We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $50 Credit
Ranked #10 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
san francisco, ca.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were here for ten days in July and got an online rate of $99 per day. Got an 4th floor corner room with huge balcony with view of pool and broad view of the ocean. The room was large, very nicely furnished, and the property is elegant. The pool is enormous. Swim-up bar of course, tons of lounge chairs. Lobby and other public areas are all very nice with a very large indoor restaurant where breakfast was served with two stations, an outside thatched roof restaurant and meandering ponds and extensive tropical gardens. The access to the beach is excellent and beach vendors at a minimum.
Local bus service to town right in front of the resort so no need for taxis as the bus takes you downtown(take a bus that says CENTRO on it). The fare was 6.5 pesos which is around 65 cents. A cab would cost about $15. You will
get jostled and the buses are very basic bouncy things, but it's local atmosphere and worth at least one try. Hop on, give the driver some money, hold onto your ticket and enjoy real Mexico. Easy as pie. We saw a good many families, couples and singles so the mix is not one or the other. This is not a stuffy or pretentious resort, it's easy going, casual yet very upscale. Highly recommended and definitely will return.

Room Tip: Non ocean view rooms are just fine, they overlook a small garden and the property next door, as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    744
    439
    115
    41
    23
See reviews for
363
467
37
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Casa Magna Marriott in Puerto Vallarta is almost fortress-like, screened off from its private drive but wide open to the huge pool, generous beach and imposing Banderas Bay. It features multiple restaurants with the consistent quality and ample servings for which Marriott is so well known. Las Casitas, on the beach, is our favorite for a poolside lunch or open-air, bayside dinner. The sports bar, Champion's, has an unusually extensive menu, plenty of TV sets and coverage of just about every sport you can think of (including lacrosse).

Rooms are spacious and well appointed, with the only drawback -- assuming you are allergic to down pillows and bedding -- being the lumpy pillows which must be beaten into submission.

Room Tip: The center section, looking across the pool to the beach and bay beyond, has great views from floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, wa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here 10 nights as a babymoon prior to our daughter being born. The weather was not the best, so we ended up utilizing the hotel services more than would have been expected. We were able to get the all inclusive option for much of our stay, and I would definitely suggest this if you typically go this route in Mexico. All of the restaurants were great and provide plenty of variety.

The marina is just a short walk, and there are even more things to do there if you get bored with the beach and pool. We were upgraded to a beach front room, which was beautiful. I would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: the ocean front rooms are great, and can usually be had for a small fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wife and I was at Casa Magna Marriott in Puerto Vallarta--

+ Very nice property, clean, pool and beach are great, great service and staff very friendly
food is really good--breakfast buffet is excellent. Close to airport-$5.00 cab ride. Gym is well equipped and plenty of room to work out.

Two major drawbacks--it is very pricey, Hotel charges for WI-Fi and coffee that you make in your room. Restaurants have excellent food but you will pay for it. Breakfast buffett is $22.00.

Hard to relax on beach due to all the vendors that harrass you to buy Mexican souvenirs (don't think Hotel can control this however because it is a public beach) a real hassle.

However, I would go back to hotel because pool and view is beautiful--if you stay here check out the Marina district--a short walk from hotel--you will find very good and affordable restaurants in Marina district.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I took our 6-month old to Puerto Vallarta and we stayed at the Marriott for 7 nights. The resort grounds were beautiful, the staff was superb (and VERY friendly), and our room was everything we would have asked for. Being in Marina Vallarta we had several restaurant options nearby, and it was just a $100peso cab ride to the downtown area in case we wanted to venture out further.

The pool was very big (and heated), and the staff around the pool were all very attentive. They all learned our son's name and enjoyed visiting with him throughout the trip. The landscaping was beautiful, and was constantly being maintained.

Our room was nice, and suited our needs (for those who complain about the room needing upgrades or a better TV I'm not sure what they were thinking...besides, who travels to Mexico and spends time in their room for more than sleeping/showering?).

The restaurant options were nice, and not too expensive (much less than I would have expected for a resort restaurant)...though we still preferred to go off-site as much as we could.

Our only complaint was that the pool area was not considered non-smoking. I know the smoking laws/rules in Mexico are different than in the US, but it would have been more relaxing if we could have enjoyed the pool/beach smoke-free (and not have to worry about our baby breathing it in either).

If/when we return to PV we will be staying at the Marriott again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been staying at The Marriott Casa Magna for close to twenty years and when the greeters in the driveway say "Welcome home!"--it really feels like it. The staff is beginning to age along with us---we recognize them and they recognize us.

The location is perfect for us--less than five minutes from the airport and a relatively short cab ride (or bus) to the city center, romantic district and the malecon. In December and January, when we are there, the temperature is around 80 during the day with a steady cooling breeze coming off Banderas Bay.

The hotel breakfast buffet is sumptuous with plenty of healthful choices available. Fresh fruits and juices, cooked or cold cereals, made-to-order omelets, pozole and/or miso soup, fresh tortillas and an array of salsas that's dazzling.

Before-breakfast exercise earns us a big and leisurely breakfast and we rarely eat again until the evening meal. The Marriott has a wonderful restaurant with an interesting menu and it's a good value but we LOVE to go into the city just about every night for dinner. There's an abundance of wonderful restaurants in Puerto Vallarta and the Chief Concierge, Simon Coulson, and his staff are always helpful and available to make recommendations based on their experience. (They know about dolphin and whale watching experiences and such. Two years ago my husband needed dental surgery and Simon connected us with a fabulous state-of-the-art specialty dentist.)

The one little "caveat" we have relates to the uneven WiFi access which has been an irritant for several years. Maybe this will be the year they add boosters or whatever is necessary to improve the system. No matter, we'll return next January like we've been doing for two decades!

Room Tip: The hotel is 100% non-smoking. We prefer a room on a higher floor NOT overlooking the pool. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent the last week at this resort and we can't wait to go back there again. Everything about the resort was First Class. From the very beginning with the personalized shuttle service from the airport and the expedited check-in when greeted at the hotel it was obvious the staff wanted to serve us. We ate every meal but one at the resort because the food and the service was so great! The staff was as good as any staff I have seen at any hotel! And the ambiance and the beauty of resort were fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

Address: Paseo La Marina Norte 435 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#10 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort And Spa
Casamagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Marriott Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaMagna Marriott Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.