We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Denver CO
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Actually visited March of 2011. But visit was great. Food was very good for a buffet compared to other all inclusives I've been too. Room were clean but had a little musty smell, we also got two double beds instead of one King size like we were supposed to get... One thing I would like this resort to improve on is the evening entertainment. Pepe Boy was great but could have used some help. His wife had a daughter during the time we were there and he didn't miss a day of work... He is a trooper! We did some tours with Vallerta Adventures(highly recommend), wish I had known they offered a 3 for 2 deal(at that time) before booking another tour with a different group but all turned out great. We did the Dolphin Swim, Zip Lines, Rhythm of the Nights... All very good, HIGHLY suggest the Rhythm of the Nights. (Bring a jacket, cuz the boat ride back is a bit chilly) Resort location is great, walking distance to the shops on Malecon. (My wife liked the store Tiza Amano-nice custom silver jewelry/clothes) Onsite Spa was nice but prices not written down so you may get one price one day, and a different price another as did my wife... Pool was busy with kids and beach was so/so... Oh go out entrance make a right and at the 1st intersection was a taco stand set up at night, gotta get some $1 each, some sauce that is mild-medium while some will make you SWEAT! MMmmmm Overall great experience for us, if your used to $10K+ vacations this may not match up, but for the money we enjoyed very much. Is your glass half empty or half full... Have FUN, you're on vacation! (well if you're reading this... you're almost on vacation :)

Room Tip: As mentioned: go to taco stand just outside of the resort in the evening. Go out entrance, turn righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    342
    158
    96
    78
See reviews for
234
353
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights,loved the location. Close to town.The front desk was very helpful and friendley.My room was oceanveiw and very clean, with slippers and robes and a beauitful fruit basket.A comfy king size bed. The bathroom did have a leaky ceiling and a leaky toilet. So we had to keep a towel on the floor.The bathrooms need updating. They need to have meneus for room service. They need to have captain morgans spiced rum Amaretto Disaronno ,alot of americans like theses brands.Also the waiters did a excellent job,I love the waiter service at the pool and the beach. I tip, but at times the service was spotty.One day I was not feeling well so I asked the waiter for chicken soup and the chef made me some. In mexico there chicken soup is different spicy!!!!The grounds were well kept. They had a live band one night which was nice.Vendors were setup at night if you needed any what nots.They had a adult only pool with built in chairs and tables right by the bar by the ocean.Secriuty had to tell children to get out because the parents dont know how to read the signs Adult Only quiet pool!!!Perfect size resort small and nice!! I will return soon. But hopefully they will make some updates. They say they have a Jacuzzi I did not see it.Mini bar well stocked.I only seen 3 restaurants.I like the vendors on the beach because I can drink shop and get a tan at the same time.All the staff went out of there way to make my stay wonderful. This was a resort with a mexican flare to it. I think we were the only americans there!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My 18 yr old daughter and I stayed at the Buenaventura for 5 days in January 2013. We chose this hotel mainly due to its location, with easy walking access to downtown Puerto Vallarta and because we wanted a smaller hotel. I knew it wouldn't be new and fancy, and it wasn't, but it was great for what we wanted. 10 minute walk to the start of the Malecon, and no crazy loudness around the pool. The beach was even good despite being so close to downtown, I was pleasantly surprised! We never had a problem finding a couple of lounge chairs at the beach or pool, with shade. The loungechairs, however, were not comfortable.

At first they tried to give us a lousy room, I wouldn't accept it and waited until a better room was available a couple of hours later...which was fine since we were there earlier than the check in time. Our room was clean & comfortable. The beverage and food staff were all really friendly and nice, some were a bit slow on the service - mostly in the buffet dining room, but it wasn't the end of the world. The food was good....great selection for breakfast, dinner was good enough but not great at the buffet. The a la carte dinner was pretty good. Lunch was a la carte at the lovely beachside restaurant and we quite enjoyed it.

It's a pretty low key place, quiet in the evening, but that is fine as you can walk to the Malecon for whatever action you want to get up to. The lobby bar is very plain, the lobby itself is okay but nothing grand. The two bars by the pool/beach area were comfortable.

My overall rating is average, but my location rating would be excellent !

