We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re: kids pool/playground/weddings and food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Re: kids pool/playground/weddings and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed next door at the club regina but spent a lot of time at the Westin side so I thought I would comment on the pool / children's facilities and Resturant

The kids pool was really nice and where we spent most of our time. I would have preferred that it didn't have the 4ft drops as a kids pool but I suppose the varying depths appeal to older kids too.

The playground was basic but enough fun for my little guy. Slide/swings/ladder. They had items available to paint for a fee. The activities lady at the palpa was delightful to talk to.

I didn't prefer how they had all these inflatables out by the kids pool to taunt the kids but yet you had to pay $10 a day to use them. A bit of a nightmare for parents. Would be better if they were in the activities hut or at least tied down / with a sign that there is a fee. I watched constantly kids freaking out that they couldn't play with them and parents fight them away from the distraction. Not what a parent wants to deal with on a vacation I'm sure.

The Westin pool bar / Resturant had decent menu selections but I found most items to be really overpriced for Mexico and especially for pool food. Ie $15 for a chicken Cesar wrap and another almost $6 for French fries!! Yet the sandwiches and paninis come with the fries? And the kids menu reads that it comes with fries and a fruit with chocolate but it arrived without the fruit and when i inquired i was advised that its either the fries or the fruit. Odd. We didn't experience the buffet breakfast at the hotel but I hear its over $20pp whereas at the regina next door it's currently $13 for 2 people! I guess cause its a Westin they can get away with charging more for no apparent reason. I will give credit to the chicken panini with fries for only $15. Good deal and delicious. Great portion

We also witnessed a wedding while we were there and I have to say that it was probably one of the most beautiful destination wedding set ups I've ever seen of a resort. They turned the beach cabanas into little private sitting areas and brought in all kinds of lovely white furniture and details which made it serene. I'd totally consider it for a wedding!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments even though you stayed at the Regina. Your feedback is really valuable and we will work on the inflatable swimming toys and the restaurant.

We are glad to hear that you liked our settings and decorations of our beach area, Pergolas, it is indeed a beautiful place, scene to get married and why not, watch a beautiful sunset

Be well

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    366
    151
    74
    39
See reviews for
179
405
47
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel room had a beautiful view on floor 10, comfortable beds and very nice property. Good service throughout. Beware of 3rd person charges of $500 pesos a night. Breakfast costs $270 a person for the buffet and is limited. Marriott's buffet is much better and is a short walk away.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the views of your room and that you liked our property.

Regarding the buffet menu, I will definitely work with our Food and Beverage department to improve our services, thank you as your feedback is so valuable for us.

Be well

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property surrounding the hotel was very nice and well kept. The hotel and the room was clean. We got a great deal on hotwire for around $56 a night-so not at all disappointed. According to the lady at check-in the room was recently remodeled but showed some signs of wear and tear already. Furniture banged up and the safe didn't work. Minor details such as dried grout on the floor and caulk not cleaned up from the remodel was evident. That being said, I was still very pleased with the deal and everyone on the property was very friendly. The pool is great and open from 8am-9pm. My husband purchased the internet a couple times and is expensive, but works while you're out on the balcony-not so much in the room. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice-it is very pricey for breakfast though I think it was over 600 pesos for two people by time you add in a tip. We wandered over to the Regina and still had a very good breakfast buffet for half the price-less than 280 pesos.

Room Tip: The higher the better of course. We were on the fourth floor-could see a little bit of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing us the feedback about your recent stay with us. We are updating at a steady pace our facilities and there are many details that our guests help us to keep in check, we will work with our team to improve our opportunity areas.

We are looking forward to have you back at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta, your home in Mexico

Be well

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The bad reviews probably came from people who paid too much. There are rates on the Internet that are very affordable and appropriate for a 4-star on the beach in the marina area. The location is great. $5 cab ride from the airport. Many restaurants and shops in the marina area. In fact, our favorite is Tacos and Beer right down the street - cheep and good! For a little nicer dinner try Las Palomas (not las palomas dorado that faces the marina, but go farther to Popa street where the new condos are.) Also on Popa is a great market, a liquor store, pizza, frozen yogurt, indian food, and Starbucks.

The beach at the hotel is not beautiful, but it is clean and swimmable. We didn't notice any renovation/construction noise that others have complained about. The free Internet in the lobby worked well so we didn't need to pay for it in the room or by the pool.

There is a full size coffee maker in the room and the first package of coffee is free, but we had to call and ask them to bring it to our room. They will also bring robes, slippers, or anything else you need, just ask and they will be happy to bring it to you.

This resort is not the most opulent in the Marina area, but all in all it was a nice vacation and met our expectations.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Some higher rooms have a jacuzzi on the balcony, they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director Comercial at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel. I am glad to hear we met your expectations. Also thank you for the details you give about the area, as other people will find it helpful.

We look forward to welcome you here at The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta your new home in Mexico.

Be well

Cristina Castillo
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Solid vacation property. The prices of the rooms are in expensive but the food is pricy, especially for what it is, Breakfast is the best. For lunch or at the pool, order the nachos. The burger is a frozen patty and not that good. Also, the internet is expensive and dies not work. You are better off using the free service by the pool or in the lobby. The grounds are well kept and the pool is very nice.

Also - this is really not a spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for posting a review after your visit to our beautiful hotel, it will help us to improve our services.

We appreciate your business

Be Well

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal on Priceline. This hotel is beautiful, had great art around lobby, 3 pools and a small beach. The food and spa were a bit pricey but it is a few blocks from the Marina, which has many restaurants and spas. The rooms were large and all have balconies with views. We originally asked for a king bed but were given 2 doubles, based on availability. Since we booked on Priceline we couldn't get our preferred bed preference. The front desk was able to move us after a day. The grounds here are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear that you liked our typical Mexican decoration that our hotel has all over the areas.

I am glad to hear we were able to provide you your bed preference as soon as we could and that you had a relaxing week. Hope you come to visit us again.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were a couple traveling a single friend.Checking in at the front desk, the lady asked if we had been here before. Yes. She upgraded us to a higher floor with a better ocean view. She said if would take about 30 minuets for the rooms to be ready and gave us drink tickets for the restaurant. Nice.
The pool area is great with friendly and helpfull staff. We had two lunches but no dinners. Food was always good.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling as they want to come back soon.

The rooms in the upper floors are indeed beautiful and we are glad to hear you liked our pool and friendly staff. Indeed you should come back, the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta is waiting for you.

My very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#14 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#28 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Amex, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.