We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We only stayed for one night but it was quiet and the pools were really nice. In high season, it might be loud (it definitely has the capacity to be, with sound systems around the pool bars), but we didn't see it.

We upgraded to the Royal Beach Club for $25 and it was worth every penny: the food is great and really doesn't count as "appetizers". So, two of us pretty much got "all inclusive" for that low additional cost. An additional mention goes to our waiter, Eloy, who was attentive without being intrusive. Major kudos goes to the fact that he noticed my harassment from mosquitoes and quietly provided bug spray to the table. Full marks! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are enchanted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Royal Beach Club is an excellent option to have a memorable experience. We are very proud of Eloy, we will share your comments with him and recognize his effort.

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    348
    149
    74
    37
See reviews for
168
387
46
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cave Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our first trip to PV, we went with the always upscale and reliable Westin. We are frequent business travelers and so we got an upgraded room which was pretty nice. Clean, comfortable, wonderful patio on the top floor with a hot tub... But the jets on the hot tub didn't work.
Our favorite thing about relaxing vacations to Mexico is the pool - including comfort, service, and food. Only comfort was met. The service was barely adequate. The food was TERRIBLE. Inexcusably bad. Our ceviche tasted and looked like canned tuna fish. Disgusting.
The spa too was exceptionally subpar. Basically no amenities, no toiletries, not even soap in the showers.
The doormen were outstanding, however. One guy even tracked down my sweatshirt after I'd left it in the cab the previous day.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest

First of all please accept our apologies for your food and beverage experience in our resort. I definitely would make an action plan to improve our menu.

Your feedback is very valuable and gives the opportunity to get better, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta to recover your trust.

My very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Westin hotel located in the marina of Puerto Vallarta, is an older hotel but it has a special charm in Mexican style which you will not find in newer hotels. Older does not mean bad when it comes to the Westin hotel, it mean charm and beauty. The rooms are beautiful with marble floors and very clean. The bathroom is ample so you never feel like a stuffed sardine. The bed at the Westin, is by far the best bed I have ever slept in at any hotel with clean linens and a bedspread that makes you want to curl up with your loved one!

During our stay at the hotel Westin back in April, we felt comfortable in the hotel, the room felt inviting. The gardens at the hotel are lovely and well kept, enticing you to spend time taking soaking up the sun. We were there in high season, the hotel was booked up full and yet it did not feel like it was full. You could enjoy any part of the hotel and not be on top of another person, you had your space to enjoy, so I could imagine it must be during low season.

The only negative thing which we encountered and most people would agree that the hotel should allow people to use free of charge are the cabana beds and I hope Westin staff read this review. If the hotel would allow its guest to use them freely without charge, it would make that hotel wonderful. Regardless of that, I would recommend the Westin hotel in Puerto Vallarta to anybody who wants to enjoy a nice hotel, pleasant staff who are willing to help. It’s a hotel that you feel comfortable being there as we were. I would definitely book this hotel again if I am in Puerto Vallarta on another vacation!

Room Tip: Higher rooms offer more quietness and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your preference; we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and recognize the beauty of our design which is a unique one in Puerto Vallarta.

Our heavenly beds are wonderful and make you feel fresh and renovated for a new day.

I will consider your suggestion about Las Pergolas Beach Club, in the midtime I would like to inform you that the objective to rent the cabanas in this area is to provide exclusivity and on the other hand we have a second alternative “Arrecifes” beach club with no charge.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, and your new home in Mexico.

My very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We chose this resort for our first time in PV as we have stayed in Westin hotels in may other cities throughout the world. Although the room was quite satisfactory the furniture was a bit dated. The general ambience of the resort was that it needed refurbishment to bring it up to the standard of other Westin hotels.
The resort handbook in the room gave little information about the resort facilities and their locations. The resort was undergoing some renovations which were noisy during the day. The Club facility and the signature restaurant overlooking the beach was closed during our stay, limiting the dining choices. No explanations were given.
Staff were friendly and efficient at mealtimes but our room was not cleaned til mid afternoon by housekeeping.
There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room but when we asked for replacements for the bottled water and tea bags in our second day, we were told we would have to pay for them! We found this unacceptable.
We found the food average and objected to drinks being served in plastic disposable cups at lunchtime and at the beach bar in the evening.
Considering this was not the most expensive resort in the area, it generally represented value for money, especially if all facilities had been available during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your experience in our hotel, this information will help us to improve our facilities and services.

I would like to mention that we have a plan to refresh and renovate areas that I am sure will have a very nice impact to our future guests.

