We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Model Starwood Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunsational Savings
Ranked #30 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Model Starwood Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Here for a work trip and had a very positive stay. The hotel staff and guest services were excellent -- really a model for what I would expect at a Starwood resort property and much better than what I've experienced in the U.S. at similar conference hotels/ resorts. The staff in the restaurant remembered my name every day, in particular Elio. The outdoor staff were consistently attentive. Grecia in conference services graciously helped with some special requests related to my work trip. Also the wifi signal was strong all in nearly every part of the hotel and grounds. The only improvement I would make is to the rooms and elevators. The a/c system seemed old in the guest rooms and non-existent in the elevators. They both seemed musty instead of having the fresh Westin smell that exists in the lobby area. But that maybe this is to be expected given in a humid/tropical location. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view and balcony. Ask for a room on a high floor for a great view of the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, we appreciate your loyalty.

We also thank your feedback, because constructive support from our guests is extremely important to us when trying to improve our quality and take measures in those areas which so require.

We will be happy to receive you back soon!

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    435
    169
    79
    46
See reviews for
228
488
58
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I really, really wanted to like this place but alas it was not meant to be. This hotel is like a pig with lipstick on. Don't get me wrong; pigs are not totally without virtue - it is where bacon comes from, but at the same time pigs are still pigs. This hotel has redeeming value in certain areas but the net-net is that this hotel isn't bacon, it is more like headcheese. When you think, "Westin" you think upscale and maybe even luxury. This hotel's best days are behind them. They are in desperate need of refurbishing. Let me break it down:

Room: The first room we got was dirty. Stains on the armchair and a layer of filth on a mini-bar that hasn't been used in what I guess is years. We got another room which was only about 10% less gross. Same filth on mini-bar and this armchair had grey colored stains instead of black like the previous room. Lots of rust on the metal parts of the bathtub. Someone else's hair on the sink counter top. We also had ants in our room. Hotel bed was not very "heavenly" as Westin purports them to be, but more like purgatory in terms of comfort. The furniture in my room was falling apart too. The night stand wobbled horribly because it was missing a piece and the lamps were lopsided.

Pool: The pool was nice but it needed a good scrubbing . I hate seeing settled dirt in the crevices and some of the tiles were missing. A little more chlorine would be nice too. Usually when you go to pools you have a faint scent of it lingering but not here, so it made me wonder how clean the water actually was.

Staff: The best thing about this place was the staff. From waitstaff to facilities, everyone was kind and welcoming. Kudos.

Food: The food at El Palomar was really good. I don't usually expect much of a breakfast buffet but it was not too shabby and we had dinner there too. The arrachera steak was delicious.

General thoughts: It could have been the time of year we went, but this place needs more pest abatement. I got bit twice by mosquitoes within 5 minutes of being in the lobby. Watch out for geckos in your room. Watch out for the birds that want to eat your food if you are dining outdoors, including the pool. They are aggressive as hell and will literally eat food off your plate. I watched a bird do it to another guest that turned her back. Stock up on snacks and drinks at the OXXO market across the street. The lobby area has no AC so be prepared to be sticky once you are out of your room.

Conclusion: If you get a good deal on a room here, like the Marina area, and don't mind some grossness, then stay. If you are old like me and paid good money to stay at an upscale place that should pay attention to the details then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

I appreciate your feedback about your experience in our hotel, please accept our sincere apologies.
We really feel bad, that we have not met your expectations. Because our main goal is to make our guests have a refreshing stay.
We will definitely make an action plan with our department housekeeping, in order to avoid this type of situation for our future guests; thank you for your help in sharing your opinion.
We are happy that you enjoyed the food at "El Palmar"
We have plan of renovation of some areas of the hotel which you can enjoy during your next stop in Puerto Vallarta.
We hope to receive you in the near future to recover your trust.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It was our first time in Puerto Vallarta, and I'm glad we chose Westin. This property is not new, but it is very well maintained. The hotel is very clean; the entrance and the lobby are so inviting; the pool was sparkling (contrary to other reviews). Our room was clean and pretty, with 2 kings, and a balcony, overlooking the bay (we were placed on the 9th floor, one of the starwood preferred floors- it pays to be a starwood member!); the AC was strong (you need it in the humid mexican weather). We did not swim on the beach, though, but it was still very clean (the waters did not look swimmable; take one of the beach tours instead). The staff are all very friendly; special mention to Hugo at the entrance, who gave us tips on the ins and outs of the city. The hotel is very convenient in location; it is a short taxi ride to/from the airport (65 pesos, up to you if you want to tip); and for those adventurous like us, we took the bus the whole time we were in PV (7.50 pesos each way per person; the Mexicans were all very friendly and courteous; we never felt unsafe), which stops right in front of the hotel (very convenient!). There is also a convenience store right in front if you want to buy some stuff (and you can pay in US dollars, and they'll give you mexican pesos for change- very convenient if you don't have pesos (tip: do not exchange dollars at the airport, you'll get better rates at money exchanges; and if you exchange at a bank they would need your passport). The food at the restaurant was also good (we did not have the buffett, though). The hotel is also walking distance to the Marina, with some restaurants and shops. All in all, we would stay in this property again if we're back in PV. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: sign up for starwood membership so you can be in a preferred floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank and appreciate all your comments about your satisfactory stay with us;
It is great to know that you have plans to return to this amazing paradise, but especially, that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again at our beautiful hotel.
We'll let Hugo knows the congratulations, to continue giving the best of him. and keep making our guests' stay memorable.
Once again, thank you for all your comments and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed at this resort a few times, and I must say it offers great value if you can get a room sale. This isn't 5 star, but very comfortable for the price, the food is good, not stellar, but better than a lot of hotels. The service is top notch, always aiming to please. You won't go wrong if you get this resort on sale.

