We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of potential” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Chicago, Il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Lot of potential”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pros:
Excellent location
Heated pools
Superior service at restaurants
Clean & nice rooms

Cons:
Poor food selection
Super hard bed & pillows
Bugs
Public pool bathrooms – filthy

I gave this resort only two stars, but it has the potential for 4-5 stars. If you are a regular all-inclusive vacation person, you will probably be disappointed in this resort. This resort is, simply put, a mini all-inclusive. The pools are smaller, the restaurants are smaller, the property is smaller, the entertainment stage smaller, etc, etc.
Pros:
The location of this resort could not be better. 3-4 short blocks from the center of town. In fact, to get to town, you walk thru a mini-town. Shopping, restaurants everywhere.
Heated pools, although small, were a delight. Pool area & water was kept clean & maintained.
Service at the buffet restaurant was exceptional, but we ended up making reservations at the other restaurants. We thought the fare was better than at the buffet. Breakfast was great.
Our room was nice, though the bathroom could use a little up-dating. Also, you can't control room temperature, only the front desk can. No ceiling fan.
Cons:
Sure could use a lot more selection in the buffet when it comes to dinner time. While the food was good, it lacked variety. Also, toooooo many times, food pans were empty, just left empty. It appeared that they filled the empty food pans on a schedule, instead of when they became low/empty. No excuse for this! We ate out for dinner at two very nice places, Pipi’s, in town, just ask anyone, and upstairs at Tino’s, just before you get to town.
Hard bed & pillows - I guess this is the norm……we have yet to experience, in any resort that we have visited, what we would consider normal comfort in the bed & pillows.
Bugs, it’s reasonable to see some bugs and such when on vacation, but this resort has got to be more diligent about policing the critters. Tiny, tiny ants in our bathroom. And what was more disturbing, the tiny ants were around the food, not the prepared food, but around the display of whole fresh fruit. Someone has got to see this and correct immediately. Also, a couple of ‘larger’ bugs were spotted scurrying around. And of course the birds, they are a nuisance for sure around the restaurants and food. The restaurants at this resort are not that large and it would seem plausible that a net of some sorts could be hung around the outside area of the restaurants to discourage the birds. To be fair, there was some ‘fishing line’ strung in parts of the restaurant(s) to help keep the birds out, but was still way too easy for the feathered friends to get in and land on the tables and such. At times, we had to get our food at different times, so one of us could stay at the table to prevent them from landing on our table.
A lot of attention is paid to the mopping of water around the pool, in fact, in my opinion, too much attention. At times a worker would actually follow you around after getting out of the pool, mopping up behind you. I think, some of this attention should be refocused to the nasty public pool restrooms.
I did not mention the beach, only because the red flag was out for 3-4 days, then the yellow flag for the rest of our stay. There seems to be a pollution problem when it rains in that area. The local officials release river water into the bay when it rains too much, effecting the availability/safety of the beach swimming.
This time of the year, it does rain most every day, but the rains are short and really did not effect our vacation.
Also, this time of the year, most resorts get a little crowded with the locals vacationing with their youngsters. Saturday thru Tue, fairly crowded, Wed, Thurs & Fri, a lot more of a relaxed atmosphere.
In summary, I believe 3 of the 4 cons could easily be corrected to make this an enjoyable vaca resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Koz from Chicago, Illinois:

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your recent visit to the Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa.

We really appreciate your positive comments about the hotel location, service and rooms. We have also taken note of the more critical feedback, as it is the food variety, the maintenance and cleanliness of the hotel facilities; corrective measures have been taken on this regard. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that you suffered.

We hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back and make your next visit a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    347
    160
    96
    77
See reviews for
240
355
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria oregon
Top Contributor
789 reviews 789 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

From the beginning this hotel staff bad lost our reservation, this was frustrating and just an obvious substandard property and this was all everything en toto I mean the food the rooms. the bugs in the room the smell like that of dirty sweaty athletic socks that reeks through the whole place I mean just everything is substandard. Even if your expectations are low this is a place where standards are way below. There are too many great fun places to stay here. Do not spend time here. Move on
Nothing more good to say. Goodbye

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Journeyman644 from Astoria Oregon:

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review regarding your experience in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations. We always take our guests' more critical feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and get their satisfaction.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just the worst vacations in my life, hotel is dirty, very very old, I was in a all inclusive plan and it is just impossible to have a reservation for dinner in one of the 2 restaurants, in one of them they admit only 5 tables with 4 people max, the other they accept approx 10 tables, Imagine! I was told that I can make a reservation starting at 9AM, I was there since 845AM and they told me i have to wait until 9AM, I stay there just in front of the person, at 9AM I asked her for the reservation and she said they are already full !!!!
There are several other hotels in the area with better service and comoddities for the same price.
Air conditioner is old and noisy, you have to take your towels to the front desk if you want to have some clean and dry these guys just ignores you, they clean the room but neve change the towels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jorge e from Monterrey, México:

Thank you for posting your recent review regarding your experience in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations.

I would like to take the opportunity to inform you that each one of our restaurants have a bigger capacity to the mentioned one. I am very sorry that you got a different perception on this regard, but the 100% of our guests can be accomodated in our restaurants.

We hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Hotel is pretty but was very noisy with teenagers, If you are a couple this is not the hotel to go to, people making very loud noise in the middle of the night drunk, kids screaming in the hallway, the drinks are watered down, they charge for everything from making an in house call to get help, to weighing your luggage, My husband and I were celebrating our Anniversary, it wasn't what we thought it would be, The bed was very hard and the pillows were horrible it hurt my neck, we had to get a massage to feel better, we spend a lot of our time on tours, the food wasn't that great, it was just kids all over the place running wild, I would not go back to this hotel. I enjoyed Cancun instead, it was so much better,

Room Tip: All Ac units make noise Make sure you are getting the room you purchased rooms in the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear RLady from Wichita, Kansas:

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not having covered your expectations.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went to BV with 3 girlfriends over the fourth of July weekend. Overall, it was a great value for the money (3 nights, 4 days, for about $244 a person, all inclusive). The rooms are clean and comfortable, although for a four-person room they only provided three towels and three bottles of water. We called a few times to ask about a room service menu, extra towels, and adjusting the air, but never got any assistance. There was also a LOT of noise in the hallway all night long as other guests returned from the bars and continued the party. The hotel did nothing about this, and it definitely interfered with sleeping between midnight and 6am.

The location is good- close to the Malecon (about 6 blocks, or a 15 minute walk along the beach, from the first sculpture) but not right on it, and not surrounded by clubs. The beach in front is pretty empty, unlike the area south of the Malecon where there are lots of hotels and restaurants serving on the sand and vendors selling activities.

We didn't take advantage of all the activities, but they seemed fun. The water aerobics might not give the best workout, but the participants were having a good time. The instructor and activities director obviously loves his job! Also available are kayaks. The website says something about cooking lessons, but that is something they probably do pretty rarely (it wasn't on the schedule while we were there). The kids club looks great too- lots of stuff for kids to do.

The pools are clean, and there are plenty of chairs around the pool as well as on the beach.

The spa is excellent. We all got massages- 350 pesos for 1 hour- and they were well worth the money. Very relaxing, in a beautiful setting, and good pressure. The spa is upstairs from the pool, but you don't really notice the pool noise at all. There is also a hot tub up there which allows for two people at a time, max 30 minutes. It is pretty large, but I think they want to keep the noise to a minimum for guests receiving treatments. It also has a great view of Nuevo Vallarta and the beach.

The food in the buffet restaurant is so-so. There is an omelet chef during breakfast who will make whatever you like, and other items include (they were the same every day we were there, so I assume it's standard) chilaquiles, scrambled eggs, grilled peppers with onions and sausage, chopped up hot dogs with onions etc, breads, pancakes, french toast, cereal, and fruit (although it was covered in flies). We only went one time for dinner and it was Asian night- pretty horrible. Lots of cold rice and fried things.

