We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Worries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada de Roger to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Roger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$40 (USD)
Ranked #23 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No Worries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for a week and a half while having some dental work done in PV. (Dentist's office was right around the corner.) My flight arrived right after midnight, so it was almost 1 am before I made it to the hotel. Check-in was a breeze, and they were able to accommodate a change in plans for a friend who would be joining me for 5 of the nights I was staying (120 pesos per night). The person who was checking me in noticed that the room (202) did not have the small refrigerator that I had been promised, and brought one to the room minutes later. He also made sure that I knew how to operate the fan and AC. The hotel has a gate that locks and is monitored by staff 24 hours a day. There was a collection of mangoes that had fallen from the tree in the courtyard (caught by a net). Bottled water was also available in the courtyard. Staff were able to help me to coordinate the delivery of messages to local service providers, including the taxi to the airport for my return flight. Best of all, no surprises at check-out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    190
    55
    14
    5
See reviews for
55
192
119
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have been staying at Posada de Roger for 15 years and just completed a two week vacation. Once again, I was greeted as if it were my first time staying there.
The Staff is consistantly courteous and helpful. They have a board listing all the events going on for the week to make sure you don't miss anything. The restaurant attached to the Hotel is the best breakfast in PV (you will see why once you eat there). Great location as you are 2 blocks from the beach and can walk the Malecon (boardwalk) along the bay and into the other side of town. The rooms are clean with daily Maid service, fllat screen TV and AC. You will find that alot of the guests are repeaters who know value and the best bang for the buck !
They Posada de Roger out for yourself. My reservation for November has already been made !

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the 2nd floor have a small balcony facing the street. Fun to sit out and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

When on vacation, we remind ourselves to keep an open mind. Initial reactions usually moderate after a little time. This time too. So what was our initial 'shock?' The room was really small! That's all. It was clean, the AC worked great, the fridge worked, the shower had lots of hot water. It was just small. We got over it. Then the pool and deck area are small. We think Posada de Roger hired a really good photographer. We also think the pool is not normally crowded but we happened to be there on Easter weekend. It's busy. We worked with the situation and got over it.

What we really liked: The location is fantastic - close to the beach, the malecon, shopping, restaurants, little markets, buses. It's an interesting part of town. The building has character; the courtyard is a nice place to sit and read. It's well maintained and clean. Security is vigilant, attending the front gate constantly. We found the staff friendly and helpful. Finally, the rooms are reasonably priced. We could have spent a lot more and got more room and amenities, but then we would have missed the connection to the neighborhood. Overall, we're happy with our choice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor which we liked. Rooms on upper floors mean climbing the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been to Puerto Vallarta several times and have stayed at the larger hotels on the beach. On our last visit we had breakfast in this lovely restaurant which turns out to be in the Posada del Roger. From the street view, you cannot really tell what a lovely place is hidden inside. The hotel is 4+ floors high, rooms facing inside from a balcony and below the most lovely garden area. There is a pool on the second terrace, chairs on the roof top from which you can see almost 360. There is also a community kitchen, with up to date appliances should you choose to make your own meals and coffee. This is a lovely hidden jewel. Peaceful, very clean, with very attentive, hard working staff. The entrance has a locked gate. The restaurant on the street level has one of the best breakfasts and lunches in town. The rooms are not fancy, but nice and clean with working A/C and ceiling fan. You don't spend much time in your room as the surrounding areas are lovely to sit in and read. We particularly loved the mango tree growing in the centre, the lovely birds and parrot that sing away. You will waken to the sound of at least two roosters that live locally. A wonderful experience!
Barbara and Henri/Canada

Room Tip: Be conscious of noise levels. Once inside the Posada del Roger, you hear very little street sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our favorite place to stay before leaving MEXICO. Friendly, clean, comfortable place to stay and reasonably priced. Also, connected to and excellent MEXICAN restaurant, the Tucan! Outstanding for breakfast and lunch.

Room Tip: Near the indoor pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know you had a great time staying with us
We look forward to seeing you at our property again.

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed There In December for 2 weeks. Plan on going back again. Clean, comfortable & affordable. They have a pool!! Fairly quiet and only a few blocks from the beach. There are hundreds of fabulous restaurants in walking distance.
Not to mention Massage places, also very affordable!!! Wonderful breakfast restaurant, Freddie Tucans is attached to the hotel.
Patty

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you really enjoy our property during your vacation. We hope to have you once more as our appreciated guest

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. It was clean and reasonable price wise , location was great , cleaning staff hardworking,,,,,however front desk staff was often rude and the managers overcharged for services , then argued with me afterwards. And so much as called me a liar at checkout......If management had any people skills, it could be a good hotel instead of average.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest

We're sorry you left with a wrong impression of us but we don't overcharge our guests, if the receptionist didn't explain clearly for what the extra charge was we apologize for that and we'll explain what the charges were.

When you made the reservation through a travel agency you reserved an economy room without view but being an economy room it is at a lower rate than a room with two double beds or a standard one double bed.

The day after you came to the front desk, and you asked for an upgrade, we moved you to another room ( bigger with two double beds ) we charge for this type of changes just $5 usd extra per night. Then you requested a refrigerator in your room that also has an extra charge of $5 usd per night as the sign at the front desk says.

Next time, if you give us another chance, we will be glad to give you a refrigerator like a courtesy but if you reserve through a travel agency and ask for an economy room with one double bed without view we can't give you a room with two double beds and a view without charging an additional fee. No other hotels do this type of extra services without an extra charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon 'the sea walk', and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.