We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but for reason!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Las Palmas by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Las Palmas by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Las Palmas by the Sea
2.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Affordable but for reason!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Alright, my stay was recent, so let me tell you about this place.

First, it isn't the cleanest place. The pools are filled with college/high school students drinking and vomiting in the waters. The tables are cleaned promptly and I never had any problems with dirty dishes. This is just the common area, there's more.

Secondly, the rooms. We had the oceanview honeymoon suite. Second floor, room 133, stay away from it. It is roomy, but the airconditioner is lazy and smells of mold. The view is amazing from your concrete bed. Also, the television is awful!

About the food and drink, there are 2 restaraunts. One is a buffet, open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The same food for every single meal makes me wonder about it. The food is edible, but far from good. There are birds everywhere! They attack the leftovers, sit near the food, and defecate all over. Really unsanitary and unsettling. The second restaraunt is open every other day and requires making reservations on day 1! Ridiculous. There is a snack bar, supposedly, I never saw it. The drinks are ok and by ok I mean "free".

Next, the service! Oh boy, here we go. There is NO WiFi. They say there is, but only in the lobby. In the room it costs much extra, to the tune of $7USD per hour. You have to rent the safe, you have to rent the remote, you have to rent the towels. Water IS NOT INCLUDED. That may not seem so bad, until you've been out in 40° sun all day. The staff speaks basic English, so that's there, problem or not. There are shows daily, mostly just dancers. The bartenders are quick and polite, but there are tons of random vendors.

Location, location, location. It's placed decently. 5 minutes from downtown, 10 minutes from major grocery stores and malls, and 20 minutes from the airport. The ocean is poor and dirty compared to other locations, but who visits Puerto Vallarta for the ocean? There's a bus stop right out front and taxis aplenty.

Overall, this resort is less R&R and more party and music. It is constantly full of local kids and families being loud and drunk. The staff are basic, not much extraordinary. The food is boring and repetitive. The rooms aren't special, and the building is old.

Basically if you can afford it, stay elsewhere. If you're keeping it cheap, this is a good choice, just don't say I didn't warn you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    325
    195
    111
    83
See reviews for
269
250
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Las Palmas May 12-22, 2014. I consider myself well travelled, having stayed in both lower end hotels and pricier five-star resorts in many different countries. This "resort" fairs at the bottom for me & is, by far, the worst hotel I've stayed at.

The first room they attempted to give us was small, out of date, resembled the type of room you'd receive at a $12/night hostel and contained hundreds of little ants. We complained about the ant infestation & the hotel staff did move our room.
We were moved to a garden view room on the ground floor, complete with a patio (room 12).
The room was much nicer than the first, but was lacking in cleanliness (there was what appeared to be dirt on the shelf in the closet, the light fixtures were down right disgusting, the shower was deplorable - and broken, we couldn't close the shower door for fear that the glass would break further & fall out- the plaster wall appeared to be "flaking off" adjacent to one of the beds & was leaving a pile of white plaster dust on the floor, the air conditioning didn't work & we slept without blankets (and with cold, moist bath towels) most nights just to be comfortable, and there were still ants, though very few.
We made the best of it.

It was on the third day that the cockroaches appeared. We were told by hotel staff that they had fumigated & the insects were "coming up to die" & they insisted that the resort did not have a bug problem. But the insects didn't stop - spiders, cockroaches, ants, mosquitoes, moths...all found in our room very much alive. We ended up buying our own insect spray to deal with the problem as the hotel staff was less than helpful. Though they did deliver a plate of cookies and a written apology for the insects, but the ants got to the cookies before we could.

The day before we left the resort, there was a knock on our door by "pest control" and we were asked if they could fumigate our room - while we waited inside! We politely declined, given the obvious heath concerns from breathing in whatever chemical they were spraying. We left the room for a few hours to sit by the pool, but the entire resort smelled of chemicals within a very short time & we both ended up with migraine headaches, forcing us to leave the resort until late in the evening. We also noticed a rodent trap had been placed outside of our room on the patio that morning.
(If they had fumigated just prior to our stay, as we had been told by the hotel, why would they need to fumigate again? And why weren't there already rodent traps on place? I definite feel like we were not told the truth in this situation)

Aside from the condition of the room & the bugs, we found the hotel staff to be less than friendly. Every other time I've travelled to Mexico, I've found the staff at other resorts quite friendly, helpful & easy to talk to. Not at Las Palmas (with the exception of three of the wait staff in the dining room, who were awesome). Most of the staff struggle with or do not speak English, so if you are planning to stay here, brush up on your Spanish.

