We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Ranked #37 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Iam writing this review from my room I should be at the pool but Iam sick there is something terribly wrong here it needs to be shut down for a few days and cleaned Iam not a drinker and Iam careful with my food but this is the first time in mexicoI have been sick like this everyone here is dropping like flies everyone instead of handing out coupons upon arrival they should hand out pepto and gravel cause that's all you use here this is crazy and any company booking vacationers here should be not it needs to be shut down for a few days and cleaned the management says its at all resorts it's not just here they say its nit the food not to sure what it is but it's crazy so much for a nice vacation and sun when u feel like this most of the time and your scared to eat or touch anything beautiful location and resort but sickness is everywhere

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    969
    365
    272
    227
See reviews for
985
1,190
33
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Out of our group of 40, all but 2 people got sick. The place is beautiful, the staff are very friendly, but that really means nothing when you're in your room for three days and then too miserable to enjoy the rest of the vacation. It really was our worst vacation ever. We read the reviews before we came but we weren't able to change our reservations - if you have the opportunity to choose, don't come to this resort until they have been able to clean up whatever it is that is making almost every visitor sick. If you're stuck with your reservation, take bug spray, the bites are quite nasty! And of course, load up on medicines because you'll end up paying $15 for a small bottle of pepto bismol which won't last you a day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I have been to puerto Vallarta 3 times prior to my visit this November. I did a lot of research and found out the hard way that you get what you pay for. We booked a suite with the extra level. The check in was crazy because they had some conference the same week with hundreds of people checking in. The bell boy told us to leave our bags at the front (with swarms of people) and come with him. I was so anxious about our bags I couldn't enjoy being there. We got checked in and were then told to get our bags and hand them to the bell boy who would bring to our room. We went up to our room and were amazed at the size of the room! It was huge. Like a mini apartment. We were facing the ocean and it was beautiful. We then went down to the bar and asked for a margarita and got the worst margarita ever! It was so disappointing. I tried to make the best of it but unfortunately I got very very ill from the buffet on our second night and spent the remainder of the trip in bed with horrible diarrhea and dehydration. I called the front seat at 12am and asked for medicine like pepto and I was told they did not have any and that They would have to go get a paramedic and have him go to a pharmacy 20 minutes away in order to get me any medicine. I was so nervous about having a Mexican doctor come see me that I just hung up and was in pain all night. I woke up in the morning and called the front desk and again asked for medicine. This time they told me that the gift shop had all kinds of medicine! I was frustrated that they had not mentioned that prior but so happy that I could get medicine. I went to the gift shop and bought some Pepto and some Gatorade then went back to the room and spent the rest of the trip in my room sick. The buffet was horrible and made me so sick. I not a sickly person and don't complain usually. All the food and drinks were horrible. I will never return to this resort. Le Kliff was the high light of our trip and is theist amazing restaurant with great food and view! All in all spend $500 more and get higher quality EVERYTHING :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second time here in Jan.24-28.I was a bit worried after reading previous reviews.I came with my sister and we had a great time.I asked the room opposit to the bar since the last time that was our only issue with the noise.
Check in: check in time at 3pm but we arrived at 1pm and our room was ready.You receive the coupon book upon check in and let you know right away you need to use the coupon before using the servise not after when you check out. It was very useful so internet wich for $$,I used both day coupon so instead of $46.00 for 4 days it was $26.00 only.Also I used my late check out coupon as well.Saved $30.00 atleast.
Pool: because of the heated pool was this hotel my number 1 choice.It was beautiful and this time few iguana lives in the middle of the island.It was so much fun to watch them.The waiters around the pool were always there.Good service.
Food: was not the best but it was good. We got sick the last day but I can't blame the hotel even I never got sick before anywhere but my pharmacist in Vancouver said everyone has the
same simptoms,some bug goes arround.They were not in Mexico.I last few pounds not eating for several days.Thank you for that.I wouldn't change a thing.
Bites: I saw several people with lots of bite on them but did not ask how they got it. they could have been in a jungle tour.We had few on us but I killed one mosquito in our room.
Show: was very entertaining,enjoyed it.
Beach: not to sandy but has a part where you can swim.Locals got out a dead baby SHARK,showed it around and took back to the ocean.I had concern about that.Noone else seemed!!
I love this hotel regardless,I'll go back again.Love the pool,the jungle around,the service great,very friendly people.

Room Tip: Oposit side of the bar.All rooms are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

After a good trip with family I got food poisoning the last night of the trip. Now home and all other parties who came are also feeling sick but not to the great extent that I was. The staff was excellent and hard working. Drinks were light on alcohol but easy to get. Four different restaurants but not open every night. Same food just arranged differently. Lol anywho stay away from flea market as the venders get pushy or go with large protective men... Maybe that will help! after three year wait for vacation with husband I give it 3.5 stars out of five. Tops!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We did find it a bit far from Puerto Vallarta, however we agreed the benefits much outweighed the distance. It is quiet, safe, and has all one needs. The scenery is amazing. The bus goes often and cabs are cheap. Wash your hands, and keep them out of your mouth. There seems to be a lot of illness going around. We never got sick, but met a lot that were. The only drawback is entertainment or lack thereof. There never was a band. They had a dance group that tried hard and were entertaining. We found the staff very accommodating, even more if you tipped! If you can get past the illness and no entertainment within half hour, this is the place you will come back to.

Room Tip: We had a great view and no noise at all except for the waves. We stayed in tower 2. Definitely quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

There was six of us (3 couples) it was my husband who got sick first and the it was like a domino effect after. Some of us it lasted 3 days and some 4 days but still after that our stomach never recovered. Our drink glasses were not washed cause our drinks would have a different mixture in it. Our glasses in our room were not clean or replaced with clean ones. Cleaning staff would just wipe then out. Noticed that the cutlery was not taken off tables if it was not used but people would touch them. Plates had dryer food on it. I have more to say about this resort but not enough characters to say it in. But one thing we do know is we will never go back. Everyone we talked to had gotten sick. The bug bites left welts and itchy so bad that they just started to go away. The resort was nice but that was it. I would advise not to go there you will be sorry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.