PROS:
Comfortable beds
Spacious rooms with balcony (almost all have some sort of pool/ocean view)
Lots of pools! (Kids pools)
No LOUD party music pumping from speakers all day
Family Friendly
Great breakfast buffet with lots of options
Oceanside

CONS:
No long beaches to take a stroll along
Large property (some people like this)
A bit of a ways from Downtown Vallarta and amenities.
In Marina Area (not one of the most scenic areas in my opinion)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We are pleased to receive your feedback and more than happy to know that facilities of the hotel were to your liking.
We hope to host you soon to this beautiful paradise in Puerto Vallarta

Cordially,
Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed here for a few nights before heading to Majahuitas resort (which I can NOT recommend more highly). This hotel is great; the rooms are beautiful, modern and spacious and the views are lovely. The restaurant is overpriced and underwhelming in my opinion, but I am vegetarian and gluten free and overall pretty picky when it comes to food. The pools are nice and the view of the ocean is AMAZING but the actual beach wasn't too appealing. There are tennis courts, which I think is great, but it was WAY too hot when I was there in late May/early June. Definitely wasn't prepared for how hot and humid it was (and I'm from Arizona)! Finally, the gym was OK- great for cardio but the weights section wasn't great for women (not enough small weights).
I definitely recommend this hotel and the walk to the marina is nice too!
Have a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Kelly,

First of all, we want to thank you for visiting us a few days.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and that you liked the pools. Moreover, we thank you for your feedback, we will be considering them for an action plan.

Hopefully we can have you back with us to enjoy a cooler weather.

Best Regards,
Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san luis obispo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 5 days in June (off season) and the place was nearly empty. We booked here because we like Starwood properties and we are Starwood members. The upgrade to inclusive and having a suite with Royal Club access was well worth it as it included free internet and an additional area with dining options and drinks available close to the room.

We came to PV last year and stayed at the Grand Velas in Nueva Vallarta where we had a wonderful experience but the amazing truth is that in many ways the Westin was even better!

Firstly, if you like the idea of experiencing the town the Westin is centrally located just south of the airport. A $10 cab ride gets you anywhere you want to be in PV and if you want to ride the bus it costs next to nothing. Also, while not near the height of its glory to be certain there is still plenty to see and do at the Marina (at the hotels entrance) which will only get better as Carnival Cruises returns to PV soon. Get a cheap, but great, massage, charter a boat, or shop for silver or leather. There are some great finds if you know where to look.

Secondly, the beach area is second to none with multiple lagoons, soft sand, and calm waters. Saving chairs pool and beachside at the Velas always seemed to be a hassle while it is not even allowed here and doesn't seem to be necessary.

The food is not nearly as expansive or expensive as the Grand Velas (they are not in the same class). The food that you get however is always good and frequently delicious. Plan on having two or three good choices for any appetite and desire rather than ten. Rest assured it will hit the spot.

The staff was incredible. They really bent over backward to meet every need. They were more friendly and more focused on customer satisfaction than any hotel in this class and beyond. They worked around their SPA and fitness center being remodeled to ensure that fitness and SPA needs were taken care of in other ways for instance. Room service was always a breeze. The front desk always had good recommendations for things to see and do. Even the beach venders seemed to be kept pretty well in check allowing them to offer fishing charters, parasailing, jet skis, or the typical Mexican "crafts" without causing too much discomfort.

On the downside, who the Hell uses a double bed anymore? It was OK for my daughter, who is thirteen, but for adults? Please.

Also, we booked this trip through Delta Vacations. Everything about the experience was perfection.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Bsmithslo,

First of all, we thank you for your loyalty to Starwood.
We are very happy to read your good reviews, and we know that your stay was nice.
Our rooms with access to the Royal Club are sensational, and we are glad to know that you could enjoy one.

Our staff will always give the best of themselves, to create an unforgettable experience for you.
Our beach is something that all our guests enjoy, along with all facilities.
The Spa and fitness studio, will be completed very soon, to greet you on your next visit.

Hope to see you soon.
Best Regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

If you are looking for the perfect pool destination, this hotel comes close. An amazing pool area with a separate pool for kids. An abundance of palm trees provide plenty of shade to keep the water at a perfect temperature. A nice variety of snacks is available poolside, along with a swim-up bar. For those who prefer to sit by the ocean, plenty of loungers are available there as well. The internet works well, including poolside and to the edges of the property. A couple of things to be aware of: The fitness center is open only from 6am to 10pm and was stifling hot at opening time; and there is a charge for in-room coffee.

Room Tip: The rooms with a Jacuzzi on the balcony are definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo B, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Zelophehad,

First of all thank you very much for choosing The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta for a few days of vacation. We are delighted to read your comments and know that your stay was enjoyable. All our team do his best to make your stay unforgettable.

Glad you enjoyed the pools and all facilities.
Our fitness studio is open from 6 am to 22 pm. But over night or even midnight if you request the service. Hopefully for your next visit you can enjoy the fitness studio, longer.

best regards,
Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.