The adult pool was consistently full of families and young children, which went ignored by most of the security staff. By day 5, the staff got much better about trying to keep children out of the adult pool.

The pool itself is nice from a distance, but is in noticeable disrepair once you're in the water - tiles falling off, a large crack down one side in which moss is growing, etc. Still, none of this kept us out of the pool.

The food was mediocre and the drinks are much the same as you'd find at other resorts. Expect to stand in line at the main dining area unless you eat early - there were long lines of people waiting for dinner each and every night. We purchased the "all-inclusive" package initially (at an extra $45 USD/ day per person) but gave it up after 5 days, opting to eat & drink outside of the resort. Not only did we save money, we enjoyed flavourful food and could actually taste the tequila in our drinks.

The service in the dining room & at the bar was generally good, though we noticed most of the staff appears as if they'd rather be somewhere else. If you're looking for friendly staff, quick service and drinks served by the pool, look elsewhere. Never once were we (or anyone else) approached by the pool for drinks. You have to get up & get your own, which is fine, but not what I would expect or have experienced from an all-inclusive resort in Mexico.

I will not be returning to Las Palmas. I've stayed in hostels & in two star resorts in countries less developed than PV and received better service & nicer amenities.

My advice? STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We generally go to Las Palmas by the Sea for our vacation in Mexico, probably twice a year. Yes, there are tours to go on, which we have all done in the past. They are wonderful and informative, but this time we just picked three tours, of which, one was free, because we booked the two. That's nice too. Meanwhile, the other days, we just hung around the pool, and socialized with others, and had drinks from the bar. We could shop from the venders on the beach, and some shopping done in the evening -set up on the walkway. It's not far from the WalMart store or the Marina. Go the other way, it's not far by bus, to go to the Malecon and flee market. Back at Las Palmas, one can see the Malecon all lit up, and we see the Pirate Ship lit up and its fireworks. Really nice. I sit on our balcony and watch all this - it's sooooo nice :-)

Room Tip: There are two styles of rooms - one faces the back, the other faces the ocean. One generally picks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our stay was March 4-11, 2014 . I am late in submitting my review .
Our group consisted of 4 couples , range in age from mid-forties to mid-fifties and one couple had been to the region several times. We, and the rest of the group have been to several other parts of Mexico, but first time to Puerto Vallarta. We chose this resort for location, price, and basic amenities to fit our vacation plans.

The POSITIVE points.
The town of Puerto Vallarta is extremely interesting to see and tour and the ride to the resort from the airport was only about 15 minutes.
We loved shopping and sight-seeing in the town, visited the cathedral on Ash Wednesday and enjoyed some night life and dining on several occasions.

The PRICE- Inexpensive, but not worth the food or beds. spent extra to eat elsewhere.

CLEAN and FRIENDLY
The most positive point about the resort is the cleanliness. We encountered cleaning personnel at all times of the day and evening taking care of common areas and pool areas. Another positive to this resort is the staff. They are very friendly and helpful. The front entry security guys even take note of which taxi number you are going into, and you report your name and room number when you arrive back by taxi and they record the cab number. This proved to be extremely helpful when a member of our group realized just as the cab pulled away that she had left her wallet in the cab. They were able to call the cab company immediately and locate it, send her and her husband in a cab to retrieve it. Happy ending to what could have been a real bad deal. We booked the pirate ship dinner show which was extremely fun and also a horseback ride tour and supper which was amazing. We booked these excursions through our transport company and not the resort tour staff.

