We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, jungle setting, and ocean all wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Barcelo Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #47 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Staff, jungle setting, and ocean all wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from The Barcelo Puerto Vallarta yesterday (dec 1), and really enjoyed ourselves. As this was our first trip to Mexico, and our first all inclusive all of our ratings are comparisons against our expectations.

5 out of 5
The friendliness of the staff, and their willingness to accommodate our every need met and exceeded our expectations. Every request was met with a smile, and prompt service.

The jungle backdrop made us feel like we were a million miles away from civilization, and not 12 Km's away from a city of 200,000 people. Just what the doctor ordered!

The beach and water in the bay in front of the resort were both just excellent. The surf was a lot of fun to play in, the water was warm, and the sand was clean.

4 out of 5
We had a family suite which was perfect for our family of 4. The separate bedroom and bathroom for our teenage girls was perfect for the many showers we had. Having said this, the room and the rest of the facility is showing it's age, and could use an upgrade. It's not that it isn't clean, it's just showing some wear and tear.

If gourmet food and premium drinks are what you are looking for, this resort is not the place. This is not to say that the food isn't of good quality and tasty, because it is both of those things. I think it comes down to presentation and choice. After a week, we really weren't keen ongoing back to the buffet.

There are a few exceptions to this comment though.

The taco bar was excellent. Home made tortillas and al Pastor were "da bomb"
The soups served at the buffet and ala carte restaurants were all top notch
The baked goods were all of the highest quality.

General comments
As mentioned above this was our first Mexico experience, and I'm sure we willing look back on it fondly. Part of the reason we enjoyed it so much was our experiences off site as well. The venders on the beach and the residents of Mismalayo were all respectful and genuine people. One of the locals we did a little business with was Juan Carlos. He took us snorkelling to Los Arcos, and to Playa las animas which is a beach that can be reached only by boat. We felt safe and well looked after while with Juan Carlos. Thanks to Bob and Ginelle for the recommendation.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Barcelo Puerto Vallarta.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachecoR, General Manager at Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

Your comments are very important to us because they are measured the service we provide.

We appreciate the time you took to write your comments and thank you for the opportunity that you provided us to show the true service of Barceló Hotels with which we are building our reputation.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for any further information.

Best Regards,

Rodolfo Pacheco
Director
Barceló Puerto Vallarta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    841
    323
    254
    217
See reviews for
838
1,029
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bujumbura, Burundi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was a truly amazing place with a beautiful view, amazing food, and perfect location. Enjoyed every part of this place from the beach to the rooms. There are several very nice pools on the campus, which provide a lot of fun for both kids and adults (seperate pools for family/kids and the adult pool has a swim up bar). The location was nice, since it was out of town by thirty minutes or so. I really recommend the zip line tour the information/adventure desk offers. The tour took place about 30 or 45 minutes further away from town and was truly a great jungle experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent the Thanksgiving 2012 weekend here and it was great. The kids (5 and 8) had a blast - the pools are fantastic, the inlcuded kids' club was a great benefit and the family suite ensured that we all had some room to move around without being on top of each other. That said, this will only be the place for you IF: (1) you don't care to go to town or sightsee very much. It's a long cab ride to town - about 30-40 minute drive on a (still unfinished) road that has been under construction for at least a year. The exception to this is that the zoo, a zipline tour and Mismaloya are nearby and convenient to enjoy; (2) finding the best all-inclusive food is not your priority. The food here was good and plentiful (!), but it won't knock your socks off. They have a buffet every night with a different theme. They also have 3 a la carte restaurants (2 of which have oppressive dress codes for men) which were only decent. At lunch time, there is another buffet (which we never tried), an a la cart cafe and a street taco stand that makes tacos to order - definitely the highlight of the culinary offerings. In general, most everything was good, few things were bad and almost nothing was exceptional.

The property is clean and fairly well maintained. It is nice, but not luxurious. We were "premium" club members, which allowed us access to a lounge with allegedly better booze, coffee, snacks and computer access. Pretty much daily, the lounge ran out of something or couldnt get what we were wanted. For example, they have a great cappucino maker in the lounge, but nearly every morning they would be out of all caffeinated coffee. Sure, they had plenty of decaf, but who wants that in the morning? Same thing with the premium booze. The Grey Goose up and disappeared one day, never to be seen again.

The family suits was pretty spacious and allowed the kids their own room and bathroom, which is priceless when you're traveling with young boys. They thought it was cool that they had their own tv, even if most channels were in Spanish. The pools were a highlight - large and clean. One more low key, with less loud music and more family oriented. Another with a DJ and a swim-up bar. Still another one, which was very shallow and had a small water slide for little kids - something for everyone. The lounge chairs get snatched up early (and inevitably end up remaining empty all day - don't you just hate that?), so be sure to stake your claim before someone else takes the prime spots.

