We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
halifax,n.s. canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we stayed from Nov.10th to Nov24th,2012.the comments re size of the resort ,good staff are on the money.I disagree strongly about poor cleaning standards.The general manager is constantly on his staff and even pitches in when needed. Have you ever seen floor polishers used on concrete or the plastic awnings being scrubbed ? I haven't until this trip .A special thanks to Paploma at the concierge desk with a room change when our A/C would not respond to the repairs. Her cheerful smile and patience are a definite asset to guests .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    352
    163
    97
    77
See reviews for
243
360
30
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We recently returned for our vacation in Puerto Vallarta Mexico. We have travelled there for many years and this year we decided to book our hotel for its proximity to the down town core. After spending some time reviewing many options, we chose the Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa. We were enticed by the beautiful views and accessibility of the Ocean, the amenities of the hotel and beautiful pictures of the resort. We upgraded our vacation package to the premier package. On our arrival, we were greeted warmly; everyone was polite, smiling, and very helpful. Our check in was processed quickly. Upon checking into our room we were very pleased, it was clean, well-stocked (coffee, towels and bar fridge) and the view were exactly as advertised. However…
For the next four days we had many issues with the maid, room service and cleaning staff and front desk. On our second day I requested coffee for our room, as the maid had not left any. I wrote it on the note pad supplied by the hotel with a hotel supplied pen. Not only did we NOT receive any coffee, the maid also took the pen. For the next couple of days I continued to request she leave coffee to no avail, we eventually purchased a pound of coffee from the OXXO store down the street.
After four days, I wrote another note to the maid (with a pen the front desk had kindly lent me) so she could PLEASE change our bedding and left it on the bed. I then placed the note pad under several other papers I had on the dresser, this time she went through our papers and took the note pad. We continuously had to call for face clothes, towels and a bath mat. We were always short something. She even went to the extent of re-arranging our personal bath items daily. Twice during our stay we actually received bath towels … at 10:30 PM!!!. The second time we were asleep when she continuously knocked on the door (which had a do not disturb sign on it) until we answered it. On Monday February 4th we planned a tour to San Sebastian, we requested a wakeup call because the radio alarm didn’t seem to work (turns out, the maid kept turning off the alarm clock) we NEVER received our wakeup call. We barely made our connection to the Vallarta Adventures office for our departure.
One of our biggest complaints with this hotel was the comfort of the resort. There was no comfortable seating at the pool area or resort grounds. There were loungers and hard bar stools only. Many of the vacationers there complained about the setting. At the pool and lounge bars we had to continuously remind the bar tenders about the premier liquor, although you could clearly see our black select bands. Which reminds me, the bar fridge in our room was stoked with 2 light and 2 regular local Mexican beer, not the premier alcohol beverages we thought we paid for.
We fully understand that you can’t please everybody, but this was totally ridiculous. During our stay we tipped the bellboys, waiters, maids, and bartenders well over $250.00 in U.S. currency, so we are not cheap. For the most part we are dissatisfied with our stay at the Buenaventura Grand Hotel and although we intend to continue our yearly vacation to Puerto Vallarta, I’m sorry to say that we highly doubt we will return to the Buenaventura Grand. Jorge & Alberto the waiter and Bartender were great, food was great... but if you want to relax and sit in a comfortable chair find somewhere else. This resort is NOT for older people.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean, not the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a stay at this resort. Absolutely loved it. Food was good, staff was fantastic and would go out of their way to get you what you needed. The location is awesome, just a few blocks to the malecon. I will be coming back in the future. The only negative i think there is, is that the beds are way too firm.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our 5th visit to the Buenaventura Hotel and Spa. The hotel is beautiful, excellent location, great beach. Paloma, Chief Concierge is fantastic. She was always smiling and she made our trip the best ever!!! When we arrived she came right around the counter and greeted us with a big hug and a welcome back home.
Jorge the waiter made us smile all day. He seems to really love his job. He would bring us drinks before we could even ask for another round. Everyone at the resort was so friendly. Our room was the deluxe ocean view and I could see the ocean and the palm trees before I even got out of bed. Great beach area! Very clean. The food was good, no complaints. But we did go out for dinner most nights as there are so main great restaurants and we had friends down visiting from Vancouver. So each night we would head out down the Melacon and venture off to different restaurants. Dinners are not expensive and the food was always amazing. El Brujo is a must, a bit of a walk but great food, and La Dolce Vita right on the Melacon.
Jorge Head of Entertainment always came by to say hello and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. The resort itself was very clean. We always had fresh clean towels in our room when we returned from our evening walks on the Melacon. The weather was perfect. Hot and sunny for 14 days. We may have had some clouds on 3 of the days. We love the location of this hotel out of all the hotels we have stayed at in PV as we love to walk every night into town to see all of what PV has to offer and it doesn't cost a thing. From fireworks to art sand sculptures and so much more.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean View rooms overlooking the pool are fantastic. Our favorites. Cost a little more b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birch Hills, Sk Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just got back from Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa. Great staff and facility. Food was good as well. Must see Jorge - waiter by the pool and beach. He is the best. 5 minute walk from the Melacon. 1/2 a block from the bank. Beach was very nice as well. Smaller resort, but clean and nice.

