We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in P.V.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #46 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“The place to stay in P.V.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this lovely resort from 2/21-3/2. We couldn't ask for a more beautiful place to stay for our first full-time visit to Puerta Vallerta. Have been checking this resort out for a number of years and always was impressed with the setting and the resort itself. We have visited PV twice off cruise ships and 5 hours is not enough to enjoy the city and its surroundings. We upgraded to a master suite in Tower 2 (2819) and it was worth every penny. The food is plentiful and good. We tried all three specialty restaurants (enjoyed the Spanish the best). We stayed away from the main pool because of the music, swim up bar, and activities . . . enjoying the quieter pool in front of Tower 2. The staff couldn't be nicer to us! Everyone from the groundskeepers, housekeepers, waitstaff, bellstaff, and bartenders were always friendly, attentive, and accommodating. I noticed that other postings gave this resort a "bad rap" due to illnesses allegedly caused by "something." These bad reviews are far from representative and of note: many people eat and drink off property and will blame the place they stay, while many mix many drinks, as well as, eat and drink to excess. We were in the hospitality business for over 38 years as owners-managers, the management at the Barcelo have a spotless property and have done everything to prevent the spread of "Montezuma."

On to other matters, you can catch public transportation (bus) for a 7 peso ride into town to walk the Malecon and enjoy the bustling city. A short walk from the resort will bring you to Mismaloya and the Zoo. Additionally, we met amazing people, who like us, enjoyed the resort immensely. All in all we couldn't say anything but positive about our experience as I write this the day before I return to work. We will definitely return to the special place. Shoutouts to: Antonio Rodriguez (Cantina), and Maricela (Front Desk). - - - Suzanne and Greg - Arizona

Room Tip: Avoid lower rooms in Tower 1 near the center of the building (noise factor). Also the higher the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    854
    329
    255
    217
See reviews for
849
1,046
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent the end of Jan. beginning of Feb. at the Barcelo. We heard about all the people being sick and even talked with a few.....was a bit scarey hearing about all the sickness. We enjoyed our stay and ate the food and enjoyed the drinks. The problem is not cleanliness, it's the Norovirus.....you can get this anywhere, even a hospital. The resort is VERY clean and well looked after. NO BED BUGS, as some reviews claim, if you have bites, it's from the outside. My legs were covered in bites, but that's what happens when you stay close to the jungle area and walk around.....I could feel them biting. I just read an article on the news of the Norovirus hitting people at a resort in Puerto Vallarta.....I could tell it was the Barcelo. I'm sure it won't be long and other places will be hit. I think the travel agents should put out a warning and maybe the Barcelo should be shut down, so this virus can be controlled.
Now, the only thing that would keep me from returning to the Barcelo, is the location.....a bit far from downtown Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Stay in Tower 2 and bring bug spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week at Barcelo. The place is real nice, great views, but no one was there... The resort has a food issue. I did read about them before I went, assumed it would have passed by the time I got there. Made it to the last 2 days there before I got it.

If you go, and want to fish, sightsee, find a guy named Martin. He has a boat, snorkeling, great whale watching all at great price...

Great place, just would have preferred the sick part...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

February 22 - March 1, 2013. Four of us traveling together - what a wonderful vacation. We loved the resort. The staff was incredible-very accommodating. The pools/hot tubs were fantastic. Low occupancy when we were there, so no problems finding beach/pool chairs. Buffet was good. Went to the three specialty restaurants-all good food and very nice presentation(s), with very attentive waiters. Rooms were spacious and clean. Whole resort was clean. Our room was on the 5th floor and close to the ocean (tower 1). It was a wonderful location! Went to a couple evening shows, enjoyed them. Bands at the Cantina were good (maybe a little loud). Booked a couple tours at the resort. Easy bus ride to town. All the employees treat you right. Special thanks to Juan at the Buffet and Marcella at the front desk. It was great!! Jim and Valerie - Minnesota

Room Tip: Higher for a better view-and teen numbers to be closer to the ocean. (we were in 1517 - it was aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

No stomach troubles here! Three of us went for a week, and had no problems! The hotel is small lending itself to friendly service. It was relatively empty, and we had no waits for tables, pool loungers or spa services. The beach is very small, sand is rough, and the current is strong, so not a good hotel for people who like to swim in the ocean. A little disappointment there. The specialty restaurants are nice. Some repetition on the menus, especially desserts, but well prepared and beautifully presented. We upgraded to premium, and were really glad we did. Well worth it! Cappuccino machine in the premium lounge, top shelf alcohol, internet all great. Also took full advantage of the specialty restaurants, booking one each night. Did see some people that were ill, but not many. Entertainment in the evenings was ok, not terrific, but again, a smaller place so the entertainment isn't going to be top notch. Water aerobics was fun, massages were excellent, took the city tour which was ok. Good place, friendly service, reasonable pricing, and family friendly.

