We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
MXN800 off room rate
Ranked #42 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
San Jose, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“bad experience!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

stayed there from 12/20-12/26 2012 and had to endure each night bunking with bed BUGS!! once you get under the covers and you feel something crawling on your skin ... get out and ask for a new room!! otherwise you'll suffer for days with welts all over your back, arms and legs! the 1st night i had to call housekeeping to change the bed sheets because it had an awful odor (like it hadn't been washed). comments from other reviews about getting sick from the food? it's true! be sure to check the expiration dates on the yogurt. OMG and just to ask for a water refill @ the table ... the response time takes forever (if you're lucky they remembered you asked in the 1st place). unfriendly front desk staff ... and the waiters are inappropriately too friendly with their "you're so sexy" comments. pool activities were a joke - no creativity ... just an annoying attendant with a microphone. we stayed @ Barcelo Los Cabos a few months ago and had a great experience there ... and made the huge mistake of thinking it would be replicated @ Barcelo PVR.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest:
Above all I would like to thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced.

Regarding the presence of insects, being the Hotel Barceló Puerto Vallarta surrounded by mountains, and vegetation, offering guests wonderful scenery, it must be assumed that we cannot avoid completely the presence of the insects.

In this change of seasons from hot to cold, the Mismaloya river water decreases this causes to appear a tiny mosquito known as midge. This midge leaves a gnat bites with a particularly red spots on legs and arms.

Sometimes you cannot feel the sting or itch during the day until evening or until another day when you have all these red spots in your body, anyway we would like to inform that we have a daily fumigation program in the Hotel.

In another hand I would like to mention that it is not possible that you have had bed bug bites because we just change the mattresses a few months ago, so they are practically new.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.
Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,010
    781
    299
    243
    206
See reviews for
773
966
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel did not meet any of my or my two friends' expectations that I vacationed with (We were here from 12/20/12 to 12/26/12). Service was very poor by the waitstaff. For ex: getting a glass of water at the buffet restaurant was like pulling teeth, even though we would ask the plenty of servers around us for it. Drink service by the pool was also terrible. Servers would ignore half the people sitting by the pool during the day and so we often resorted to going to the bar and getting our own water which didn't help much because they would have us waiting there for awhile too. Waitstaff just seemed like they didn't want to be there. There was no sense of being welcomed by them.

My friends and I woke up with bedbug bites every morning to which staff said they were mosquito bites probably... geez! Food was not prepared well at all. How can you screw up steamed broccoli? All three of us got sick from the food at some point so to be safe, the last few days of the vacation we ate nothing else but bread and butter. At the time of the checkin to the hotel, we were given an envelope and no further explanation or instruction. The next morning, we found out that envelope had 3 'pool cards' we needed to be able to check out towels everyday for the pool. Also, when we decided to make dinner reservations, we were told our package contained 'dinner coupons'... WHY don't they explain these things when they hand these to us? Are we supposed to read their minds? Unless you want to be faced with terrible service, sleep with bedbugs, get sick from the food and feel unwelcomed, do yourself a favor and NEVER stay at this place. Otherwise, I have a strong feeling you will regret it gravely if you do...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Director General at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced during your soon stay.

I am very sorry about the impression you took from our staff and I apologize for that, because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve.

Regarding to the issues you mentioned, I would like to inform you that they will be corrected because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We accommodate many guests each day and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all our guest. Consequently it is disappointing to learn that you are unhappy.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just came back from week long stay and would strongly suggest selecting a different hotel in PV to stay at than Barcelo for numerous reasons.

Food- Decent variety, but there is a lack of quality. Not only in taste, but health factors. Became very ill along with others in group within day 1 so stuck to mostly bread, rice and avoided meat, dairy or greasy foods, in which we still had symptoms of food poisoning. Yogurt cups at breakfast had dates on the bottom and every morning I checked, they already had past the expiration date by 2-3 days. Something is seriously wrong with their food or food preparation. Many other people were ill on resort as well. This is not normal, nor acceptable that guest's health is at risk, due to Barcelo's carelessness, wanting to save money or kitchen staff not being educated properly.

Waitstaff- Some employees were friendly and tried to help but not competent. Other employees were just careless. Overall service, poor

Front Desk- Terrible customer service. Not friendly or informative. Some in particular are very rude and disrespectful.

Fitness Center- 2 of 3 treadmills broken entire week. Not always stocked adequaetely with towels or disinfectant to wipe down equipment.

Linens- Horrible. Had holes and yellowish stains. First night, noticed sheets smelled strongly like sweat. Requested to have them changed with fresh ones. Daily housekeeper did a great job.

Pool area- Various pools, nice.

Location- If you want to be near downtown to shop, dine, etc this is not the hotel for you since it is 45 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced during your soon stay.

