We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Spa and Resort Puerto Vallarta....DANGER CONSTRUCTION ZONE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Cypress_Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Westin Spa and Resort Puerto Vallarta....DANGER CONSTRUCTION ZONE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Day two and three, constant jack hammering in the lobby from 9:00 - 19:00. Managment response..a room notice offering to move anyone to a quieter room. Unfortunately, they couldn´t move the pool, the restaurant or the bar! Playing obnoxiously loud music at the pool, to try and drown the sounds shows inginuity but if I wanted to "relax" in a construction zone, I would have chosen to stay in one. We chose the Westin of all the available hotels, for a nice honeymoon. I wouldn´t recommend it for a honeymoon or wedding.

We had to minimize contact with restaurant waitstaff because some want to share how miserable their life is...

The hotel obviously doesn´t have a floor or area just for honeymooners. We were serenaded by screaming misbehaving children from the next room. In this country, children are encouraged to yell and scream in public places such as the hotel corridors, outside rooms. I love kids, raised three of my own but didn´t want to listen to them from our room.

Lots of signs saying no saving pool chairs and umbrellas, the hotel doesn´t appear to have an implemented policy to prevent it.

What works: wonderful food created in a clean pool side grill and bar. the oppurtunity to hire someone to give you a massage while the ocean water laps nearby.

An email inquiry ahead of time failed to communicate we could rent a kayak next door, at the sister property, Club Regina, a timeshare. They share the pool with the Westin(you know when they are saving seats, they have different towels).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, General Manager at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience in your visit to our hotel. We value your feedback and understand how you feel.

After listening to our clients we decided to change the floors in the lobby area in order to renovate the welcome arrival; it is going to be short period of time with noise during the day but it will be worth it.

It is a great idea to have a honeymoon area in our hotel, I will revise the alternatives; thank you for the suggestion.

Thank you for your comments and your business

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    386
    155
    78
    40
See reviews for
193
426
49
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful. I traveled the world and this one is one of my favored.It is conveniently located and peaceful. We had a great Mother/Daughter vacation at this property. The staff was amazing. Everything was above and beyond. Go see it for yourself. I give it a 5 star category Hotel. Beautiful and don't forget to book Vallarta Adventures trip to Jelapa and Marrieta both worth a while. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, we are honor to be your favorite hotel and we are looking forward to have you back in the near future.

We are very proud of our staff, they do our best to make you feel special and renovated.

We appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although the Westin Resort and Spa was one of the first properties built in Marina Vallarta, it has not lost it's charm, nor it's integrity. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well air conditioned, and boast a lovely view of Banderas Bay. August is hot and humid, there's no question about it, but with the wonderful pool areas, and the beach just steps beyond, you are sure to find the perfect place to cool off and relax with your chosen beverage. We arrived on our 35th wedding anniversary, and were delighted to find that we had a beautiful gift of chocolate dipped strawberries awaiting us in the room. As members of the Starwood Preferred Guest Program, we stayed on 12th floor, and had access to the Starwood lounge, which offers a vast array of items for breakfast, and again in the late afternoon at cocktail time. A nice perk! We dined in the hotel restaurant, [El Palmar] for dinner the night of our arrival, and again for lunch the following day. Great food! We were disappointed that the signature restaurant only opens on weekends, but again, with the weather so hot, sitting under a large palapa styled roof, with only fans for comfort, may not what we really wanted when enjoying a fine dining experience. We had a rental car, so the distance to town was of no consequence to us, but for those without a car, the taxi fares can mount quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all Congratulation for your 35th wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta to celebrate

It is wonderful that you enjoyed the view of the bay from your balcony; no matter where you are you always have an spectacular panorama.

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, very well maintained and clean with a very nice pool area under palmtrees. The location is quiet and nice, but it takes you 20-25 min to get to downtown by car. The hotel's small beach is quite modest compared to all the beaches around - which are however mostly not accesible by public. What we did not like is the pricing of the breakfast buffet (285 MXP) with mostly tasteless fruits (completely strange as every local market offers much better quality for a couple of pesos - do they import their fruits from the U.S.?). In general, the hotel seems to try to compensate their reasonable Internet tariffs by charging each and every detail - one especially ridiculous example is theat they rent inflatable water toys for 100 MXP per day (I am sure you can buy them for a similar price in every supermarket). Staff was friendly and helpful but was continuously ignoring that we speak Spanish fluently (not all guests are Gringos, verdad?). To summarize: Hotel is ok and can be recommended - neither more nor less.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your experience in our hotel. We are happy that you liked it and definitely we will do an action plan to improve our buffet breakfast.