The beach is nice, but it's a shore break with a serious undertow at times. There's also more than enough vendors peddling their wares, but they never come on the hotel property.

The kids' club is great and the staff is really sweet toward the kids. They did some cool stuff - build sandcastles, make iguana shaped keychains, face painting, etc. and it was all included. The kids enjoyed it a lot and it really added to the experience.

We visited the spa on our last day, while the kids were in kids' club. I had low expectations for our ocean front couples massage, but it was really amazing. The setting was gorgeous, the temperature was perfect and the massage was really well done and relaxing. As premium members, we got 20% off spa treatments, which was an unexpected surprise. I'm sure you can get a cheaper beachside massage in nearby Mismaloya, but the Barcelo spa was clean and comfortable and we only ended up paying about $50/hour for each. Not terrible resort prices.

If this trip were just for me and my man, I probably would have stayed somewhere closer to town or geared more towards couples. For a family trip, however, this is a good option.

**As an aside, this year was our 3rd and likely last visit to the PV zoo. It used to be such a unique experience, because you could really interact with the animals, and maybe even hold a baby tiger or lion. This year, the price of admission almost doubled from last year. Even worse, the animals just made me sad. They just looked a lot more unkempt and overstimulated. I saw many with open wounds, some painfully thin and in enclosures that were just not well suited for their size. I left feeling icky about having contributed to the spectacle, when it's pretty clear the increased revenue is not being used to improve the conditions of the animals.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We went for our honeymoon from October 1-12th 2012. It was amazing, the hotel was so clean, the food was excellent. We did all inclusive and loved the food. The staff were all so friendly. There were few people in the hotel because it was off season so we always got ocean side seating during meals and never had to wait long for drinks. We did many of the outdoor adventures and loved all of them. They are a bit expensive with their photo packages but it is safe and you get the best experience if you book with outdoor adventures in the hotel. We never did the spa in the hotel we went and hot messages on the beach from Paradise Massage, for a couples massage for an hour it was $40 and the best massage I have ever gotten. The spa in the hotel looked amazing as well, we just didn't have time. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, NE
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Located south from Puerto Vallarta this resort is a great place for a family get away. About 45 minutes from the airport we were there for the thanksgiving week which is the beginning of the season in the area. Roads to the site were under construction but with the exception of some delays for one lane traffic and some bumpy roads the trip was good. We were traveling with two other couples a child 8 months, a 10 and a15 year old. Lots of activities at the site or just plain relaxing is also available. A lot of extra cost tours available but we just took a day trip to a quiet cove. We went club premium that provides some good benefits and outstanding rooms with excellent views. Food on site was good but to get in to the three premium restaurants you need to plan ahead. Some elevator problems when we were there but appeared to be fixed when we left. Three + beautiful pools and a small beach on the property but surf on the beach has some undercurrents to be careful of. Safety was never a concern for our party at the resort or our time off the property. Great staff

Room Tip: We went premium club and that gets you a room on the top three floors of the two tours. I think we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

So I was a little skeptical about going to this resort after some of the reviews I read but I have to say it really ended up exceeding my expectations. The location was beautiful, the private beach was amazing, food delicious, staff SO NICE and our rooms were amazing. They made a small mistake with our reservation when we first got there so they gave us the nicest room in the hotel for a night and it was AMAZING. Only downfalls were the music at the pool during the day too much techno for my taste and the salesman on the private beach were kinda annoying. Overall amazing vacation, would for sure go back!

Room Tip: IF you can afford the presidential suite, do it. So cool. We had the master suite though and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

the hotel is clean and wonderful, gerat location and the staff is wonderful. the food is wonderful it is my 2nd home. this was my 10th time their and I am going back. hope to see you. Antonio and cesar are the kindest and of course Adelina

Room Tip: best location in Puerto Vallarta, the hotel is the best my 10th time will go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Puerto Vallarta

Address: Zona Hotelera Sur Km. 11.5, Puerto Vallarta 48294, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barceló Puerto Vallarta***** (formerly Barceló La Jolla de Mismaloya) in Puerto Vallarta, is an elegant, all-inclusive Mexican-style resort. It offers 316 completely renovated and comfortable suites with excellent service, leisure, history, beautiful scenery, exuberant flora and privacy.Relax after a hard day’s work in the hotel spa, catch some rays at one of the hotel pools or take time out to practice your favourite water sport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Jolla Mismaloya
Barcelo La Jolla De Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
La Jolla Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo De Mismaloya
Puerto Vallarta La Jolla De Mismaloya
Barcelo Mismaloya Puerto Vallarta
Barcelo La Jolla Mismaloya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.