Room Tip: We had the jacuzzi tub room, but the tub took away room for extras that i would prefer like a dresse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We just returned from a 7 night stay at Buenaventura and very much enjoyed our time there.

PROS: great location within walking distance to the Malecon and old town. Beach here is one of the nicest sections along the strip. Grounds and pool areas very well maintained and cleaned daily. Service at restaurants and bars was very good even at the beach where the staff would come by frequently to refresh your drinks. Breakfast had a good selection that met all our needs and lunches at the a la carte restaurant were very nice with good selection. Rooms were always cleaned daily and beds were firm but very comfortable. Our room faced the beach and it was very quiet at night. Check in was fast with no issues.

CONS: no safe key for our first day which was a concern but they did have one for us the next morning. We had the honeymoon suite which faced the beach but the room was fairly small. Beach towels were not always the easiest to come by so some days we re-used our towels from the previous day. In-room towels were also sporadic. We had a bath mat for one day but never got one back. Also, face cloths and hand towels were rarely replaced. Dinner at both the a la carte and buffet was not good at all. While we did plan to eat out most nights because of the great variety of nice restaurants in PV, we did end up eating at the hotel two nights. The first night we ate at the a la carte restaurant on the beach. This is an absolutely beautiful location to have dinner and the service was excellent however the food was barely edible (we ended up going out later to get something else). The second night we ate at the buffet and again the food quality was very poor.

Overall, this hotel met our expectations and we would definitely consider staying here again if the price was right. Great location (close to many evening dining restaurants) good breakfast and lunch, excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for something facing the beach to avoid street noise plus much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Buenaventura for 12 days. The staff was friendly, but didn't seem to want to deal with issues such as our door not locking. We had to continually fight with it to secure it. Day 10 a maintance man saw me having issues & comes & puts his card in & tells me it's fixed. I don't think so!!! It took 4 days to get a lock & key for our safe. The rooms were run down & in bad need of renovating, especially the bathrooms & flooring. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens & the shower had good pressure. The food was mediocre at best, much of it being over cooked. 3 out of 4 of us fell ill from eatting the food or beverage. Out at the bars they didn't have dishwashers & glasses were washed by had, not very sanitary. The whole resort is tired & needs updating. It's too bad as the location is excellent... People told us that the hotel just came under new management & that the hotel has gone down hill since they had last visited. would we stay again? NO......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#34 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the lively seaside town of Puerto Vallarta, Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa is the perfect Mexican resort for total relaxation.Located just five minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants, and 15 minutes from the airport, Buenaventura is the perfect Mexico beachfront resort to delight all of your senses. Enjoy our spacious rooms and suites offering stunning ocean views and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.