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Upon arrival unpack your swim suit, shorts & a top take off the shoes and put your flip flops on.
Go to the beautiful pool area get your fluffy beach towels find a lounge chair (there are hundreds) order a margarita and RELAX.
For 7 days I enjoyed 4 hours by the pool and an hour in the fully equipped gym each day.

Personal Observations: No LEAKS in the lobby! each evening I dressed up (took my flip flops off and put on my sneakers) caught the bus into town for 65 cents and enjoyed the extensive nightlife/restaurants of PV. Wonderful housekeeping. The 5th Floor housekeeper kept my room supplied with towels, wash cloths and little bottles of shampoo/conditioner and body lotion. I left a few dollars each day for her efforts.

You are at a beach resort leave the lap top/tablet/smartphone at home. If you need the internet there are internet cafes in town which will hook you up for a $1.00 an hour.

The OXXO store across the street from the hotel is a good source of drinks and snacks.
A WALLMART is nearby. I bought a short sleeve at WALLMART since it was cheaper then sending my dirty shirt to the hotel laundry.

Like every other reviewer I found the staff to be very gracious.

Finally, notice how many reviewers are repeat visitors! Me, I already booked my trip for October.

Room Tip: The Zona Rosa is located 4 KM from the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty; we are delight it to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful hotel.

I love your suggestion of go to the pool, get beach towels, lounge chair and relax, it sound so refreshing and this is our objective when you come to The Westin…relax.

We are looking forward to have you back next October, I am sure you will love it again

Thank you for your preference, we appreciate your business

General Manager
Eduardo Ballesteros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of vacationing at the Westin Puerto Vallarta for 8 days at the end of July where the staff was wonderful and the grounds were lovely. The resort was well maintained, 3 gorgeous pools, soft sand beaches and warm ocean with beach food/drink service. Our stay was a fabulous experience! Roberto the waiter, so warm and caring, Manuel the Activities Director whom had a vivacious personality and the ability to engage guests in pool and athletic games, Carlos, the beach side bartender who's passion was "family" and Ishmael the Palapa restaurant manager, very professional and caring toward his staff.
We loved our stay so much that we would like to return to the Westin Puerto Vallarta for our Christmas vacation. We fell in love with the staff, the warm family atmosphere, the lovely grounds, beautiful beach, sparkling pools, and scrumptious food. Especially the corn chowder with white chocolate truffle at the Palapa restaurant, to die for! We will be working our return stay over the Christmas vacation around the Thurs/Fri/Sat schedule of your specialty restaurant we loved the food and service so much!
Thank you for making our vacation wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted it to learn that you enjoyed your vacation at our beautiful resort, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

We are very proud of our staff, they are very committed to provide memorable and personalized service; we will share your nice comments to Manuel, Roberto and Carlos, they will be very happy.

Thank you for your business and we really hope to see you back for Christmas.

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Without a lot of planning, my family ended up taking advantage of an offer from Travelocity for a combination of airfare and hotel. We had a direct flight from San Francisco to Puerto Vallarta which was very convenient. Just three hours and forty five minutes each way which is closer than Hawaii. The Westin Resort and Spa was in a good location for us. We enjoyed being on the ocean, near the Marina, and within a $6 to $8 taxi ride of the town of Puerto Vallarta. The hotel itself is a nice structure with a good layout. The pools and bars are nice with some great people there to take care of you. Our room was nice and had a sixth floor view of the pools, ocean and a slight view of the town. I'll attach some photos so you get a feel for it. The only trouble we had was with getting the room cleaned each day. One day they missed it, and several other days they were quite late in the afternoon - which was inconvenient for us. But overall, I would say it is a good hotel for a Westin and a nice place to hang out when visiting PV.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pools and ocean. I'd recommend being up a bit higher so you can see a bit fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta for your recent vacations; we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the delay in cleaning your room; I will follow up on this matter to avoid this type of experience in the future.

We are looking forward to have you back in the near future

Our very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.