We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hike worth the trek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Las Animas

Playa Las Animas
South Shores, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: If you are looking for isolation, try this beach to the south of Puerto Vallarta, only accessible by boat.
PV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hike worth the trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We hiked from Boca to las Animas then hired a water taxi for the return trip. Hike is step at the beginning, but eventually levels off. The trail wanders along the coast climbing up and down. Don;t recall where we ate but the beer tasted good after the hike. It took approx. 2 hours

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    73
    20
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really grown over the years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The first time I went there were a few vendors and palapas..Now there are great beach restaurants and actual bathrooms. I had a fabulous mango margarita and great swimming beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and worth the hike from Boca!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friends and I caught a bus in town to take us on the 40 minute or so ride to Boca. You can catch a water taxi from here to Las Animas...but we chose the more adventurous route and took the hike. It's a rather primative trail with some very steep inclines, swinging bridges, etc. But nothing too dangerous. Bring water because it gets hot in the jungle! It took us about 2 hours to get to Las Animas. But that did include a brief stop at a completely empty and secluded beach about half way there. Once we made it to Las Animas, we rewarded ourselves with several ice cold beers and some actually really good pizza. I wish I could remember the name of the restaurant...it was past the pier and toward the end. I remember our waiter was Rafael. We took a water taxi back to Boca, and easily caught a bus back to town..that particular bus ride was an adventure in itself!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great hike from Boca de Tomatlan to Las Animas is worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I hiked this, again, in mid February 2013. The single dirt and stone trail is well signed, and maintained, and the few wooden bridges have been upgraded. I'm 65 yrs old and about 25 pounds over weight and it takes me 1 hr 45 minutes every time I walk this. You can walk it in sport sandals, as I do, or jogging shoes. Be prepared for a bit of "up and down", but nothing dangerously steep. The coastal views through the trees are wonderful and the hike culminates on a great walk along the beach. You will be rewarded with wonderful views and ice cold drinks when you arrive at Las Animas. The water taxi trip back to Boca is 60 pesos. (more or less!)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Away from the madding crowd.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Costs $20US for rd trip on water taxi, but if you go on a weekday it is not so crowded. Good services.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Las Animas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Playa Las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Las Animas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Playa Las Animas to your Saves list