We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Saugatuck, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Westin in Puerto Vallarta for 10 days,(Feb 1 to Feb 10/13), having booked this stay online from Hotwire. We were somewhat skeptable,thinking we probably would
not receive top room and service. This turned out to be totally false, the room was great with an oceon view. And the guest services provided by this resort were first class. The location in the PV Marina is good and easy bus service to downtown is available in front of the hotel.
The heated pool is a plus
Be careful about using the in-room phone. Local calls cost about $2.20 and local cell$14.00 for 6 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post this nice review, and we are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the views and the room you had.

Also we will inform the staff of your kind comment regarding their outstanding service.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    402
    158
    79
    42
See reviews for
201
443
50
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kasson, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is very nice. We booked 1 week Feb 2, 2013 to Feb 9, 2013 through Hotwire.com for $51usd per night. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very nice with updated decor. The pools are warm and the beach is nice too. The restaurants at this hotel are on the expensive side so we ate most meals across the street and down a block to at the marina. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our maid, Esther, was very nice and also the Desk Receptionist, Jorge, was very helpful and friendly too.

Room Tip: We stayed on the sixth floor, # 613 and could see the city, mountains, pools, & ocean. There ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this feedback, it is well received and helpful, and allow us to enforce details and keep working, so that our guest experiences a perfect stay.

We will certainly inform Esther and Jorge who will be really pleased to hear such nice comments. Hope to see you soon

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've stayed at some of the other 4-star resorts in Puerto Vallarta, but keep coming back to the Westin. The rooms, public areas, staff, and service are a cut above the others, in my estimation. The proximity to the restaurants of the Marina is a real plus; there are lots of good dining options there, as well as a Starbucks, and probably the best wine shop in Vallarta: La Europea. And for breakfast on the cheap, there's a modest taco bar at the Oxxo store (think 7-Eleven) across the street from the hotel. All in all, a delightful sojourn--once again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for your loyalty, we love to read your comments and we are proud to make your vacation well worth a return.

We truly hope to see you again soon at The Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton,oh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just spent a 7 day wonderful vacation at The Westin Spa and Resort in Puerto Vallarta Jan. 26-Feb.2. We absolutely enjoyed the location in the Marina District. Easy to walk to the Marina and check out the yachts, fishing boats, etc. Several unique shops and lots of restaurants. Since we did the All-Inclusive at The Westin we did not eat at any restaurants at the Marina but other folks at our hotel did and they seemed to enjoy the Sports Bar.
We recommend the All-Inclusive option-the food is exquisite, nothing like eating at buffets at other resorts. Even though there are only a few restaurants to choose from, the menu is so varied that you always have many options to choose from. Don't let the name "Snack Bar" fool you-they have wonderful dining choices and we loved everything we tried.
Sunsets are the best! Nothing like watching the sun drop gracefully into the Pacific.
The staff at The Westin were top-notch. Very friendly and helpful from check-in to check-out it was a wonderful experience. The Wait Staff at the restaurants and the bars were great. We would especially like to acknowledge: Daniel at Check-in who got everything started on the right foot; Jesus, Antonio, Hector, and Yusar at the Beach/Pool Bar; Juan at Breakfast, Roberto and Carlos for our wonderful, romantic dinner at the Outside Restaurant; and Ishmel (sp?) the Manager who checked on us daily to make sure everything was up to par.
Strongly encourage a Whale Watching trip if you are there Dec.-April. We were there at the end of Jan. and took a trip with Vallarta Adventures. Our guides were Pablo and Francisco and they were wonderful. We saw 9 Humpback whales and a baby. We followed the pod throughout the trip. Pablo was very informative and also entertaining! Also had a hydrophone which allowed us to "hear" other whales in the area that we could not see.
We can't wait to go back and explore some more. The downtown Malecon is lots of fun. We went at night and had a great time. We would like to go back during the day and get better pictures of the sculptures along the boardwalk (including the "live" ones). We felt safe everywhere we went.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor but recommend staying on a higher floor for better visibility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

It makes us so happy to receive these kind of comments, thank you so much for choosing the Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta for your vacation and for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback.

Thank you again for your beautiful words and review, we will definitely acknowledge all the staff members you mention, and tell them how pleased you were with them, we are very proud of them.

