We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical great PV experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mole de Jovita

El Mole de Jovita
Basilio Badillo 220, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
+52 322 223 3065
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 736 Restaurants in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A mexican restaurant with autentic mexican food, the special is the mole sauce witch is made like in the past, an artesian mole that takes over a week to prepare, unique texture and a chocolate taste at the end. A very house warming atmosphere, and always a good service taken by the owners themself.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“typical great PV experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

A almost perfect PV dining experience in old town. Close placed sidewalk seating, places you in the middle of the sidewalk parade on Basillo. You'll probably see lots of friends and great people watching. A musician plays on a stool....a little close, but it all works. Costumed server stirring a pot of mole on the sidewalk seems a bit "forced" but I'm sure it helps promote their business. Owner is friendly and stops by all the tables and explains how his mother cooks, etc. A bit much, but it works too.
What does not work as well are the drinks and food. Drinks are a bit stingy...food, while fine, is not exactly outstanding. Perfectly serviceable, but that's all. We have friends that love the food here, so maybe we are in the minority.
That being said, you do do a lot worse than enjoying a pleasant evening the sidewalk here. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    92
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke sub Hamdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A different dinning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We visited her while on vacation with a group of 8 friends. Most of us had never had this type of food before. The owner came over and made us very welcome and explained the whole concept of this type of restaurant and gave us an interesting in site to the food history and about how the food is a family secret taught to him by his grandmother.
We were given 4 types of Mole to try and then we just had to pick what type of meat to go with the sauce. The food was lovely and a really different dinning experience it well presented with a good size portion. The service was very friendly and reasonably quick no problems at all and every one enjoyed their meals. I would return to this restaurant when I visit PVR again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best Mole in Puerto Vallarta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Mole is the owner's claim to fame. Sergio, the owner, named the restaurant after his mother, Jovita, and uses her 37 ingredient mole recipe. They also feature a poblano mole, pumpkin seed mole, and one more type that I can't remember. I went with friends of the owner, and we were treated like royalty. Sergio really took care of us. Their margaritas are all natural. There's no canned/pressed/processed items in their tamarind or mango margaritas,and they use excellent tequila. For dinner, I had chile relleno in a red sauce, as that's my favorite Mexican food, and his was one of the best I have had EVER. I wish there were two instead of one. Sergio was telling us how he goes to Tequila in Jalisco to get his tequila, and after our meal, shared a treat with us from his private reserve. Definitely a must do. He's thinking of doing a bar of some sort in the garden in the back. I can't wait to visit that when he opens that up!.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Amazing authentic Mexican cuisine. They have three types of Mole and they were all amazing. I got some enchiladas with green and traditional mole that was just wonderful. Good prices and live music with a guy singing and playing the Spanish guitar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best place to eat mole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently visited PV, we read some great reviews about El Mole De Jovita and decided to give it a try. We both love mole, in fact mole is our favorite food. The waitress brought us the green mole, red mole and the pipian to taste, We instantly decided for the red mole. It was so tasty that we wanted more. They had a young man playing the guitar and singing beautifully, the waiting staff was very nice and attentive. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mole de Jovita also viewed

Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco
 

Been to El Mole de Jovita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mole de Jovita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.