Room Tip: For a decent view try to get on the 3rd or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am returning this year to this hotel with some reservation.We are going back only because of the wonderful friends we have made there who are also repeat customers.
The hotel needs to be updated. the front desk needs to have training as to how to have friendly helpful staff. Always trouble with the rooms!
The drinks at the bar are low quality alcohol.So much so we bought our own and used it.So much for all incusive! Have told management in the past but they don't seem to care.
The food is okay. Have to book for the two restaurant and hope you do not get cancelled.
There are many hotels in area .Would think returning people would be valued .
Hope it is improved in the next few weeks or will not be back

Room Tip: Be ready to not get what you paid for. This is just part of the problem. Can be noisy with children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked an ocean front- deluxe room with a request to king bed and that was done 3 months in advance and we called them as well before leaving home country to make sure our reservations are in line.. Our flight reached there early in morning at 9 am, so they made us wait because hotel policy requires check in at 3 PM.
After waiting for few hours we were given a room and when we go to room only to realize it is not an ocean front but a garbage area front, we immediately go back to reception and tell them that we paid extra $$ bucks to get a deluxe and ocean front room and this can't be our room..

Now, they made us wait until 3:30ish and then, they try to give us a room with two single beds and with a partial view to ocean in such a way that you have to hang out of balcony, may be do a bit of gymnastic moves and then , yes!! you get a glimpse of ocean :-((
By this time my husband 's patience ran out; after waiting for almost whole day and still, not getting the kinda room we paid for..At this time, receptionist tries to convince that she knows for a fact that all the rooms shown to us are ocean front and deluxe!!
we made a scene and finally told her to come with us and see for herself before making us wait for hours. We show her word by word it says in our reservation "ocean front deluxe room with a king bed"...finally by 4:30 we were given a room.

SO MUCH FOR A FAIL DEAL....AND SO MUCH FOR THEIR HOSPITALITY!!

and yes, room was a mediocre room. as per location, this hotel is close to downtown but still 20 mins walk. service through out the stay was average...hotel looks much outdated in reality than in pics on TripAdvisor.

They all inclusive is a joke, they had few kid's activities but nothing fancy. definitely not something for which you would like to stay inside the hotel all day. Food was okay, no great. a bit noisy till late night.

Highly tip oriented system. One time you are in pool and not carry wallet to save it from getting wet and you don't tip , next time service to your table/room will greatly suffer.

I am not staying here again and my advice- take your dollars elsewhere and stay in well known hotels than this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Most of the recent reviews have covered off the issues with this place. Mediocre food, beach towels or lack of, low quality drinks, room service food that is guaranteed to arrive ice cold and cashier without cash. The service staff try hard and go out of their way to accomodate their guests but one gets the feeling that the hotel management is the issue. They are mostly invisible as opposed to being on the floor,prowling the halls,pool,restaurants. It appears that they are more concerned with towel usage and bacon eaten than visitor satisfaction. The staff appears to be in total fear.
The pluses are the location(you can walk everywhere), a decent pool area and a New Years Eve gala that was off the hook. At best this is a 3 star property. It could be so much more.
I hope the owners pay attention.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The main advantage to this hotel is it's location. It is situated very near to the Malecon and so for those liking a night life it is ideal. During our stay the hotel had about 80% Mexicans and lots of families. The ambiance is cozy - Mexican style, smaller hotel, palm trees and situated on the beach. The rooms were cleaned everyday and were well maintained. Every night there is some kind of entertainment provided and the New Year's Eve party in particular was very well organized. Internet only in the lobby and pool area (depending) :( Bar and dining staff were very courteous. Front staff was not consistently helpful or friendly. Not too happy with our room! We paid a high price for having a room with no patio on the ground floor. Light in the room did not work too well and the light switch broke on us. Tried to get a better room several times and were told the hotel was full :( There is no fitness centre by the way!

Room Tip: When reserving please ensure then that you get a room on the upper floor with an ocean view if possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa

Address: Avenida Mexico 1301, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the lively seaside town of Puerto Vallarta, Buenaventura Grand Hotel & Spa is the perfect Mexican resort for total relaxation.Located just five minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants, and 15 minutes from the airport, Buenaventura is the perfect Mexico beachfront resort to delight all of your senses. Enjoy our spacious rooms and suites offering stunning ocean views and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buenaventura Grand Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Grand Puerto Vallarta
Buenaventura Beach Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.