The food in the beach front restaurant is mostly fantastic, especially at dinner. At lunch, the aquachile and fish tacos are excellent. At dinner (food included in all-inclusive, bottles of wine is not), options include stuffed fish, grilled fish, various kinds of chicken, arranchera steak, and chiopotle honey ribs (all delicious). The appetizers (ahi, mussels, cheese, mushrooms) are good, as are the salads. The desserts (chocolate 'tower', creme brule, or cheesecake) all leave much to be desired. NOTE: They say you need a dinner reservation, and they do 'book up' early, but we walked down to the restaurant one night and were able to be seated without a reservation- it was likely due to no-shows because of rain, but it's worth a shot if you haven't made a reservation.

During the day for lunch there is also an option of burgers or hot dogs on the beach. They're not bad, and good in a pinch, if you don't want to leave the beach.

The drinks are ok- pretty typical of an all-inclusive resort with everything being watered down and made with mixes. The included wine is pretty horrible (red, white, and champagne).


Pros:
- Food at the beach-front restaurant
- Price
- Location

Cons
- It seems to attract college students/young (teens to early 20s) travelers who like to party until the wee hours of the morning... often in the hallways!
- Quality of the drinks and buffet food

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room. There is no extra charge! The other side looks out onto a busy street. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear sdtosr from San Diego, California:

Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to post your comments about your recent stay with us. I assure you that we will work to improve the details you mention to make your experience better on your next stay.

Look forward to hosting you again soon!

Cordially,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in PV for 3 weeks at 3 different places. This place was horrible and filthy. Could not get a clean glass or clean plate in the restaurant. When ordering a drink at the outside bar I noticed a smell, then looked behind the bar and saw it was coming from the sink they washed the bar glasses in. It was filthy, had junk in the water and smelled like garbage. There were full garbage cans at every place that served food or drinks and the flies were everywhere. On our plates and landing in our glasses. We had to have one hand in constant motion just to get through a meal. This was all-inclusive but we took most of our meals at outside establishments. As for the swimming pool, you could not see the bottom of the pool. Don’t stay here. There was sand on the floor of our room, so the floor was never cleaned. We never walked without our shoes on. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It was filthy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Jeff M from Shingle Springs, California:

Thank you for posting your recent review regarding your experience in our Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not covering your expectations.

We do hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience.

Best regards,

Ronald Vega
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sorry for the late review but i finally had a chance to sit down and write it.
I am a travel agent so customer service is a must for me. I have been staying at this resort off and on for 10 years and seen the changes all for the good. We last stayed here over halloween and prior to that in june for our honeymoon.
the minute you pull up the bellmen are there and remember you,even if you are new they are there with a smile and very helpful.
The concierge she is great with any assistance you need.
The resort is a smaller resort,but this is what gives it the ability to give you one on one service. The pool side waiters are amazing always remeber what you had the day before and your name.house keeping has always been great. I have stayed in oceanview with balconey and ocean front honeymoon suite with jacuzzi. The partial ocean view rooms are good all should have a balconey though so be aware if your room has one or not.The jacuzzi /honeymoon ocean front are great. Next time i would like to try the newer ocean front rooms on 4th floor their premium catgory.
Food- Breakfast is great many choices for all types
Lunch- Always something there too,good selection (I do miss the snack service that was available pool side but i hear a few guests ruined this as they left plates laying around everywhere) Dinner - Always good no matter which choice you made to eat at.
Romantic dinner in the tower for 2 is an extra charge but worth it you can also do it on the beach.
Please dont hesitate to go the service is by far the best.
Please remember to tip for good service

Room Tip: Best rooms are with balconey and or ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bv_grand_hotel, General Manager at Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear kerri n from Calgary, Canada:

Please receive my best regards and let me take the opportunity to thank you for the generous feedback. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed another visit to our Hotel; as you kindly mentioned, our constant effort is to provide our guests with the best service and highest level of comfort. I have shared your review with all my staff, who are the ones that really make the difference. We will keep up with the good work!

Look forward to hosting you again soon in your home away from home!

Truly yours,

Ronald Vega C
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#33 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the lively seaside town of Puerto Vallarta, Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa is the perfect Mexican resort for total relaxation.Located just five minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants, and 15 minutes from the airport, Buenaventura is the perfect Mexico beachfront resort to delight all of your senses. Enjoy our spacious rooms and suites offering stunning ocean views and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.