We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has it's up and downs but overall it was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Has it's up and downs but overall it was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed 10 days at the Buenaventura and overall we had a good time. However, we had a few complaints.

• We did not receive the room we requested and had to do a room change on the third day
• Our first night and day there we did not have safe
• The hotel would tell us they had money to exchange that day and to come back at ten but they told us that for four days. So if you want pesos get them before you leave!
• There were not enough umbrellas for all the people and those that took them would would put their towels on the chairs and would hardly ever come back. So all the chairs with umbrellas were taken up 7:30am.
• The beach is really rocky and you cannot go boogie boarding
• The room itself is nice, but the bathrooms need updating
Now they good things about the hotel!
• The staff is really friendly and helpful!
• The food is really good, but the breakfast is the best!
• Lots of activities that you can do
• Of course the location is prefect if you love to shop!
• The room beds are comfy
Overall, the hotel is nice, I would go back again for the right price. However, I do not plan to because we like the shade and would like a nicer beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    340
    154
    93
    76
See reviews for
226
351
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was ok, but it shows it age, the floors have stains on the tile, the shower doors were hard to close.the bedding was extremely heavy. The staff were very nice and did a good job meeting our needs. The location is good if you like being close to the Malacon, but the transportation to the Malacon (bus or taxi) is very cheap and would be worth the cost to stay in a nicer facility. There was very little entertainment at night at the resort. The beach is very rocky. The hotel had many homosexual couples and if this makes you uncomfortable this is not the hotel for you. This was not an issue for me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We read the reviews on this hotel & we agree that the location is fantastic! Go out the front door & everything you want is right there (other places to eat, drink & tons of shopping). It's close to the supermarket if you need anything that the hotel doesn't have. Walk a few blocks down to the Malecon (Boardwalk) which is amazing. Great views, good shopping, many excellent food choices & places to stop for a drink. Buonissimo was our fave stop for gelato (the cinnamon & tiramisu were to die for)! You can walk along the beach & end up at the Malecon also if you want to avoid all the time share people along the streets. The beach was nice though we never went into the water. Looked pretty rough but some people did go in & lots did the seadoos, banana boats & kayaks. Have nothing but good things to say about the hotel. The food was excellent & I am a very picky eater! Was very impressed & would say this is a solid 4 star, maybe even 4.5. The only night we didn't like the food was the "Seafood" night - everything had heads & shells still on (not our type of food but others seemed to like it). Staff kept the grounds & rooms clean. It's an older hotel but our room had everything we needed for 2 weeks - a bed, tv & really nice bathroom (the shower was huge & had great water pressure). The maid was amazing, she took good care of us & made something neat with towels in the bathroom & on our bed every day. We always tip staff as we know they don't make much money & this will just ensure you will get even better service. The fitness centre was just being worked on while we were there but we could have gone to the Premier Villa Condos if we wanted to for free. I ran on the beach up to the Malecon & down to Old Town - great 5 km run! We didn't go to the spa but it looked pretty nice. They have a jacuzzi you can pre-book for couples if you want some "romantic time". We would recommend this hotel 100%!

Room Tip: our room faced the Premier Villa Condos & we had a view of the town & bay - it was quiet - w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am trying to make arrangements with Westjet to leave your hotel today, several days early.

As we have discussed, the strengths of your hotel are its location in sunny warm Puerto Vallarta, its location close to the Malecon and the town, and the wonderful staff you have, who are hardworking, warm and efficient.

As we have discussed, your weakness is noise. In particular, the decision that guests will be required to hear loud music on the beach, in the gym, and, on most nights, while trying to sleep in their rooms.

Last night, Friday March 8, the wedding music played until 12 midnight. For much of the night, the music was very loud. I felt like we were living at the “Zoo”, the bar/disco on the Malecon.

As to beach music, I challenge you to do this: survey your customers during the season, and ask them their opinions about the necessity for continuous loud music there. Also count the number of participants in the events that apparently require loud music and loud announcements. You may come to a different conclusion about this policy, since it appears to me from observation over the last 20+ days, that the activity participation rate is low, and unhappiness with loud music and announcements is high.

This music policy has made it impossible for me to think about staying at the Buenaventura -- now or in the future. We have enjoyed our previous visits to the Buenaventura, but we will not be back.

You have lost a customer with this music and noise policy. My opinion is that it is only a foolish business that drives away its repeat customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

If you want to enjoy the city of Puerto Vallarta, day or night, this is the perfect hotel. I stayed one week with my Mother in January 2013. It's just a 10 minute walk on a beatutiful beach to the Malacon. We went out dancing every night! The room was clean, the food was good and the staff were so friendly. The beach bartenders, Posado & Eduardo are incredibly attentive. Nice pools and I loved that the bar was so close to the beach. Great location, overall wonderful experience. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

April 08 was this travel date:This was my first girls getaway.Lots of culture,quaint town and sights.Resort is lots of marble ,little wood lots plants very nice.The staff always acknowledge you. Clean grounds ,room no problem.Bartenders were awesome ,food was good .Nice pool,has chaises. Beach not so good rocky..Did three excursions .Toured the city,Church of our lady Guadalupe,where predator.. was filmed.Tequila tour ....tequila...stop at small village Tequila... Walk to place where Richard B. And Liz T. had a luv nest top of the town awesome trip .Small town couple blocks away ,shopping great stay.

Room Tip: near spa,was quiet but anywhere would have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When we got there they could barely speak english. The hotel room was cramped and the bathroom was HORRIBLE!! I am a travel agent and I would not recommend this hotel to any of my clients. The food was not good, the drinks were watered down. The bed was extremely hard and maid service was nearly impossible to get. I read the reviews before booking this hotel and found the reviews of NO help once I arrived. I was VERY DISAPPOINTED and will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#46 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the lively seaside town of Puerto Vallarta, Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa is the perfect Mexican resort for total relaxation.Located just five minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants, and 15 minutes from the airport, Buenaventura is the perfect Mexico beachfront resort to delight all of your senses. Enjoy our spacious rooms and suites offering stunning ocean views and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.