Regarding the food, we have high standards of hygiene in the preparation of our food and drinks, which are audited twice every month by the reputed external company Check Safety First, through their Cristal Program.
Anyway to avoid any risks we have implemented a program of deep sanitization in our common areas and kitchens, even so we have put for all our guests antibacterial gel at the entrances of our restaurants.

I am very sorry about the impression you took from our staff and I apologize for that, because for Barceló Puerto Vallarta the main goal is to fulfill the expectations of every single guest we have the pleasure to serve.

Regarding to the issues you mentioned, I would like to inform you that they will be corrected because your comments undoubtedly make us better every day and the standard that Barceló Hotels & Resorts offers are too high.

We trust to have you here again and give us the opportunity to show the true service of Barceló Puerto Vallarta with which we are building our reputation.

We do appreciate your comments and once again we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairie dog
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

6 out of 8 in our group were sick including a 9 month old baby and a nursing mother who had to be hospitalized for 24 hours.never again!December 10 to 20.cleaning staff would spend over an hour cleaning our rooms but ineffective with the norovirus.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, Gerente at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the valuable time you are taking to share with us your comments and I take this opportunity to send you a sincere apology for the non-intentional incidents that you experienced during your soon stay.

Regarding the food, we have high standards of hygiene in the preparation of our food and drinks, which are audited twice every month by the reputed external company Check Safety First, through their Cristal Program.
Anyway to avoid any risks we have implemented a program of deep sanitization in our common areas and kitchens, even so we have put for all our guests antibacterial gel at the entrances of our restaurants.

Do not forget that these symptoms according to experts can occur in travelers by stress to the trip, by the famous Montezuma's revenge or just for a change in their diet, another factor is the abuse in the consumption of food and beverages mainly alcoholic, but we all know this.

I want to let you know that we sent the river water and seawater tested to detect whether this is causing these effects.

As additional information I would say that this week we had over 850 guests at home and many of them gave us very positive feedback about their stay experience.

We do appreciate your comments and do not hesitate in contact me for any further information.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just got back from a week at Barcelo PV (12/17-12/23) and it was the most disappointing vacation ever! We were part of a group of 11 of which 9 got sick!! I don't know what happened to this hotel from our previous stay two years ago. But it was awful We also heard that many people were sick. We were even greeted to another traveler throwing up near the breakfast buffet one morning. There was a day where the place smelled like vomit. However no one seemed to look twice at what could be the cause. And to top it off... they ran out of Gatorade in the convenience store!!! What does that tell you?!

As far as the service...it was poor to say the least. The front desk RUDE--especially Claudia who definitely could use a 'Hospitality 101' course in the near future. The pool side service was hot and cold. The food selection was poor and the wait staff inattentive. The bathroom were not clean and linens had holes in them. We will definitely not be returning anytime soon to this and perhaps ant other Barcelo....which is s shame because this was our 4th stay in their hotels.

We made our reservations over 6 months ago but I guess that wasn't enough notice to have our request to be on the opposite side of the hotel from La Cantina met due to its noise! Better reserve earlier than that if you need a request met!

Room Tip: Stay on opposite side of hotel from La Cantina. Especially if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The only thing nice about this hotel were the rooms and the pools. The staff were nice but not very helpful.
It was a trip from hell, almost everyone that I talked to was sick or was with someone that was sick, many people were hospitilized and the doctors did confirm food poisoning. The funny thing is the staff play it off like you have a weak stomach and you will be fine. Our vacation was ruined, and im sure many others were as well who went around the same time "Dec 15-22".
Never Again, only go to this resort if you want to be sick for half your trip!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed from Dec 06-16

I enjoyed most of my stay at the Barcelo hotel. The staff were excellent (except one staff member at the front desk) and the room exceeded expectations. The views from the seventh floor of building two, were great. It's unfortunate their isn't more beach. Mismaloya is across the street and the locals are friendly. PV is a convenient bus ride away (7 pesos). We highly recommend a zoo visit. It's an easy ten minute walk from the Barcelo.
My only warning to other travellers is that I was sick for three days. Not unusual for a Mexican vacation, but we met an alarming number of guests who shared my symptoms. I hate to blame the food or the water at this hotel, but I became sick our second morning and had not been off the resort (three days of my vacation I won't get back). It was handy to have two bedrooms and two bathrooms considering how sick I was. The gift store does sell Gravol.
Overall an awesome hotel but if your afraid of the food, how much can you relax? For this reason only, I would caution friends.
P.S. Dear Mr Barcelo: When guest come to reception to get smaller bills, they are most likely intending to distribute them to your staff! Please don't give us a hard time - or tell us that you just "don't give change".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest:

We thank you for your comments posted regarding your recent stay in our hotel that undoubtedly make us better every day.

About the issue of sickness that you mentioned I would like to inform you that the cause is totally external, probably related with the zoo and the contact with the animals.

We do appreciate your comments and we apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Best regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
General Manager
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Also Known As:
La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya
Mismaloya
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo Mismaloya
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#42 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.