Also the whale excursion is a wonderful experience to see such fascinating animals in their natural habitat. We hope this experience with us is just one of many you will have for many years to come. Hope to see you soon in your new home, The Westin Resort & Spa, Puerto Vallarta

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Westin is one of several hotels we have stayed in during numerous visits to Puerto Vallarta. Located on the beach and close to the airport, it is a well maintained beautiful property with pools, beach access and nice restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comment, we are glad to see that you liked our facilities and the area in which the hotel is situated.

We are updating at a steady pace our facilities to be able to maintain the hotel to its best.

Kind regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After reading lots of reviews on Tripadvisor, I was a little nervous to see what our actual experience would be like at this hotel. I've stayed Westins for work and they are always really nice so figured this had to be a pretty nice hotel... and it was. It met all my expectations and more. The front desk staff is so helpful and gave us a really nice hotel room for no extra charge. Our room was on the 5th floor, had a balcony that overlooked the beautiful pools and ocean. The room was very nice, the shower was heavenly and so was the king size bed. There was an ice machine down the hall from our room so we were able to buy some beers from the Oxxo across the street and chill them in our sink. The pools and pool-side service were AMAZING. The beach is really nice too. Just get down there early enough to get a chair or two. You can swim in the beach and the water is usually pretty warm. The view of the mountains and PV is so pretty. The gym is also nice and machines were always available. We never ate at the hotel, just had a few drinks at the pool bar, but would take the bus for 50 cents to town every night for dinner. It comes right in front of the hotel and takes about 20 minutes to get to PV. For breakfast/coffee/lunch we would walk to the Marina, which is only a few blocks from the hotel.

After visiting the Marina and seeing the other hotels in downtown PV - off the boardwalk, I'd prefer to stay at the Marina. It's a tropical Oasis, removed from all the busyness, but still close enough to get to town when you want to go.

The one complaint was the expensive wifi, but I'm on vacation so why do I need to be on my phone/ipad anyway? It was nice to be removed from all of that and just relax.

I'll be returning to this Westin!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
On Behalf of the entire staff of Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, we thank you for writing your comments about your recent stay with us; Your loyalty is very valuable to us and we are glad to hear that our hotel met all your expectations and more.

We are also glad to see that you enjoyed our heavenly shower, heavenly bed and especially our wonderful pools.

I would like to share with you that now we offer free Wi-Fi service in our lobby area.
We would love to host you again soon.

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have gone to Puerto Vallarta for many years and stayed many places. This was terrific!
Location: by the Marina. Best of both worlds in PV. Marina is very close and downtown is only 20 minutes on the bus.
Room: Superior. King Heavenly bed-very very comfortable. I have back problems and I had no problem. Not your rock hard Mexican bed. Many pillows. Nice duvet. Big balcony.
Hint: take the ottoman from the main room and use on balcony for your feet. The chairs are much better this way as you need a place for your feet if you are 5'9 or shorter. Larger than most. Nicely appointed. Had been repainted so was very fresh looking. Bathroom is big and nice. Shower is huge with nice big head. Hint: ask for a room where you can see the town and the ocean. We did and it was nice. Otherwise you might get your town view blocked by the hotel next door. All rooms above the trees have ocean view.
Lobby: Has been repainted and has nicer colors now. Check in was great, no hassle. No time share hassle either. We had a Starwood number so were upgraded to the 11th floor with a fantastic view. Make sure you give them your number.
Staff: Extremely helpful and pleasant! Could not have asked for more.
Swimming pools: very clean and lovely. Extensive. Smaller but very nice beach area.
We just got back, February 1st, and there were fewer Americans than ever before. The hotel was way down and the tourists were mostly Canadians. The weather was wonderful.
Overall if you want a non all-inclusive hotel, I would highly recommend the Weston.

Room Tip: Make sure you get above the trees so 6th floor or above. Starwood members get the best floors so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cristina_castillo, Director General at Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
We are very pleased to know you had a great time at Westin resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation and for giving such a detailed feedback about what we offer at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our pools and facilities over all. We are updating at a steady pace our facilities that’s why you saw the new colors of the lovely lobby area that gives it a typical Mexican touch.

We look forward to welcome you near future.

Kind Regards

Eduardo Ballesteros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta

Address: Paseo de la Marina Sur No. 205 | Marina Vallarta, Puerto Vallarta 48354, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort And Spa Puerto Vallarta
Westin Puerto Vallarta
Westin Regina Puerto Vallarta
Puerto Vallarta Westin
Westin Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Westin Resort Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Resort & Spa Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.