Room Tip: Upgrade! Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Not sure where to start, had a awesome time. We were there from Feb 13 to Feb 27th . Vinicio Medina at the front desk did everything he could to make our stay a time to remember his favorite saying NO PROBLEM as we moved from tower 1 to tower 2 after three days as this was the tower we requested before we arrived our other needs were met with of course No PROBLEMO . Our rooms or suites you call them were roomy and comfy with a great view and waking up to ocean waves hitting the beach every morning.The maid service was top notch could not have been better. The four of us ate a la carted six times while we were there our favorite was the Spanish which we ate at three times. The Buffet was always good with a great variety different theme every nite which was nice. Our servers which there were many were Great. With saying that there is always afew that stand out. Omar and his lovely wife Sammantha made our stay that much better we made sure we in there section.Always had smiles every morning at breakfast anhd greeted by first names after day 2. Can`t remember all the names but a couple more who stood out were Juan,Angel Nire thx again. When they were not serving us food they were looking after us around the pools or on the beach with or favorite drinks.the pools are very nice, the thing we found that there were alot of kids around the swim up Bar and the Music was a bit to loud for our liking. We spent the majority of the time on the beach as we enjoyed swimming in the ocean . The vendors on the beach which we got to know by name were great there just trying to make a living, if you said no they respected that.We rented a boat from one of the locals on the beach and he took us snorkling one day to los Arcos which is just around the corner of the resort. Then a tour another day to Yelapa & Mjahuitas and Las Caletas we saw Dophins Humpback whales which we got great pictures of, i would highly recommend doing this our guides name was Gabriel Known as the Little Rooster everyone knows him. I don`t think you`ll be dissappointed.Also if you see a young guy on the beach his name is Alehandro he does fake or real tatoos he`s very interesting to talk to and they only last a week. You have to remember there just trying to make a living. We went to a couple of the nite shows that were good. The Cantina in the bottom of tower1 was alive with music every nite which shut down around mid nite which was alright with us.Lastly all the bad reviews the Barcello has been taking my opinion only. We ate and drank at all the places the resort had to offer, and didn`t get sick. Everyone there was doing there best form cleaning to hand sanitizers to masks being worn by kitchen staff. Without a second thought i would go back in a heart beat. THX Again Barcelo for a great 2 weeks. Happy Canuck

Room Tip: Tower 2 has sun in the afternoon as tower 1 is in the shade all rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travelled to the Barcelo in a group of 12 people from 2/17 to 2/24. The entire group had been to the resort two years ago and loved it enough to come back. The beach is nice, the pool is big, the rooms are huge and the people are friendly. Unfortunately that is will not be enough for me to return to this resort.

For the weeks before the trip we had been reading the reviews about everyone getting sick, but had been hoping it was being blown out of proportion. This was not the case. The reviews are very accurate. There is a serious problem at this resort that needs to be dealt with before ANYONE should be allowed in.

When we arrived we asked the Sunwing representative (George) about the illness at the resort and he assured us that only a few people had been sick and that there wasn't a problem. It only took a few hours at the resort to realize that the staff were well aware of what was happening but were unwilling to talk about it. Everywhere you went you were bombarded by staff members squirting isogel into your hands and wearing masks. This is not normal for a resort.

By the end of the second day three out of our twelve were violently ill with constant vomitting (every 10 minutes for 5 hours) and diarrhea. The first night at dinner was the only night that all twelve of us ate together because there was always someone down with the illness. It generally took 2 days to recover from and left everyone pains and easily upset stomachs for the remainder of the trip. A quick trip to the gift shop revealed line ups of people buying gatorade, pedialite and medications to try and recover. The resort doctor was constantly being called and guests were charged outrageous amounts just to be given dramamine or anti-diarhhea medication.

This trip was my 14th trip to Mexico and I am well aware of the odd stomach ache people get when travelling to a foreign country. This was not just traveller's diarrhea or sickness...it is a serious problem. Twelve out of twelve of our group were violently ill. It infected everyone from a perfectly healthy 20 year old to a 92 year old elderly grandmother.

At the end of our trip one of the members of our group requested and was granted a meeting with the General Manager of the resort and the Sunwing representative. Both admitted that the resort has a serious problem and that they were the only resort in Puerto Vallarta affected by it. The Sunwing representative even admitted that when originally asked about the illness he denied it DESPITE knowing that it was true. He admitted that he "wasn't allowed to talk about it" before and that Sunwing was now DIVERTING passengers away from the hotel and allowing them to stay someone else due to the severity of the issue. The general manager of the resort also indicated that they were so aware of the issue (yet did nothing about it) that they were conducting testing on their food and bloodwork on their staff to try and narrow down what the issue was. All of this was happening while they were telling the resort patrons that everything was okay and there was nothing to worry about. This was a blatant LIE!

The fact that this has been going on since December and the Barcelo management did absolutely nothing to warn or alert resort patrons is deeply disturbing. The root cause for everyone's sickness is pure negligence on the part of the Barcelo and Sunwing management and is completely unacceptable. I will not travel to another Barcelo resort and will not use Sunwing as a tour operator in the future. I will return to Puerto Vallarta but will spend the extra money to ensure I am staying with a resort chain that has the interest of it's customers at heart.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.