We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$30 (USD)
Ranked #17 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Frankfort, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Me and my Wife stayed at this Hotel in puerto vallarta for 2 Weeks, and I have to say, it is an excellent, Clean Hotel with lots of beautiful plants throughout.. Very good Rates, I Had a small refrigerator at an additional cost of $5.per night at a total of $45.00 per night, The staff are excellent, They go out of their way to help you, Most speak English. The Tucan Restaurant right next door, Have the best food and have great prices, Take your Camera. Its not a 5 star, but if your looking for a good quality, budget, clean hotel, I would definately recommend it. I would go back again. They also have the internet which made it very convenient. Thanks Gary & Maria Milam

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hola

Thanks for your great review on tripadvisor and for rate Posada Rgoer as EXCELLENT !!!
Look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    135
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
46
131
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. It was just what we needed! The location is perfect. Right in the heart of Old Town, and just a couple blocks from the beach. It is a great value, and one of the least expensive hotels in the area. We mostly hung out on the rooftop patio, and lounged by the pool. The downstairs restaurant is very good too. Resonably priced good food. Will definitely stay here again! One note: we stayed in mid-December, and they were redoing the road out front, so there was dust/noise. Not the fault of the hotel, just a heads up.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hello

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor, we are glad you like it and you will return when in Puerto Vallarta
Look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We have been stopping at the Roger for several years now and each time we return it feels like a homecoming. The staff are friendly and helpful and do their best to make sure our stay is a happy one. We usually only stay a day or two while our apartment is being readied, the Roger rents some reasonable apartments in the "old town", and each time they treat us like returning family. The first year we stayed here we spent five weeks and made use of the rooftop kitchen to prepare some of our meals and meet other residents of the hotel. The courtyard is a gem. It is a pleasure to sit under the mango tree and check e-mail while meeting the guests we didn't meet in the kitchen. Being on the bus route, some of the rooms can be a bit noisy, (the buses start at 6 AM and run until approx 1 AM and run past the east side of the hotel), but they are all very clean and relatively spacious. Whether your stay is short or long you won't go wrong staying at the Posada Roger. We plan on coming back for many years.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hello

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor, many clients also like Posada Roger because they feel like home

look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We (3) stayed at the Posada Roger for two wonderful weeks and every day was better than the one before.. If you are looking for a no-frills hotel that is clean, friendly and central to everything, then stay at the Posada Roger. We were in the heart of Old Town where everything happens. Because of the time of year, the festival of Our Lady of Guadeloupe was on and every night we watched processions pass our hotel. From the Posada Roger you can walk everywhere, just a few short blocks to the beach and Malecon. The best restaurants are right outside your door, art galleries, stores with local artistians work displayed, buses, tours, realestate brokers. Everything you need is within a three block radius.
Did I mention that the staff is AWESOME? I highly recommend this hotel.
One warning - the beds are hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hello

We are glad you Love it , Thanks for your review on tripadvisor.

General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

From the moment we arrived until we departed one week later, we enjoyed every minute. We started the day with a latte in the courtyard and checked emails. Met lots of people doing this. Then off to one of the sun decks or even around the lovely pool. If you need something, the staff is totally accommodating.
Would have liked a little more storage especially in the bathroom but other than that, it more than suited our needs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hola
Posada Roger is located in downtown (oldtown) but the zone is also known as Romantic Zone, is a great location, 2 blocks from the beach, surrounded for boutiques, restaurants, galleries, cafes, and much more.
Thanks for your review on tripadvisor, look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

After 30 years, we once again visited Posada Roger and fell in love with it all over again. While purusing hotels in P.V. we were pleasantly surprised to see that Roger's was still up and running and it peaked our curiousity enough to go back. In point of fact, the hotel managed to keep all of its charm and upgrade its facitity. Another floor has been added since we last visited, but we were actually assigned next door to the room that we had so long ago. No, the staff didn't remember us (!), but they were very hospitable and helpful. This is a budget hotel (we paid approx. $45.00-$50.00 a night for 2 people) with rooms on the smallish side, but there is air con and also a ceiling fan in each room, which are important to my needs. Another plus is free Wi Fi internet. The courtyard is abundant and overflowing with lovely flowers(see photos). An outdoor pool has been added to the second floor with some addittional sunning and sitting areas. The location is unbeatable. We strolled the beach and ate at great restaurants close to the hotel. If you walk by the office, there is a restaurant connect to the hotel called 'Toucan'. It is fantastic for breakfast. I like a few cups of coffe in the morning to get me going and they will keep refilling your coffee all for the same price of one cup (less than $2.00). Another close by restaurant that we thought fantastic for dinner was 'Fajita Republic'. The setting is lovely and the food even better. I ordered the veggie faijatas (104 pesos) one night and the next night had the fish faijtas (118 pesos). Fantastic. Read the other articles by previous travellers. That rooster is still crowing so best to avoid that side of the building when getting a room. We will return and hopefully it won't be another 30 years!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hola

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor. Posada Roger has been open for more than 30 years. And we thank to all our returning clients, who decide to come here year after year.


Look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Great location. Near the beach and tons of great restaurants. The hotel courtyard with it's fountain is a great place to relax and meet people from all over the world. The people are so helpful and friendly. My wife got the flu before we came home and Martha, who has a little jewelry store at the hotel, called her doctor who made a house call on a Friday night!! Got her all fixed up for the trip home. We feel like family every time we go there. Never feel like that at a big resort. Thank you Sonia and Dario, and Juan Carlos and Eddy. You help make our vacation the best.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, General Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, January 31, 2011
Hola

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor, Posada Roger is a mexican style hotel, we try to keep the traditional escence of a mexican typic town.

Look forward to your visit.
General Manager
HOTEL POSADA DE ROGER, PUERTO VALLARTA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Address: Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#24 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon ‘the sea walk’, and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada de Roger to your Saves list