We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling trip” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Las Animas

Playa Las Animas
South Shores, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for isolation, try this beach to the south of Puerto Vallarta, only accessible by boat.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Snorkeling trip”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Trash all over. Not clean at all. I don't know if it was the chicken my son ate, but that night he became very ill. Had to take him to the dr at the resort.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    82
    23
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“I want to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the place to relax. My finest memory of Puerto Vallarta involves taking the bus to Boca de Tomatlan, haggling a price for a launcha, and spending all day on the beach of Las Animas. It was the first time I got prawns with the heads on them, but it was part of the experience!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great White Sandy Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a great beach to spend the day. Go parasailing and relax on the white sand and clear water.
Restaurants are good as well.
Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
1 review
“Los Conos Restaurant - Las Animas Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Great Family Paradise Beach, water is blue, clear and perfect tempature for swimming. It is surrounded by palm trees and greenery everywhere. The waiters at Los Conos Restaurant went above and beyond and were extremely curtious. Great place to enjoy your own private beach, we went first week of December there were only about a dozen other people - We loved it and are going back for Spring Break.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The boat ride there is terrific !! The beach is nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A few good resturants. Isolated. Good secluded beach and great for a quiet day and away from P.V. I like it !! I love Yelapa better but the distance is further and the boat ride longer. Make sure your Boat KNOWS what time to pick you up !!! and maybe get a one way ticket so that if another boat comes you Could take it back to PV and not have a non valid round trip with your boat that you came in. OH , if your boat goes very slow and another boat offers to have you jump aboard...do jump aboard ...DO..because they are running out of gas and the other boat is 'rescuing" you . This happened to me. Make sure you go on a boat with life preservers and don't smoke on the trip on ANY boat because they spill fuel and you do not want to blow up. ( It's rude to blow up passengers because you are smoking. ) Do take a jacket or wrap for the trip back, it gets very breezy in the late afternoon and you will be chilly. Bring pesos. Hang ON to your camera so that it does not go overboard. Get a seat on the Shady side of the boat so you don't get too much sun. Have fun !! It is an adventure.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Las Animas also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to Playa Las Animas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Las Animas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.