I hope to have the opportunity to meet you in your next visit to Puerto Vallarta

Be well

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Westin in PVR is outstanding in every respect. I spent a week there for business and pleasure. While the restaurants and bars are a bit on the high expense side, there is a small store like a 7/11 right across the street for various sundries, snacks and alcohol. A short walk to the Marina will present many restaurants with various types of food and quality. A bus from the hotel for about 65 US cents will takes you downtown.

You won't be disappointed in the hotel, location and area. It seems very safe. If you find a 'Hot Deal' for this hotel, you've got it made!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Gerente at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, you new home in Mexico.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience and we appreciate your feedback; we are looking forward to have back.

Be well

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Westin Resort and Spa Puerto Vallarta. I love the place. Let me begin by saying that I have stayed in many hotels in North America and Europe. I have no idea how some people on here provide negative feedback; perhaps they are used to living in their 10,000sqft palace with butlers, maids etc but for me this hotel and it's employees provide the ultimate in service, relaxation and precisely exactly what we needed for 11 days as we escaped our busy lives.

My girlfriend is from Europe and has never been to Mexico but was excited to see the culture of Puerto Vallarta. We arrived to br greeted by Pedro who is the most welcoming and genuine person around. He should certainly be in Management with his professionalism and positive attitude. The entire staff are wonderful; from the pool servers to the restaurant servers to the housekeepers to the Lobby Bar bartender. All personable, pleasant and enjoy a laugh.

The hotel itself is functional, attractive and tidy. The lobby is incredibly attractive when you walk through it and you will undoubtedly get a 'buenos dias' or a 'todo bien?' from someone when you exit or enter the hotel. The rooms are terrific; plenty of room, tastefull designed with terracotta touches and beautiful traditional tiling. The bathroom is also spacious with a stand up shower and a bathtub and again tastefully culturally designed. We were on the 8th floor which gives expansive views over the immaculate grounds, the pool and Banderas Bay. I believe all rooms share the same views that we did. We woke every morning to sit on the patio to talk about the day ahead and take in the great views. We also were very impressed at the amount of staff that were out on the grounds (by 8am) cutting the grass or pruning the palm trees and the guys that were in or around the pool each morning cleaning it for the day ahead. The grounds are immaculate and you will notice this. The pool is a dream. The swim-up bar adds to that dream. The beach isn't the biggest beach you will ever see but the pool is a dream, we never went to the beach:) The restaurants at the hotel are nice, not the cheapest on the planet but nice meals and again the staff are great. I had some very nice conversations with them and you will too. I was very impressed with the housekeeping team. They were thorough, communicative and pleasant. On two occasions we returned to our room to discover a note had been left by the housekeeper letting us know that we had a valuable item left exposed in the room and to place it in the safe when we returned. How often would that happen elsewhere?

We used the fitness centre on numerous occasions and that also was.......perfect. Numerous treadmills, numerous everything really and a great weightroom with great fitness machines. If you are into using the gym while away you will not be disappointed with this one. I think this is the best hotel gym if I have stayed at. There is also tennis courts next to the gym which could be used for a small fee.

The location of the hotel is also perfect. Located in Marina Vallarta, you are 5 minutes from the airport, approximately 30 minutes from downtown and 20-30 minutes from Nuevo Vallarta. We took the bus everywhere. 6.5 pesos to downtown aboard the Mexican Massage (you will understand when you are on the bus) but well worth the journey. We also took the bus to Bucerias and Sayulita which is 45-60 minutes away but again an enjoyable journey. The bus stop is outside the OXXO shop across the street. Easy peasy.

The Marina itself is also easy to walk to, offering great restaurants, sports bars, real estate offices (many) and tour operators. We found everything we needed and if you need a recommendation for dinner, try Victor's and Bancha's; two Mexican eateries with great food and better service.

Back to the hotel. If you are wondering where to stay in Puerto Vallarta, stay here. It is ever so welcoming and an ideal place to relax. You will be impressed with 2 things; how well the staff look after you and how well the staff look after you. I can't wait to return and nor can my girlfriend. She is talking about going back in June!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear guest

First of all thank you very much for your loyalty; we appreciate your business.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta.

We are very proud of Pedro our doorman who is always so professional and friendly with our guests, he is our Westin service ambassador and definitely we will share your comments with him.

We hope to see you in the near future

My very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the PV Westin for the second time in the last year, and had great experiences both trips. The hotel is stylish, immaculate, with attentive staff and every amenity that we would want (gym, tennis, great pools). It is also located in Marina Vallarta, which is close enough to the airport to be convenient ($70 peso cab ride), but far enough away not to notice it. Both times we were in well decorated rooms with wonderful ocean views (the higher the better, of course) and lovely ocean breezes, with generous balconies. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, and have done so to many of our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in Puerto Vallarta in our beautiful property; we are looking forward to have back in the near future.

Be well

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.