We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference a year makes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a difference a year makes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Recently stayed back at the Sheraton Vallarta after a year without visiting Mexico. I really must say the renovation of the lobby is fantastic. An amazing welcome as always. The views from the Balconies of the rooms are stunning, the food was great and the staff were so attentive (Hotels in London take notice)

Overall a fantastic Trip and fantastic Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your preference.

We are very happy to know that you liked and enjoyed our lobby remodeling.

Our company cares about providing quality services and spaces for our guests to enjoy them to the fullest.

We hope to visit us again to this your home in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    366
    151
    74
    39
See reviews for
179
405
47
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were lucky to have 3 days of plenty of sunshine during October! Westin Puerto Vallarta is located at the Marina, with nice options of Restaurant nearby. For us, was the best area in town.
Location: Very close to airport! Safe area with nice restaurants in the neighborhood. Marina is just across the street with a lot of option to rent a boat to Marieta Islands (must go). There is an OXXO (like 7eleven) in front of the hotel and a Starbucks within walking distance. The beach is not the best, but still nice to sun bath!
Facilities: The pool is fantastic. Huge area with nice spots to be. Gym is also another positive of the hotel with large area and nice equipment’s. Lobby was under renovation, but we saw at the checkout. Nice renew but still very hot with no AC. Parking lot is FREE and big.
Service: Spa was the negative, since we tried to have a massage but they preferred to have a kind of course while we wanted the service. Waiters are always ready to serve you, but it could have 2 mores to have no chance of wait to be served. Special thanks to the Teodulo for the empty refrigerator to accommodate some of our GF and Lactose Free items. The towels were always available by an employer in a Pool House.
Food: As other reviews, I always like to point out the outstanding service related to my GLUTEN ALLERGY. Even with no Special GF Menu, they always gave us special attention for our requests related to food. Thanks Westin Team for the great Gluten Free food!
Room: Nice ocean view and large size. Negative for the 2 double beds instead of a King. Bathroom is huge, with shower and bathtub separated. Nice amenities.
Price: A bit overpriced as most of the Hotels in front of the beach. Drinks should have the price reviewed, it’s so expensive!
Tip: Don’t miss Marieta Islands!

Room Tip: Ask for higher rooms to have ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Especially thank the description that will help more people to know in detail what they can expect when staying with us.

Regarding the air conditioning at the lobby and spa appointments, we have taken the necessary steps to resolve it.

We wish to have you as our guest soon.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a little nervous prior to checking into this hotel as we had read some not so great reviews. This property exceeded our expectations. We had a room on the 12th floor and paid for access to the club lounge. The room was spacious and very clean and housekeeping twice daily kept it immaculate. We found all staff to be so friendly and accommodating.
We travel with a child that has severe food allergies and all restaurant staff were helpful.
The club lounge closed after our first day due to low season but we were able to use the main restaurant which afforded us even more choice. Amazing value for money.
Pool area was great with lots of kids pool toys to rent. Some work was being done around the hotel but we never felt overwhelmed with noise. Miguel at the in house tour office was wonderful and booked us an amazing trip to see the sights of Puerto Vallarta.
We would recommend The Westin.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 12th floor - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate every comment that we get from your recent stay at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Even more, to know that you had a memorable westin experience.

We hope to host you very soon at this beautiful paradise in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were on our honeymoon and were greeted with chocolate dipped strawberries. GREAT first impression! Everyone was very professional and although the hotel could use a little TLC it certainly does the job if you are in search of some nice couple time. We opted to pay for the upgrade to the Grand Deluxe room with the jacuzzi on the balcony and we are so glad we did.

Each day as we returned very achy from all the sight seeing and walking around we would fill up the tub and enjoy the beautiful view. Our air conditioner worked perfectly and the inclusion of a room dehumidifier was a nice touch. The bed was quite comfortable with nice freshly laundered bedding. The workout area was bigger than at most hotels but we wished it stayed open later. The breakfast buffet and beach club restaurant had pretty tasty food.

Although we really liked the room and the hotel in general there are some things that we were not crazy about. In room internet usage at $15 per day, perhaps a bit much? If not free altogether perhaps pricing this at half that rate would be more tolerable.

I realize that most of the resort is outdoors but is there a way to pretreat the property or have bug zappers to decrease the amount of mosquitoes snacking on us while at the pool or on the 3rd floor lounge area? We both left the resort with many painful bites.

Marina Vallarta, although no fault of the resort is very boring and we opted to cab into town each day. Perhaps a better resort for those more interested staying in bed, lounging around by the pool, or working on your tan.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Grand Deluxe for the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate your feedback and inform you that we have a pest control program but we will talk about mosquitos with our team to take the necessary measures to eliminate it.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros,
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't expect typical 'The Westin' standards, this hotel has seen better days! It has a lot of potential and could be amazing, it just needs some TLC to bring it back to its former glory.

It has a beautiful large pool with lots of sunbeds and the rooms are quite nice. However the customer service leaves a lot to be desired (we had to move rooms 3 times - one of the times was because water was dripping through the light, another because the aircon didn't work...each time we were made to feel like a huge inconvenience and were not offered any help to move!)

Also one other thing to know - you are a decent taxi drive from the main town, The Westin is in quite an isolated area with lots of empty timeshare apartments around.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your important feedback; your opinion is very valuable for us.

Regarding the hotel, would like to comment that it is constantly being updated; in fact, the next week our guest could experience the renovation of the principal lobby.

On regard to the rooms, please accept our apologies for the inconvenients with the room; we assure you we had a meeting with the houskeeping and guest services departement to avoid this experiences to our future guest.

We hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you back in the beautiful Puerto Vallarta.

Best regards,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have been participating at a conference, and the Westin Hotel was used primary hotel for the event. It was a very good experience, and the hotel has got all required facilities including great pool area, spa, fitness center etc. Rooms were sizable with ocean view. Great room service, aircondition etc. I did not manage to check out the pool, but looked ok to me.

The only improvement area will be the internet. Why do you have to pay for this service. Must be included in the room charge.

I will not consider the hotel as perfect for family vacation, but for business it's very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for you comments regarding your last visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We specially appreciate, you sharing your experience as a business customer because actually, the hotel have beautiful areas for meetings, expositions and even more.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hope to have an opportunity to host you soon.

Cordially,
Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Jalisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at this resort. It is beautiful with wonderful views, gardens, pool, and beach. The bed was very comfortable (sometimes hard to find in Mexico. We purchased a package which included breakfast, which was a buffet with many choices of great food. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our ocean view room had a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriela B, Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your last visit to The Westin Resort and Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We appreciate your loyalty towards our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon, to this your home in Puerto Vallarta.

Cordially,

Eduardo Ballesteros
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.