We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a relaxing week” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BookIt.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Had a relaxing week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal on Priceline. This hotel is beautiful, had great art around lobby, 3 pools and a small beach. The food and spa were a bit pricey but it is a few blocks from the Marina, which has many restaurants and spas. The rooms were large and all have balconies with views. We originally asked for a king bed but were given 2 doubles, based on availability. Since we booked on Priceline we couldn't get our preferred bed preference. The front desk was able to move us after a day. The grounds here are wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comment, we are glad to hear that you liked our typical Mexican decoration that our hotel has all over the areas.

I am glad to hear we were able to provide you your bed preference as soon as we could and that you had a relaxing week. Hope you come to visit us again.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    348
    150
    74
    37
See reviews for
170
388
46
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were a couple traveling a single friend.Checking in at the front desk, the lady asked if we had been here before. Yes. She upgraded us to a higher floor with a better ocean view. She said if would take about 30 minuets for the rooms to be ready and gave us drink tickets for the restaurant. Nice.
The pool area is great with friendly and helpfull staff. We had two lunches but no dinners. Food was always good.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, nothing makes us feel better than knowing our guests left the property feeling as they want to come back soon.

The rooms in the upper floors are indeed beautiful and we are glad to hear you liked our pool and friendly staff. Indeed you should come back, the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta is waiting for you.

My very best regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin in Puerto Vallarta for 10 days,(Feb 1 to Feb 10/13), having booked this stay online from Hotwire. We were somewhat skeptable,thinking we probably would
not receive top room and service. This turned out to be totally false, the room was great with an oceon view. And the guest services provided by this resort were first class. The location in the PV Marina is good and easy bus service to downtown is available in front of the hotel.
The heated pool is a plus
Be careful about using the in-room phone. Local calls cost about $2.20 and local cell$14.00 for 6 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this nice review, and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the views and the room you had.

Also we will inform the staff of your kind comment regarding their outstanding service.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is very nice. We booked 1 week Feb 2, 2013 to Feb 9, 2013 through Hotwire.com for $51usd per night. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very nice with updated decor. The pools are warm and the beach is nice too. The restaurants at this hotel are on the expensive side so we ate most meals across the street and down a block to at the marina. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our maid, Esther, was very nice and also the Desk Receptionist, Jorge, was very helpful and friendly too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor, # 613 and could see the city, mountains, pools, & ocean. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this feedback, it is well received and helpful, and allow us to enforce details and keep working, so that our guest experiences a perfect stay.

We will certainly inform Esther and Jorge who will be really pleased to hear such nice comments. Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at some of the other 4-star resorts in Puerto Vallarta, but keep coming back to the Westin. The rooms, public areas, staff, and service are a cut above the others, in my estimation. The proximity to the restaurants of the Marina is a real plus; there are lots of good dining options there, as well as a Starbucks, and probably the best wine shop in Vallarta: La Europea. And for breakfast on the cheap, there's a modest taco bar at the Oxxo store (think 7-Eleven) across the street from the hotel. All in all, a delightful sojourn--once again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for your loyalty, we love to read your comments and we are proud to make your vacation well worth a return.

We truly hope to see you again soon at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton,oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just spent a 7 day wonderful vacation at The Westin Spa and Resort in Puerto Vallarta Jan. 26-Feb.2. We absolutely enjoyed the location in the Marina District. Easy to walk to the Marina and check out the yachts, fishing boats, etc. Several unique shops and lots of restaurants. Since we did the All-Inclusive at The Westin we did not eat at any restaurants at the Marina but other folks at our hotel did and they seemed to enjoy the Sports Bar.
We recommend the All-Inclusive option-the food is exquisite, nothing like eating at buffets at other resorts. Even though there are only a few restaurants to choose from, the menu is so varied that you always have many options to choose from. Don't let the name "Snack Bar" fool you-they have wonderful dining choices and we loved everything we tried.
Sunsets are the best! Nothing like watching the sun drop gracefully into the Pacific.
The staff at The Westin were top-notch. Very friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out it was a wonderful experience. The Wait Staff at the restaurants and the bars were great. We would especially like to acknowledge: Daniel at Check-in who got everything started on the right foot; Jesus, Antonio, Hector, and Yusar at the Beach/Pool Bar; Juan at Breakfast, Roberto and Carlos for our wonderful, romantic dinner at the Outside Restaurant; and Ishmel (sp?) the Manager who checked on us daily to make sure everything was up to par.
Strongly encourage a Whale Watching trip if you are there Dec.-April. We were there at the end of Jan. and took a trip with Vallarta Adventures. Our guides were Pablo and Francisco and they were wonderful. We saw 9 Humpback whales and a baby. We followed the pod throughout the trip. Pablo was very informative and also entertaining! Also had a hydrophone which allowed us to "hear" other whales in the area that we could not see.
We can't wait to go back and explore some more. The downtown Malecon is lots of fun. We went at night and had a great time. We would like to go back during the day and get better pictures of the sculptures along the boardwalk (including the "live" ones). We felt safe everywhere we went.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor but recommend staying on a higher floor for better visibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta for your vacation and for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback.

Thank you again for your beautiful words and review, we will definitely acknowledge all the staff members you mention, and tell them how pleased you were with them, we are very proud of them.

Also the whale excursion is a wonderful experience to see such fascinating animals in their natural habitat. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Hope to see you soon in your new home, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Westin is one of several hotels we have stayed in during numerous visits to Puerto Vallarta. Located on the beach and close to the airport, it is a well maintained beautiful property with pools, beach access and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to see that you liked our facilities and the area in which the hotel is situated.

We are updating at a steady pace our facilities to be able to maintain the hotel to its best.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta
Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.