We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Mexican vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Tropicana is located in old town called the Romantic Zone. It is about a 2 star hotel so don't expect the Hilton Hotel. There is a new pool which is great and was badly needed. The hotel is old but has good bones. We get a Jr Suite and it has a small kitchen--the room is bigger with two Double beds ( which are not the most comfortable).We use the kitchen for snacks wines and cold drinks--there are too many good restaurants to walk to. The beach workers set up chairs for you under a Lapalapa or an umbrella and the water can be rough. I don't really think this is a family hotel. Lots of gay couples are here but not a problem. The hotel has mostly adults. The area restaurants ( Swedes, Maxmilliam, LaPalapa, Blue Shrimp, Bistro, the River, Trios, are all within walking distance. ) as well as martini bars Like Garbos, and others. there are great places for breakfast too ( Coco's kitchen). If you want a low key place in a great area and has lost to do and walk to plus it's a great bargain then this is the place. If u want lots of amenities then go somewhere else. I always enjoy my time here I don't need a Taxi or a car and have 4 stat restaurants nearby for every night plus plenty of shopping.You will find hidden gems in the area and don't be afraid to walk around. One more thing there are a ton of vendors walking the beach and they can be bothersome but just say No thanks. I have stayed here 10 times already so something worthwhile brings me back.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the ocean or pool on an upper floor or even a jr Suite with a small kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    179
    63
    35
    23
See reviews for
48
147
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a clean and comfortable hotel in a great location on the beach and within a short walk to many great restaurants, shops and the Malecon. The service at the hotel was very good. The biggest drawback to this hotel is that they only have Wi-fi in the lobby and as of Jan 2013 it seemed to have a capacity below the need. There are many coffee shops and restaurants with Wi-fi nearby. We visited this with young adults (17 and 20) and friends who also had a teen and we felt that this location worked for the diversity of out group. Try the parasailing out front.

Room Tip: We were first floor on the street side and it could have been quieter. Best rooms are probably thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel without the frills which is excellent, this is the place for you. This hotel does not offer an all inclusive plan, which is great if you are the type to venture out. If you just want to spend all your time at the hotel, this is not the choice. The standard rooms are facing the ocean with an amazing unobstructed view. We were on the fifth floor. Very good beds and reasonably appointed rooms. Bathrooms are good, they provide shampoo and moisturizer daily and of course soap. Water pressure in shower is good, however, as in PV, you dont always get very hot water. There is bottled water available on each floor so you can fill up your own. WiFi is available at reception area but it is weak most days. Maid service is efficient and the place is really clean. Mind you, it is a huge property, 2 swimming pools, a restaurant and its own beach area with palapas and chairs. Very well maintained. Staff is very friendly, security is pretty tight. Would most definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have an unobstructed ocean view. Get the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We've been going to Puerto Vallarta for years. We love staying in the Romantic Zone and usually stay at Playa los Arcos which is also a very good property!
However, this was a last minute trip and the rate was better so we decided to give the Tropicana a try after reading the reviews on trip advisor.
This is one of the best decisions we've ever made. The rooms were clean and even the Standard room we were in had a direct beach view. Also they are doing some renovating and when we checked in they didn't have any rooms with a king bed. We had one of the older rooms which we thought was just fine. However, the next day they moved us to a renovated room with a king bed which was very nice!
The grounds were nice with 2 pools and the staff was very nice and helpful. And of course you're right on the beach and there are more restaurants than you can count within a short walk. Love the place and will be back!

Room Tip: If you get a standard room try to get a room that's been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is average - clean and basic accommodations with spectacular views (we had a superior room in the new building) in a perfect location. We could walk to so many restaurants - easy walk to The Malecon and other shopping. the service was great and the price can't be beat. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

For the last couple of years now we take an annual vacation to PV in Mexico and we always try to stay at this hotel. It is located on the beach in the old town. If you are looking for a super fancy hotel with all of the amenities you should book elsewhere. Having said that we love the place. The rooms are very plain but clean and spacious. The beds are firm but not uncomfortable. The staff is super friendly and accommodating and they keep the place very clean. There are also a ton of restaurants in the area which is why they do not offer all inclusive. Some rooms, but not all offer fantastic views of the Pacific. WiFi access is dodgy and when you get a connection it is usually only availble in the hotel lobby. I would recommend this place to any travellers that go to PV.

Room Tip: If you need a tv or A/C, you must specify. The beds tend to be either two doubles or one king. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We just got back tonight from our 2nd stay at Tropicana. The location is perfect for us, right on the beach with beautiful grounds and 2 lovely pools. Its an easy walk to restaurants, cafes, bars etc - it's rare that we go anywhere in the old town that's not walking distance from the hotel. The hotel restaurant isn't great, but there's a good breakfast place right over the street and good coffee places close by.

Our room in the northern-most building had a balcony with ocean view and we went to sleep every night to the sound of the waves crashing. We're a gay couple but find Blue Chairs too busy and noisy. Whereas Tropicana is pretty quiet and has a nice mix of gay guys, straight couples, Mexican families and older guests and everyone gets along fine. And if you want to go hang out at Blue Chairs and be blasted by loud circuit music while lying on the beach it's only a 3 minute walk along Playa Muertos.

Now my gripe: They have GOT to get their wifi situation sorted out. It's bad enough that there is no wifi in the rooms. But when you go downstairs and sit with everyone else in the lobby trying to use their ipads and laptops, the wifi signal is very weak and often drops out. And forget trying to get a signal by the pool or at the beach in front of the hotel. I often need to do some work on vacation and this is a big annoyance - the lobby is the least attractive part of the hotel and I end up spending far too much time there trying to pick up the weak wifi signal and get some emails out. It's 2012 and the management at Tropicana need to get with the program on this or I may have to stay elsewhere next visit.

Only other gripe was a lingering, funky smell in the bathroom. From experience I know that Mexican plumbing can sometimes be temperamental and so we didn't make a fuss about it - and it wasn't bad enough to spoil our enjoyment of the room.

If wifi is not a priority and you are not looking for luxury, Tropicana is a great pick and good value for the money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel

Address: Amapas 214 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#53 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Tropicana Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.