friends.

Room Tip: The private pool in Corona 6 made our vacation peaceful in a fairly crowded and chaotic vacation des...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    124
    27
    20
    10
See reviews for
36
110
28
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights and loved it. We stayed in suite 21, which had a nice open patio with great views of Puerto Vallarta and the bay. It is on a hill and has lots of steps. This did not detract from the hotel for me, but might bother some people. I loved that the hotel was previously an apartment building. You have so much space and actually feel like you're staying in Mexico, instead of at some generic resort. Plus, the hotel is located near the more active part of the city, so there are lots of places to eat and go out. But the best part is definitely the views, definitely it feels like you're in paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed at Casa Anita for two nights in February. It was excellent. The view was spectacular, the rooms were immaculate and the reception staff were polite and accommodating. There are many stairs to climb if you are in the rooms with the views but they do have rooms at lower levels. I personally did not mind the stairs as I wore off the extra calories from all the good food and drink I had in PV. I will return and recommend Casa Anita to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I can't say enough about Casa Anita in Old Town Puerto Vallarta. This place has the most amazing views, suites and the staff are Amazing!!!!! The location is Awesome. Very close to all the action in Old Town. I recommend trying unit# 21. The deck is about 20 ft. by 40 ft. It is really cool for entertaining and sunsets!!!!! Most of the staff are bilingual and super helpful. Quite an enjoyable experience!!!!!! Try it, you'll love it!!!! Lloyd McLean- Saskatoon, Canada.

Room Tip: Suite #21. The deck and the views are Awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a wonderful three night stay at this beautiful property. The staff was super, both professsional and friendly at the same time.
From my balcony, I had a great view of the ocean, and it was a close walk to anything you would need, such as shopping, restaurants, pharmacies, and convienience stores.
The cost of the hotel does not belie the cleanliness and amenities to be found at the property. I would guess that it would be hard to find a better place for the rates they charge in all of Vallarta.
The only drawback is the stair climbing, not a problem for me, but older or infirm people may need to get a room that is near the ground level.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops, bc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you are looking for a fully supplied apartment like experience Casa Anita in Puerto Vallarta is an excellent choice. From studios to 3 bedrooms (and I've stayed in them all), their accommodation is delightful. You will lack nothing .. good cooking facilities, dining areas, in-room safes (take your own lock), nicely tiled bathrooms (no problem with the hot water), comfortable living quarters, nice balcony with table and chairs.

Casa Anita is located just above Old Town (a 10 min. walk to the beach). In fact, all of Old Town sits just below your doorstep .. only minutes to everything (except groceries .. the closest major grocery store, Leys, is a good 25 min. walk and a reasonable taxi back).

There is some traffic noise from the road (but there is always some noise in Puerto .. traffic, mariachi bands, roosters, side walk banter, the surf ..) which reaches to the upper suites. That noise is easily mitigated by the stunning view from your own balcony of the Bay of Banderos, the city of Puerto Vallarta, and the sun sinking into the Pacific. Choose and end suite if you wish more privacy (the balconies on the inside units tend to be close together).

The suites are only reachable via stairways so, if stairs are an issue, this may not be the property for you. I'm 60, my health is good, and I don't find it to be a problem.

The staff are excellent. The suites are cleaned daily. Drinking water is delivered to your room and, if you require assistance with groceries/luggage/etc, the staff are completely happy to help.

This was my 5th stay at Casa Anita and it will not be my last.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have stayed at Case Anita (Penthouse & A 20) four times and spent over $3,000 (US) over the last five years. Tipped the maid 6 out of the 8 days on last stay (2/21-2/28). I forgot to tip on the first and last days ($2-$3 US per day). We used the kitchen for coffee only. Was informed that I had taken a hand towel at checkout (after room cleaned for last day). Was charged $2.50 US. Neither I nor my wife removed a towel from the room. Sonia, you really need to learn the basics of running a hospitality business.

PS Wireless internet upgraded and much improved.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Anita y Corona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anita y Corona del Mar

Address: Carretera Barra De Navidad No 601, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Anita y Corona del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are located in the Romantic Zone in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco. Our suites are just a 5 minute walk to Playa Los Muertos beach and a 10 minute walk to the center of downtown. Casa Anita and Corona del Mar are also close to grocery stores, restaurants, hospitals, pharmacies, bus routes, and shops.We offer 28 suites that can sleep 2-6 people. All of our suites have a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator, stove, microwave, blender, coffee maker, toaster...) T.V. with cable, alarm clock radio, private balcony with a view of the bay and the city (except Corona del Mar #4), purified drinking water, daily maid service, telephone for local and long distance calls, a safe and free WIFI. If your reservation is 7 nights or more, you will also receive our free Welcome food and drink package when you arrive. Hotel amenities include: 2 swimming pools (Corona del Mar #7 also has a private pool), 3 patios with view and a hammock, free parking with night security, and 3 shared BBQ areas, 24 hour reception desk, trilingual management (English, Spanish & French), a tour desk and in house spa services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Anita y Corona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anita y Corona Del Mar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Anita y Corona del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.