We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Barcelo Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #48 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Myself and 6 other friends stayed at the hotel for the last 9 days. The rooms in the premium section of the hotel were huge and great views of the ocean. The most important thing was the staff. From ADELINA Mireles and contact her to make your dinner and excursion reservations and transfers from the airport PVR. She was an amazing help. Also, KAREN in the Premium room who assists with anything you need to ANTONIO/LUCY the pool activity guy and lady and OLGA in the bar and many others. Can not forget RICARDO in the buffet as make these birds noices that are great and enjoyable to listen to. Amazing people and left with friends and we can not wait to be back next year. Highly recommend this hotel. Five thumbs way up for you all!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the premium room as great view of the ocean and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    831
    318
    254
    214
See reviews for
831
1,019
26
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My Husband and I just returned from Barcelo this weekend after a week long honeymoon. I was very hesitant about this trip, it was my first time on a trip to Mexico.. but this place exceeded my expectations.

Our condo was located on one of the top floors, at the end of the building. Our patio wrapped around the whole condo giving us an amazing view of both the resort and the ocean. Everything was very clean, nice furniture and decor, you literally get your money's worth for the room/ condo.

I highly recommend Going Premium, it gives you access to dinner at the resort every night. The food at the resort is very good! The buffet was good, great service at every restaurant. I have Celiac Disease and the Resort was very accommodating and went out of their way to guarantee I stayed on my diet and I never got sick!

The pool was amazing! They have water falls, swim up bar, volley ball pool, kiddie pool with a slide. They held events everyday, which keeps you entertained. We never got bored! And we were able to relax carefree when we wanted too. The resort has a beach, which was very nice.

I highly recommend during your visit going to Vallarta Adventures and doing the Dolphin Swimming Program (very fun) and Rhythm of the Nights.

Overall this place is amazing and beautiful. Everyone who works at the resort is amazing, friendly and they really make you feel at home, like your family. We met so many couples from all over the world who have been to the resort multiple times and loved it! And we plan to go back in a year ourselves! We have been on a few vacations, but my husband and I were very sad to leave Barcelo. The city of Puerto Vallarta is very nice itself, you really get the culture and the people in town were so nice! So what are you waiting for, go book your vacation :)!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The rooms are beautiful. The food was good and the staff very accommodating.
Walking off the property felt safe though the trinkets were the same as anywhere else in Mexico.
Nice, relaxing week. The beach was great though the water was a bit sketchy....huge undertow that we were not willing to risk..so just had a dip.

Room Tip: We were in a room looking over the pools and there was no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comments post on October 8th, 2013. We thank you for share with us your comments that undoubtedly make us better every day.

Our main goal is to give to all our guest the service which we build our reputation and return home with the desire to visit us again and recommend us to their friends and family, this is the best promotion and marketing program that we can have, because we work with feelings, sensations, experiences for you to have good memories of your trip to México and specialty of Barcelo.

We really appreciate your comments, we’ll be waiting for you to give the opportunity again to Barceló Hotels & Resorts to continue working with you and we are confident that we would continue exceed your expectations.

Best regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Visited Resort September 22, 2013 - October 2, 2013. This was during the slow season and had the resort almost to ourselves for the first few days then a group showed up for a convention and we thought it would get crowded. To our surprise we experienced no problems with the large group as they were in meetings most of the day and held meals in separate areas so no impact on buffet other than breakfast.

We found the resort nice with friendly staff from the check in through check out. Room service was great for when you felt like staying in for an evening. 4 year old Grandson interacted with the Barcy Club and found it to be great experience.

Rooms were clean and comfortable with no issues other than the in-room safe not opening three times during the visit and I had to call for assistance to access belongings. They were quick when called for this help.

We upgraded to Premium room and found little benefit in this all of the rooms had a nice view and no need to upgrade. The DVD player which we planned on using with our grandson did not work well at all. Not a big deal but was something we were planning on to keep him occupied during the evenings.

Only real negative to the trip was the no-see-ums that seemed to attack at sunset. Two of the five on the trip reacted to the bites with extreme itching and swelling, nothing seemed to help. We even had 100% Deet bug repellant with only marginal success although we may not have applied enough or often enough.

Caution regarding the beach side restaurants across the river. Make sure you know the price of every drink, appetizer, and meal prior to ordering. You may get a surprise like $11.00 beer or a fish that they tell you cost $7.50 and then changes to $75.00 when the bill comes. Also they serve very strong drinks with a moonshine tequila to get you drunk prior to the bill coming. You do not have to drink a lot to get buzzed, one drink will do it!!

I would recommend this resort for a relaxing vacation or get away. Great value, Great experience, We will return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, South side would be quieter and more remote from music which plays at beach rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I acknowledge receipt your comment posted on October 6th, 2013. We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments. I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that they experienced during your stay in our Hotel.

