We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand on your doorstep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Marino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Marino Hotel to your Saves list
San Marino Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sand on your doorstep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I recently spent the first week of Feb. 2014 at the San Marino. The hotel is very outdated as one traveler stated. No frills anywhere!!. On the flipside the hotel had an awesome location, on the beach on the boardwalk in "Old Vallerta". One cabdriver told us were were in"boystown". We did find the neighborhood to be lively as well as well diverse. Everyone we encountered, be it transplants or born and raised there were so gracious and welcoming. We met ppl from all over including from our hometown of Chicago. We were invited to watch the Superbowl with Seahawks fans, enjoyed tableside Guacamole at the Margarita Grill. Had meals and drinks at the multitude of sidewalk cafes and bars. Hotel Marino food wasn't that good. Great trip overall and will return to old vallerta just not to the san marino. It's not for you if you like modern or plush amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    137
    135
    72
    40
See reviews for
102
146
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great value and great location. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous. The bartenders would make you anything you asked for. First time I ever did all-inclusive and it was worth it. The food however, needs to be improved!

Room Tip: Definitely get a junior suite or master suite. Had some friends in a standard room and the view is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our 19th visit to Puerto Vallarta, but first to the San Marino Hotel. Clean, basic, 2 modest swimming pools, right on Los Muertos beach, in the romantic zone. Walk to lots of great restaurants and bars. Standard room is a good size with a modest balcony, and a basic but functional bathroom (great water pressure). The beds are very hard. The front desk did not have locks for the in room safe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

After several prior trips, this was our first time staying at San Marino but not our last. .

Although the hotel is in need of updating, the location, food, staff, view of the pier & convenience was perfect.

They were tearing up the concrete on the street directly next to the hotel & the jack hammers were in full force every day of the week.

We even had dental work done while we were there & was very pleased with the results.

Room Tip: The beds were extremely hard but you can request a foam piece to put on top of the matress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just completed 3 weeks of another vacation at our ``Mexican home``....after a long day travelling it was wonderful to walk into the lobby and have the staff say `welcome home,`and give you a hug...we always get a junior suite ..the ocean and beach view is worth every extra dollar or peso....there is a new chef, and people were excited about the improvements in the meal selections, quite nice... and of course ALL of the waiters are exceptional, with Alex and Enriqué standing out, as usual..... I am sorry that the hotel decided not to put cushions on the chaise lounges on the deck.....sure is hard on the back after a short while...hope they decide to correct this as we are not all young, and need a bit of padding... other than that a wonderful time, and we are missing our `family``

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Just got back from our trip from Puerto Vallarta and our stay at the San Marino for the 9th time. First off the staff was excellent as usual, from the big smile and handshake from Luis as we came in the door to all the servers and housekeeping, it was top notch. We had one small problem with our toilet and it was fixed within 15 minutes. Could not agree more that the food has improved greatly. You will always find something on the menu that you like. Another thing that has improved is the music played around the pool. Every year we have noticed small improvments to the hotel - from the light standards around the pool to the fresh paint job of the hotel and I think our mattress was thicker on the bed. To sum up Great staff, great location, continually improving and a great value for the money. See you next year San Marino!

Kevin and Wendy

Room Tip: We always try for room on upper floors on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the San Marino for a week in January 2014. The location couldn’t be better: right on the beach by the pier, and close to everything. We've stayed at other locations along Playa Los Muertos, both north and south, and we liked this location best.

Our room was a standard room on the south side of the hotel where the entrance is located on R. Gomez. We were on the 7th floor, and had a great view over the hills and around to the water from our balcony. We could even watch the sunset over the water from our balcony. The room was kept very clean. The beds are rather firm, but we asked for a mattress pad, which was promptly installed, and the bed was much more comfortable. The room stayed quite cool and we rarely needed the air conditioning.

The San Marino has a nice beach. The water is calmer near the pier, so it’s great for swimming. There are two rows of palapas on the beach, and another row of palapas in a small raised area behind the beach. One quibble: I wish they wouldn’t let guests save the palapas. There were times during the day when fewer than half the palapas actually had people at them, but the others were all reserved with towels. If people didn’t reserve, it would be much easier to get a palapa when you wanted one.

We had the all-inclusive package. It was an amazing value and the food was varied and tasty. At breakfast, there was fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast, pastries, eggs, and various Mexican dishes such as chilaquiles. You can also get freshly made omelets. At lunch and dinner, there was lots of choices, including fish, chicken, pork, and beef dishes, potato dishes, rice and salads. I was especially impressed with the fish - it always seemed to be perfectly cooked (not the usual overcooked fish you often find at buffets). The desserts were probably the weakest part of the buffet, and it would be nice if they had fresh fruit at lunch and dinner as they do at breakfast. I’m not sure of the reason for some of the previous negative reviews for the food. Perhaps the food is much better now than it used to be, or perhaps some people just have unrealistic expectations.

The front desk staff, waiters, and chambermaids were all hard-working, friendly and helpful.

I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The standard rooms on the south side of the building still get a partial ocean view, especially on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Marino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marino Hotel

Address: Rodolfo Gomez 111 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Marino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Puerto Vallarta, one of the most beautiful and romantic cities on the Pacific Coast of Mexico. The hotel is nestled on the beautiful beach of Playa los Muertos, with a wonderful atmosphere and tradition surrounded by hand craft shops, discotheques, and just a short walk from town. San Marino Hotel features 165 light and airy guestrooms including 25 spacious Junior Suites with all the amenities you need to relax and enjoy in a peaceful ambience.Come to San Marino Hotel where you will be greeted by our friendly staff and enjoy sunshine days and a vacation experience to treasure forever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Marino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marino Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.