The NEGATIVES
The food was , in most cases , unidentifiable. Except for the great made to order omelets at breakfast. Some of our group enjoyed the chips and assorted sauces served at each meal time. I am not an overly picky eater, but I honestly could not find much of anything that looked appetizing. This area and resort attract a good population of families of Mexican Nationals ( much like we north Americans going to Orlando) so consequentially, there are many ,many young children accessing the buffet and not using very good food serving “etiquette”. Such as “double dipping” and reaching into the serving dishes with their hands instead of using the utensils. Also, as mentioned by others, the population of pigeons in, and around the dining area is unsightly and annoying. One evening we ate at the ala carte restaurant and had a nice selection on the menu. Some items were an additional cost. Everyone enjoyed their selections. We dined in town 4 times, rather than eat at the resort.
The beds were EXTREMELY HARD- even for Mexico resort standards. I like a firm bed, but it was almost impossible to sleep on these.
The LACK of seating on the sun deck, in the lobby, and especially around the pools. We had to resort to sitting or lying on the sun deck sea wall on towels every day for lack of seating. There were simply not enough seating for the guests, no chairs and table in the lobby to enjoy the shade and relax, and every beach chair was “taken” by 7:00 am. The one day that we did get pool loungers, we “borrowed” 4 of them that had towels on them who’s towel “owners” never did arrive to use them.
LATE NIGHT NOISE AND RUDE CROWDS A large group of college students, mostly guys arrived and basically ruined the dining experience one evening by standing at the grills and taking food with their bare hands. No instructions from the dining staff to them about the “line’ or the need to be seated. The worst time was when a loud fight occurred right at the bar and the fighting guys were allowed to keep yelling at each other and the “security” staff basically stood and watched them and even joked with them. We felt very uneasy during this. Every night after they arrived there was LOUD yelling and door slamming all hours of the night with no correction from security.
Our FIRST room was POOR . The first night we had to stay in the first room that we were assigned. Unlike our other friends’ “standard room” , ours had only a plastic curtain on the shower that let all the water onto the rest of the bathroom floor. There was a patio door and NO patio, just a wall to look at. Disappointing ! We did end up paying extra for an ocean view room WITH a balcony, but it was worth it. They claimed there were not any other standard rooms available and we would have to pay for an upgrade room type. Only fault was it over looked the kid’s pool rather than the adult pool. Very noisy all day and unable to really relax sitting there.
The beach is small. We did know this ahead of booking.

To sum things up, I would love to visit and tour Puerto Vallarta again someday, but would not return to this resort for the following reasons.
Disliked the food and the birds invading the dining area.
Not anywhere to sit and relax, inadequate seating by the pool and in all areas.
Inability for security to control unruly, obnoxious “guests”.
OVERLY hard beds.
If commonly a family resort for small children, I would prefer a resort with less small children and more adults or families with young adults/teens.

Room Tip: If asking for an ocean view, be sure to over look the Adult pool and not the kids pool if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

When i came there were mostly Mexican and a handful of Canadians. Perfect-sized hotel so you can get to know most people staying. Beach was kind of small. The activities team were amazing and beach volleyball and water polo was so much fun.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

were not hoity toity people and we went there with an open mind but this place makes PV look bad.
not much of a beach lack of palapas
no beach chairs. they dont serve drinks or food and you arent allowed to take food from the snack bar or the restaurant.food was blah and a lack of meat. dont pack only sleeveless t-shirts like I did cus they wont let you in to eat. they got time share people positioned perfectly ready to snipe you out no matter which way you come from upstairs
just a tip she is not your consierge and you dont need to see her for an "orientation" of las palmas. your only allowed two drinks at a time from the bar make sure u get two cus there in little plastic cups and when you get to where your going guess what...all gone! turn around and repeat. 9:00pm Lights Out! no tunes no dancing NO FUN!
so stay somewhere else

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Worst Hotel I've ever been in :
- Old place with very small beach.
- Very noisy all the time even at 4 Am.
- Worst food and drink service.
- Not clean at all.
Wasn't worse the money at all! I could find way better hotel with the same amount of money in that area. Stay away from this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Palmas by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmas by the Sea

Address: Blvd. Francisco Medina Ascencio, Km 2.5, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Las Palmas by the Sea 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the most refreshing way to vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Unwind together in our oceanfront Jacuzzi with panoramic view. Play in our two sparkling pools. Enjoy our beach club, with its wide range of activities. Indulge in a soothing massage. Treat your palate to delicious cuisine and cocktails at our restaurants and bars. Check out our nightly shows. At Las Palmas by the Sea you will enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Las Palmas by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmas By The Sea Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Sea Puerto Vallarta
Las Palmas Resort
Las Palmas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Palmas by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;