We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped by, no reservations, was pleased.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48280, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #30 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Dana Point, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stopped by, no reservations, was pleased.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Friend and I flew down, took a taxi to the area and picked out Los Arcos almost at random. Got an upgraded room with king on 4th floor ocean front and enjoyed. The staff was friendly and service in the restaurant outstanding. We took the all inclusive option and were impressed with the buffet, both at breakfast and dinner. I have been at other PV hotels with all inclusive and found their food lacking in comparison. My friend, a native of Mexico, was more than satisfied with the authenticity of the food.
A nice walk every evening to the clubs on the melecon then back to the room to fall asleep with the sound of the surf..... life is good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    281
    134
    82
    82
See reviews for
189
281
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

For over 30 years I've visited Mexico and as of 2013 the tide has turned. A recent trip to Puerto Vallarta, I stayed at Playa Los Arcos an old hotel in old town. Much in need of renovation, the staff are kind but the hard beds, and sandy floors and outdated bathrooms are certainly not worth the $100+ nite rates.
In addition the more popular beach now charge daily minimums at least over the xmas break, along with fees for bathroom services, add to this the ubiquitous hawkers, Puerto Vallarta is no longer an ideal vacation destination for bargain travelers.
If you're a west coaster I would definitely return my sites to the tried and true ultimate vacation destination that has no equal...the islands of Hawaii, where quality, tranquility and value combine to make the ideal vacation for couples, families, retirees and anyone seeking the best of the best yet not getting ripped off.

Room Tip: Definitely don't settle for the first room they give you, yet all rooms have terrible mattresses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have stayed at Playa Los Arco many times. The location is great, easy walk into town and great restaurants within walking distance. The hotel itself is old and small. The rooms on the street side are noisy...last year we had trouble getting our room and the front desk was very uninterested in our concerns. We had chatted online with them before we arrived about upgrading the room and had records with us, but they claimed they had no records of our requests. Even with the problems, the location is prime and to us, is worth the hassles of staff. We are heading there again soon and hope that the staff is more interested in customer service then it was last year.

Room Tip: Try to avoid street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times, I think it is the best option if you decide to stay in downtown PV. The pool is medium sized, although can get a little crowded on the weekends, there is always room on the beach which I prefer anyway. I would say the service is overall average. Everyone is extremely nice although occasionally can be a little slower than we're used to in the U.S. Sometimes there seems to be confusion over the beach towel process, and if you go do not lose your beach towel card.

I recommend staying in one of the junior suites. They are the perfect size with a little kitchenette and living area, with a nice bedroom and decent shower set-up. I also recommend staying on the 2nd floor or above as I think the ones on the ground level by the pool would be too noisy. Go with an ocean view room if possible.

The best part of this hotel is the location, as your right by a ton of great restaurants and shopping. Also being right on the beach the Malecon is just outside, so great for exercising or a relaxing walk. If your main priorities while on vacation are beach time, good food, shopping, and actually enjoying Mexico instead of staying enclosed in a resort, stay here!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor or above, with ocean view or balcony. Ground floor rooms by the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I love old Vallarata and feel comfortable there when I travel alone which I did in November. The rooms are adequate, have air conditioning, a good sized bath tub and a balcony. For me that's perfect. It is not far from the Malecon and I walk early every morning. I don't mind the vendors at all and usually sit on the beach. I usually buy a muffin and fresh fruit every day and grilled fish a couple of times in the week. I do not pay for the all inclusive as I don't drink alcohol and there are many great small restaurants within walking distance. The staff are friendly and the guests are a mix of Mexican, American and Canadian - singles, families and couples. Coming from the cold and rain in Vancouver - the climate is a dream!

Room Tip: Being on a higher floor avoids beach and pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that this is only my opinion, which is subjective--tho I will be as factual and short as possible.

Pros- staff were helpful. its in a central location. If you get a room with a balcony the views can be awesome.

Cons- I slept in two different rooms and both beds felt as if they were made of cement blocks. The rooms are musty and lack ventilation. Bathrooms are small. paint in rooms is old and have foot and hand marks all over the place. The air conditioner is super old and isnt installed properly--as in, it sucks the air from the room and blows it back out circulating stagnant-stale air for as long as you have the air on. The bathrooms are tiny and stink of staleness and other unpleasantness. the furniture is old and has sharp edges (children and clumsy people beware). You only get water throughout the day (they give you two bottles per day but you can ask for more as the day continues) but cannot get any water in the evening. the shower curtains are stained and old. the curtains are old as hell and stink. Really the newest thing in the hotel rooms are the door locks (where a card is used for entry), everything else seems to be bought in 1966. The buffet sucked but the drinks were alright.
I would NOT stay in this place! Id rather bring a tent and sleep there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I think for Puerto Vallarta, this is the best location if you want to be in the heart of the old part of town and right on the beach. We were here a couple nights right before New Years and it was crazy busy. The beach was so busy, we didn't really ever hang out there. The pool area was fun but a bit tight, not a lot of lying out area. And for some reason the workers kept throwing balloons in the pool, and we couldn't get away from the balloons. We have a 18 month old and thought the little kiddie pool would be perfect, but it was too cold. Most of the pool area doesn't get sun during the winter time. But the other pools are heated.
The room was dark and dingy. Old and not renovated in a while. However, our sister's room was even older and less modern, so I guess ours was renovated a bit. But I believe there are some renovated rooms that are probably much nicer. Our room also had paper thin walls and door so we could hear everything from the street. It was soooo loud. We couldn't sleep til the club closed around 2am.
The service is fine, nothing amazing. Just fine.
The location though is perfect I think. Not in Big resort world, still has some character and in the heart of the romantic zone and the Malecon. Perfect for walkers and explorers.
I would stay here again but in a better renovated room with a view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Olas Altas 380 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48280, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#12 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#35 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming colonial Boutique Style Hotel designed and tastefully decorated to reflect style, refined hospitality and the unique flavor of the Mexican "Haciendas" of the 19th century. The recent decor is uniform and upgraded to compliment its charm and displaying the handiwork from Mexico. If you want to capture the true essence of Mexico this is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort And Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Puerto Vallarta
Playa Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.