We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family friendly resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A family friendly resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the buena ventura for about a week. I had a great time but I have a few complaints.

- the toilet in our room kept breaking.
- the music was very loud.
- there wasn't a lot of food variety at dinner.

But overall it was a good stay. The location was perfect and close too the malecon and various other popular locations. They had a private beach that was a little rocky but still nice, three pools. And waiters will get you any drink you want.

8/10

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    358
    166
    98
    77
See reviews for
244
368
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I just visited this hotel for 6 nights as we were on our honeymoon. The food was fantastic and had many options to choose from. I definitely recommend you make reservations for their sunset restaurant and their other restaurant near the Fruits and Flores. The staff was excellent! They always greeted us by name and had surprises for us in our room (i.e. chocolate covered strawberries with congratulations drizzled on the side, a towel made swan with rose petals in a heart, etc). They made us feel like kings and queens! The bar staff is awesome and will make anything you want! They have activities daily so their is never a dull moment. Their is a theme each night as well with a certain food type and show. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the side they have weddings on....it can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was an awesome vacation. The food was great. The service was great. My room was clean for what little time I spent in there. If you go there look for Big Al on the beach for your excursions he is a great man and cheaper than you will get anywhere else. I really enjoyed the Spa treatment I had and they were well priced. If you take the Dune Buggy tour ask for Henry he was great... the Pirate Cruise request Danny as your pirate and Pollo I hope you are there when we go back next year. Perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 10 days at the Buenaventura and overall we had a good time. However, we had a few complaints.

• We did not receive the room we requested and had to do a room change on the third day
• Our first night and day there we did not have safe
• The hotel would tell us they had money to exchange that day and to come back at ten but they told us that for four days. So if you want pesos get them before you leave!
• There were not enough umbrellas for all the people and those that took them would would put their towels on the chairs and would hardly ever come back. So all the chairs with umbrellas were taken up 7:30am.
• The beach is really rocky and you cannot go boogie boarding
• The room itself is nice, but the bathrooms need updating
Now they good things about the hotel!
• The staff is really friendly and helpful!
• The food is really good, but the breakfast is the best!
• Lots of activities that you can do
• Of course the location is prefect if you love to shop!
• The room beds are comfy
Overall, the hotel is nice, I would go back again for the right price. However, I do not plan to because we like the shade and would like a nicer beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was ok, but it shows it age, the floors have stains on the tile, the shower doors were hard to close.the bedding was extremely heavy. The staff were very nice and did a good job meeting our needs. The location is good if you like being close to the Malacon, but the transportation to the Malacon (bus or taxi) is very cheap and would be worth the cost to stay in a nicer facility. There was very little entertainment at night at the resort. The beach is very rocky. The hotel had many homosexual couples and if this makes you uncomfortable this is not the hotel for you. This was not an issue for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We read the reviews on this hotel & we agree that the location is fantastic! Go out the front door & everything you want is right there (other places to eat, drink & tons of shopping). It's close to the supermarket if you need anything that the hotel doesn't have. Walk a few blocks down to the Malecon (Boardwalk) which is amazing. Great views, good shopping, many excellent food choices & places to stop for a drink. Buonissimo was our fave stop for gelato (the cinnamon & tiramisu were to die for)! You can walk along the beach & end up at the Malecon also if you want to avoid all the time share people along the streets. The beach was nice though we never went into the water. Looked pretty rough but some people did go in & lots did the seadoos, banana boats & kayaks. Have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. The food was excellent & I am a very picky eater! Was very impressed & would say this is a solid 4 star, maybe even 4.5. The only night we didn't like the food was the "Seafood" night - everything had heads & shells still on (not our type of food but others seemed to like it). Staff kept the grounds & rooms clean. It's an older hotel but our room had everything we needed for 2 weeks - a bed, tv & really nice bathroom (the shower was huge & had great water pressure). The maid was amazing, she took good care of us & made something neat with towels in the bathroom & on our bed every day. We always tip staff as we know they don't make much money & this will just ensure you will get even better service. The fitness centre was just being worked on while we were there but we could have gone to the Premier Villa Condos if we wanted to for free. I ran on the beach up to the Malecon & down to Old Town - great 5 km run! We didn't go to the spa but it looked pretty nice. They have a jacuzzi you can pre-book for couples if you want some "romantic time". We would recommend this hotel 100%!

Room Tip: our room faced the Premier Villa Condos & we had a view of the town & bay - it was quiet - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am trying to make arrangements with Westjet to leave your hotel today, several days early.

As we have discussed, the strengths of your hotel are its location in sunny warm Puerto Vallarta, its location close to the Malecon and the town, and the wonderful staff you have, who are hardworking, warm and efficient.

As we have discussed, your weakness is noise. In particular, the decision that guests will be required to hear loud music on the beach, in the gym, and, on most nights, while trying to sleep in their rooms.

Last night, Friday March 8, the wedding music played until 12 midnight. For much of the night, the music was very loud. I felt like we were living at the “Zoo”, the bar/disco on the Malecon.

As to beach music, I challenge you to do this: survey your customers during the season, and ask them their opinions about the necessity for continuous loud music there. Also count the number of participants in the events that apparently require loud music and loud announcements. You may come to a different conclusion about this policy, since it appears to me from observation over the last 20+ days, that the activity participation rate is low, and unhappiness with loud music and announcements is high.

This music policy has made it impossible for me to think about staying at the Buenaventura -- now or in the future. We have enjoyed our previous visits to the Buenaventura, but we will not be back.

You have lost a customer with this music and noise policy. My opinion is that it is only a foolish business that drives away its repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the lively seaside town of Puerto Vallarta, Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa is the perfect Mexican resort for total relaxation.Located just five minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants, and 15 minutes from the airport, Buenaventura is the perfect Mexico beachfront resort to delight all of your senses. Enjoy our spacious rooms and suites offering stunning ocean views and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.