We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel my last 4 visits to PV. Yes it is older, but clean and cozy. Close to zona Romantica and close to shops, bars, restaurants and coffee houses. Heading here again in March. Book the superior rooms!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    179
    65
    36
    22
See reviews for
50
149
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family have been travelling to PV for well over 25 years. Over this time the Tropicana Hotel has always been our home away from home. Located in one of the older sections of PV called the Romantic Zone it has an old world feel that is very alluring!

The hotel has been owned for many years by a local family. The rooms on the whole represent a more basic approach to design, furnishings and amenities. The rooms are always clean, the housekeeping seem to come and go with limited disruption and provide good consistent service.

The views from most rooms are incredible, sunsets to die for. The oldest section of the hotel has the largest rooms and the biggest balconies. The newer section is nice, however the rooms are often slightly smaller. The beds are of reasonable quality and provide a good sleep.

The hotel offers basic services of currency exchange,safe deposit boxes and beach towels. Other beach activities are often supplied by people not connected to the hotel such as parasailing, snorkeling, banana boat rides etc...

The beach is among the best in PV, the sand quality if very good, walking is pleasant and swimming is good most days. Sometimes getting a Palapa (thatched umbrella) can be difficult as it requires that you get up very early to get a spot. It is important to be respectful and if you wish a palapa for the day make good use of it. Sometimes guests put towels and personal items out to reserve space and then only use it for brief periods.

Beach Vendors: there are many and a simple and pleasant "no thank-you" or "no gracias" is sufficient if you are not interested in what they have to offer. We have over the years met many lovely people and become very good friends with a few. These relationships cultivated over time have formed a large part of our positive experiences in PV.

There is a restaurant which offers breakfast and lunch only (as of my last visit). It is the location of the hotel that makes all the difference as there are so many dining options within a very short walk of the hotel. One of our favourites has been "Cafe des Artistes" which offers superb food and wonderful surroundings and a very good wine list.

Staff are always friendly, management is accommodating and so your holiday is sure to be relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: If appropriate (for size and amenities), consider the older section of the hotel, the balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Tropicana is located in old town called the Romantic Zone. It is about a 2 star hotel so don't expect the Hilton Hotel. There is a new pool which is great and was badly needed. The hotel is old but has good bones. We get a Jr Suite and it has a small kitchen--the room is bigger with two Double beds ( which are not the most comfortable).We use the kitchen for snacks wines and cold drinks--there are too many good restaurants to walk to. The beach workers set up chairs for you under a Lapalapa or an umbrella and the water can be rough. I don't really think this is a family hotel. Lots of gay couples are here but not a problem. The hotel has mostly adults. The area restaurants ( Swedes, Maxmilliam, LaPalapa, Blue Shrimp, Bistro, the River, Trios, are all within walking distance. ) as well as martini bars Like Garbos, and others. there are great places for breakfast too ( Coco's kitchen). If you want a low key place in a great area and has lost to do and walk to plus it's a great bargain then this is the place. If u want lots of amenities then go somewhere else. I always enjoy my time here I don't need a Taxi or a car and have 4 stat restaurants nearby for every night plus plenty of shopping.You will find hidden gems in the area and don't be afraid to walk around. One more thing there are a ton of vendors walking the beach and they can be bothersome but just say No thanks. I have stayed here 10 times already so something worthwhile brings me back.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the ocean or pool on an upper floor or even a jr Suite with a small kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel in a great location on the beach and within a short walk to many great restaurants, shops and the Malecon. The service at the hotel was very good. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that they only have Wi-fi in the lobby and as of Jan 2013 it seemed to have a capacity below the need. There are many coffee shops and restaurants with Wi-fi nearby. We visited this with young adults (17 and 20) and friends who also had a teen and we felt that this location worked for the diversity of out group. Try the parasailing out front.

Room Tip: We were first floor on the street side and it could have been quieter. Best rooms are probably thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel without the frills which is excellent, this is the place for you. This hotel does not offer an all inclusive plan, which is great if you are the type to venture out. If you just want to spend all your time at the hotel, this is not the choice. The standard rooms are facing the ocean with an amazing unobstructed view. We were on the fifth floor. Very good beds and reasonably appointed rooms. Bathrooms are good, they provide shampoo and moisturizer daily and of course soap. Water pressure in shower is good, however, as in PV, you dont always get very hot water. There is bottled water available on each floor so you can fill up your own. WiFi is available at reception area but it is weak most days. Maid service is efficient and the place is really clean. Mind you, it is a huge property, 2 swimming pools, a restaurant and its own beach area with palapas and chairs. Very well maintained. Staff is very friendly, security is pretty tight. Would most definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have an unobstructed ocean view. Get the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We've been going to Puerto Vallarta for years. We love staying in the Romantic Zone and usually stay at Playa los Arcos which is also a very good property!
However, this was a last minute trip and the rate was better so we decided to give the Tropicana a try after reading the reviews on trip advisor.
This is one of the best decisions we've ever made. The rooms were clean and even the Standard room we were in had a direct beach view. Also they are doing some renovating and when we checked in they didn't have any rooms with a king bed. We had one of the older rooms which we thought was just fine. However, the next day they moved us to a renovated room with a king bed which was very nice!
The grounds were nice with 2 pools and the staff was very nice and helpful. And of course you're right on the beach and there are more restaurants than you can count within a short walk. Love the place and will be back!

Room Tip: If you get a standard room try to get a room that's been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is average - clean and basic accommodations with spectacular views (we had a superior room in the new building) in a perfect location. We could walk to so many restaurants - easy walk to The Malecon and other shopping. the service was great and the price can't be beat. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#59 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.