We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Westin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Apache Junction, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Westin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my 4th stay in the past year at the Westin. I love the hotel! The staff is fantastic! The rooms are great, especially the bed! The location is perfect, beach access is great, very close to Marina and very short taxi ride to old town Puerto Vallarta. I visit Puerto Vallarta often and the Westin is the only place I stay!!!!!

Room Tip: The top two floors have awesome views, but all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

We are very glad to read that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations and that you feel like at home.

Once again thank you for your nice comments! We really look forward to welcome you back in a really near future.

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    377
    150
    77
    39
See reviews for
190
416
49
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Twenty-five members of our family, including 14 children and teenagers, enjoyed a week at the Westin Resort & Spa. The staff, the waitpersons, the food/beverages, and the pool/ocean areas were excellent. The children and teenagers were treated with kindness and respect. Although the rooms, including the beds, were comfortable, they could use some renovation. Rather outdated and the lamps didn't all work. However, we were in our rooms very little so it wasn't a problem. The bathrooms are large and well-equipt. It was quiet in the room.

Room Tip: All our rooms were on the 8th floor with great views of the pool area and ocean. Elevators were rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and for choosing our hotel for your vacations. It is true that our hotel is perfect and very convenience for families and couples so we are glad to hear it did meet your expectations. About the rooms, sorry for the inconvenient of the lamps, we will notify housekeeping and maintenance departments to check all the rooms, thank you for letting us now. However we do hope to welcome you back in a near future

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The wife and I stayed at the Westin for an all-inclusive trip. We have an amazing time. As expected, the service and people were wonderful and so friendly. The Westin is a huge resort so there are plenty of areas to relax and hang out at. They have two giant pools where you can enjoy swimming. We also made good use of the gym during our stay. Got a massage at their spa which was very nice. Their spa area is nothing impressive though. The best of part of this trip was the food and drinks (including alcohol) of course. We did the all-inclusive (AI) package so all foods, drinks, gratuities, wi-fi, and room service were paid for.

My expectations for the food were not very high, but boy was I wrong. The presentation of the food, the portion size, the freshness, and the taste were excellent. Only the steak and sea food restaurant is not included in the AI. We even ordered room service multiple times which was so nice. (Got a taste for how rich people travel) The only down side to an AI trip for me is that I ate way too much. I have no self control when it comes to food so I just kept eating every couple hours! Now I'm working hard to lose those extra pounds!

Going out to the city of Puerto Vallarta is easy because there is a bus stop right across the street from the Westin.

TRAVEL TIP!!! If its your first time going, don't get duped at the airport like we did. As soon as you walk out of the terminal, you'll be bombarded with sales guys for activities, other resorts, etc. Just say no thanks to all of them and keep walking outside. Then you'll be hit with another wall of taxi folks selling a cab ride for $18 US which is roughly 225 pesos - Don't take it!! You need to walk out of the airport over the bridge and then take a cab ride from there. We found out at the hotel that a cab ride only costs 50 pesos which is what we paid for our ride back to the airport.

All in all, this was a wonderful trip and we would definitely come back to the Westin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director of Sales at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your great comments about your recent stay at The Westin Puerto Vallarta, your detailed feedback and for the tips you gave for future travelers.

We are glad to know you specially enjoyed the food and drinks during your stay. We will inform our F&B team of your wonderful comments regarding their food, as they will be really pleased to hear them.

We enjoy creating life-long memories for our guests, so please come back soon. We are waiting for you.!

Kind regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have stayed here on several occassions and have never been displeased.
The rooms have a beautiful view of the expansive pool area. Comfortable bed with quality sheets and towels. The grounds are kept in prestine
condition.
Easy access to the Marina area shopping and restaurants. Friendly accommodating staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am pleased to hear that you are a loyal customer and that you keep coming back. We are delighted to read that you really enjoyed the views and the pool area.
Hope to see you both again soon

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Quick check-in process
Very close to the airport
Easy parking
Lovely view
Nice clean rooms
Excellent water pressure
Wifi isn't free but it is very fast
Friendly efficient staff

Rooms service food was awful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments; we will inform the Food and Beverage manager about you experience with our room service department. However we really hope that overall you had a lovely stay, and that you were able to enjoy Puerto Vallarta and the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My stay at The Westin was very good this year. The room had a balcony and overlooked the ocean. The bathroom is very nice. The shower has good water pressure. Rooms have Wi-Fi, but you need to pay for it 184 pesos a day. There is a bathrobe. The beach has beach chairs and umbrellas and they serve you lunch. The staff was very nice. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our Heavenly Shower created to the best of your benefit and comfort. Thank you again for recommending us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach & New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The symbol of Puerto Vallarta that most travelers are accustomed to seeing in travel advertisements for this location is the magnificent crown sitting atop the main Cathedral in town center. However, the real "Crown Jewel" in Puerto Vallarta, is without question, the The Westin Regina Resort and Spa under the management of Eduardo Ballesteros and his expert staff.
After having spent the last seven weeks at The Westin, with only one week remaining in our annual PV escape from New York's harsh winter, I fell compelled to write this review.
The hotel accommodations are superb with each room having an ocean view, the staff are focused, hard working, competent and aim to please, the restaurant's food quality and service are excellent, expertly equipped gym and spa facilities are available, the pools are pleasantly temperature controlled as is the outdoor jacuzzi, the ground's foliage is expertly maintained as are the Pergola and beach areas. In addition, the availability of wi-fi throughout the hotel, offers guests the capacity to communicate from the beach, pool area, lobby, restaurants and guest rooms.
If you are looking for an expertly managed resort that offers guests an extraordinary array of amenities, great service, pampering and a superb location you must stay at The Westin Regina Resort and Spa in Puerto Vallarta....... we have for the last nineteen years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest,

There are no words to describe how thrilled we all are to read such wonderful comment. It is an honor for us to know that we exceeded your expectations regarding our facilities and our hard working staff, especially after nineteen years. We like to see how loyal you are to us and its priceless. In this case the Crown jewel of the Westin would be you.
Our home is your home; we will be waiting for your next year visit, as always a great pleasure.

Our best Regards

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Media 8, Inc., Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.