We really appreciate your preference at Barceló Puerto Vallarta to spend your holidays; our main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve and with the desire to visit us again.

Throughout the year our hotel receives different kinds of national and international tourism, such as couples, families and groups, we are happy to know that the recent group has not disturbed your tranquility and relaxation.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,


Rodolfo Pacheco
Gerente General / General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, B.C.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed Sept 27 to Oct 4. The time of year likely varied our experience
from what one would expect during full blown "winter escape" time.

This hotel apparently deals with the reduced fall demand by becoming host
to numerous domestic conventions. There are positives and negatives to this.
The positive side is that while convention meetings are in session, you have
the pool areas to yourself. The downside perhaps is that any evening entertainment
is shunted aside and held in the rather small evening cocktail bar.

With that as a consideration we found overall our stay to be fully satisfactory.
The #1 attribute of this hotel in our view is the staff and that goes from the
first contact Bellman Cain right through to everyday suite attendants.

Found the hotel personnel to be very engaging such as Patricia Gonzalez who made
every visit to the Patio restaurant seem like a "we've been waiting for you" experience.

We were provided the Premium suite and service as a benefit of last minute booking so
cannot give a fair estimate as to its actual "value". Our room was on the 9th floor just
off the ocean and provided spectacular views. The elevation likely dealt with any noise
issue that might surface because we experienced none.

We are not "room service" people so found the amenities of the premium lounge to be
very pleasant. Usually stopped for an early deluxe
coffee (sometimes with Baileys) before going
in for full breakfast. In the afternoon and evening found the before and afternoon hor's doevres
to be terrific. Sometimes sushi, sometimes salmon slices etc. If you are a premium alcohol person there was a "self pour" section that included 15 year old Scotch plus many upscale Vodkas and Tequilas.

I am not a "texter" so appreciated having a full keyboard in the internet service area to search e-mails, check stock issues etc.

The pool and garden areas of this hotel are absolutely first rate. Perhaps the best I have observed in over 25 Resort destinations.

A favorite for us was the setting of the El Patio restaurant. We could enjoy breakfast while viewing local "handline" fishermen casting via hand into the surf. Could also watch local families going for an evening swim on the adjacent beach.

Have a tip for people concerning the electrical system for your room. Your bellman will show you how placing the room key in the slot activates all the lights etc. All well and good but when you leave for the day 60 seconds later everything goes off. Air conditioning, fans, the fridge etc. We found that we could leave an Air Miles card in the slot while out of the room and things just kept cooking along. I suspect this is why some comment that the fridge doesn't work. If you are the first occupant after several days it will seem warm for the first while.

Take the card out when you are having the room made up and then place it back in when you return. Also check the air conditioner, fan settings when you return as it seems staff are instructed to turn them to the off setting. We found that having fans and air conditioners working overnight in both sections of the unit provided a comfortable atmosphere.

All in all it was a terrific quick week away in Puerto Vallarta

Room Tip: See my electrical comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Ranch, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Last November 6 of us went for my husband's birthday for the second time at the Barceló Resort. We were just as amazed the second time as were the first time we were there. This place is truly a beautiful piece of paradise. The resort was very busy the 9 days we were there, there were 3 weddings, chef's week and a big convention. I have to say the staff was incredible!!! They never missed step. They are #1 The service was wonderful, the grounds perfect, and the rooms spotless, and the food was so......good. Great variety and very well presented Just plain Yummy! I think the pools were our favorite thing to enjoy, but we did enjoy the beach also, not t big, just right. We had a junior suite on the 8th floor, the view of the ocean was beautiful. The room was big and pretty too. Then we moved to the other tower to the grand master suite. WOW just gorgeous!!!!! We have planned our 3rd trip to this resort and will be going very soon and WE CAN'T WAIT TO GET THERE!!!!!! And here are my Husband's thoughts on this resort. We are in the process of returning for our 3rd vacation to Barceló's Resort in Mismaloya .Me and my wife truly enjoyed the Resort and the extremely helpful staff. In the early 60's I visited the area, just after the filming of { Night of the Iguana}. Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton became romantically involved at this location. The hotel that was built later at this location,still possesses a romantic persona, and Barceló has captured this feeling. Love is truly in the air at this place. We are looking forward to returning to beautiful Mexico and it's beautiful people.

Room Tip: The top floors have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Barcelo September 14 - 21. When we checked in the hotel was very busy as it was Mexican indpenence day. We had a premium class room on the 8th floor. All the rooms in this hotel have somewhat of an oceanview. Request room closer to the ocean (hotel is set like a horseshoe). Room was better than what I expected so we where happy about that and we did get the king bed that we had requested.

Pool area was one of the best that we have seen and we do travel alot. Has 2 seperate pools with water features.... an oasis. Pool was clean and pool service was adequate.

Beach was small and wavey so may not reccomend for small children or non strong swimmers. The water was very warm however. Did not find the beach vendors agressive, just a polite "no thank you" and they left us alone.

This hotel in the last hotel on the ocean in Puerto Vallarta (Mismoyloya). It is not near town and is about a 20 minute cab ride away. It is across the street from the zoo and about 3km from the Preditor movie set. It is built next to the set from the movie Night of the Iguana with Richard Burton so you can check that out..

Hotel was only at 20% capacity after the Mexican holiday so they did shut down the buffet for a couple of days and we could use the al a carte. We tried all 3 of the al a carte restaurants and they where fine, however we prefer the beach one (open air) but it was only open the one night for dinner during our stay. Buffet did not seem to have the greatest variety during our stay, but we did not starve. Service in all the restaurants where good and we enjoyed the company of Benjamin and Sabrina on our first night arrival in the buffet.

Elevators where constantly breaking down, but not a worry we just used the service elevator and no one seemed to mind.

Lack of things to do at night.. watched the show one night, but felt embarrassed for the staff and the guests called up on stage. Never watched another show after that. Only one lounge/bar to visit at night so a leasurely dinner was usually in order to break up the evening. Met some great new friends so that makes it all worth while.

The only down side that I have with this hotel over all was with the front desk, much like others have complained. We also found Claudia to be rude. Our reservation was broken in to 2 stay... the first for 2 nights (Premium Class) and the remaining 5 just standard. The first 2 nights booked through a CDN supplier and the premium class was the least expensive, The remaining 5 nights through a direct booking. I had contact the hotel prior to arrival to see if we couls stay in the same room for the entire stay. We really did not need the premium class. When we arrived they could not tell us if we could stay in the same room, was told to return the next day, returned the next day could not tell us, told us to come back that night. Came back yet again, still no answer and was told to come back the next AM - this was the day our reservation was to change over. Arrived at the lobby at 9:00 was told to come back at 9:30... I told them we could not as we where going on a tour and would not be back till 3;30. I told them that I did NOT expect that my stuff would be moved out of my room and we would check back after our tour.

We arrived back to find we had been locked out of our room (no surprsie). At this point I was told that we could stay in our Premium Class room for an additional $50 per person per night.... I told them NO WAY.... If they felt they needed to move us down 2 floors then to go ahead. Basically Premium Class was floors 7, 8, and 9. Rooms are all the same. We where on floor 8. After much going back and forth they took our GOLD bands away and gave us BLUE bands and let us stay in the same room for the remainder of the stay.

Check out was another game..... Like I said I travel a lot! At least every 2 months and I have been to several all inclusives as well as other Barcelo's. Our flight did not leave till 8PM so out transfer was not picking us up till 5:00. I went to the front desk to enquire about a hospitality room as I did expect to have to leave the room at noonish. I was advised that in order to use the hospitality services, shower, hang out at the pool ect we would have to pay $17 per person. NO WAY! Any other hotel you check out at noon and the store your luggage, you can use the pool, restaurant and facilites and they have somewhere that you can have a quick shower before you leave and this is FREE of charge. The hotel then offered that we could have late check out for again $50 per person....we did not want late check out. At that point I had to pull out the travel agent card.... Yes, Iam a travel agent, but try not to get any extra perks because of it as I want the same experience my clients have.

After contacting the sales agent back in Canada who in fact contacted the hotel it was agreed that we could stay in the room till 4:00 PM free of charge. I told them we did not need this, just wanted to use the courtesy shower, but at that time they then insisted it was not an issue for us to keep the room.

It only gets better,,,,,So we go to the desk at 4:00 to check out. All was good, no surprises. They take our bands, no issue , have had this in the past and they give us a piece of paper to give to the bell boy once we are picked up.

Me and my husband decide that since we still have an hour before pick up we will have a small snack and drink. We make our way to beach restaurant. We are given a menu, we order a drink and recieve it. At that point the manager comes over and asks us what we are doing? I explian that we have just checked out and are now waiting for our transfer. He tells us no band no service.... At this point nothing surprised us. I asked if he would like our drinks back as well!
Anyway we gave the poor waiter a $5 tip, laughed about this in disbelief and then went to wait for our transfer. Grrr.....

Despite all this, I would go back to this hotel. It was small, not much to do at night, but all in all we did have a pleasant stay. Good hotel for older person who does not like all the walking of the mega resorts.

Room Tip: Upper floor, closer to ocean front and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#29 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.