We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Puerto Vallarta” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada de Roger to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Roger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$40 (USD)
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Puerto Vallarta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was my second time in two years staying at Posada de Roger and it was again the best value and in the heart of everything. If you like to walk and not take cabs to everything, this is the place to stay. It is a jewel in the heart of the area! The pool is like a little oasis with a view of the moutains and Casa Isabella! Casa Isabella is worth a trip for dinner or drinks just for the view! The room was great and we asked this year for a fridge and it was a much required/loved feature.
The room was always clean and is not huge but serviceable!
If you are looking for 5 star, this is not it! This is the quaint, Mexican experience which is just what I am looking for within walking distance to everything including the Malecon, and Andales!
My travelling partner had never been to this hotel before and was also suitably impressed with the quality and cleanliness of the hotel along with the uncomparable location!
Planning my next trip!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front or back of the hotel due to the noise of the street on the one side wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience about your stay in your home Hotel Posada de Roger, your feedback is very important to us it helps us know that we are on the right path in our efforts to provide outstanding customer service. I´m glad you had a nice stay with us, enjoying our rooms, the pool and all our facilities.

Your satisfaction is paramount to us and your kind words are very motivating. We sincerely thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

It is a pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    170
    49
    12
    5
See reviews for
52
168
107
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you're looking for a resort, this isn't it!

If you're looking for a safe and economical place to stay in the heart of the Zona Romantica in lovely Puerto Vallarta, look no further.

Some rooms are noisy but most are not. The staff were friendly and helpful and "Fredy's Tucan" downstairs has really great breakfasts 'til 2:30pm.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to know you had a great time staying with us
We look forward to seeing you at our property again.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Other than the location of the hotel, nothing is special with it. Noisy, small rooms and bathrooms. Ran down and needs a major update.
Lesson learnt; do not book a hotel by trip advisor's star rating again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn't have the experience that you expected with us.
During this time of the year downtown area is full of activities and can be noisy.
Even if our hotel isn't new it is not "ran down" as you mentioned, we try to improve and upgrade it everyday as all the over 300 reviews on tripadvisor can testify, the tripadvisor reviews show most of the guest satisfaction,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

hotel posada de roger is a great place to stay while visiting puerto vallarta! when my wife and i got there on november 5th we were greeted by orlando who has excellent customer service skills! within an hour of being at the hotel,orlando helped us book a few trips trough vallarta adventures which werr amazing by the way! rooms are comfortable enough for that price. the only issue with the rooms is that their is no fridge or microwaves but unless you're planning on being in your room all day long then it doesn't become an issue. my wife and i will surely be back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you really enjoy our property during your vacation.

I also thank you for the nice comments about the service you received from Orlando, I will share these words with him to let him know what a great job he is doing.

We hope to have you back soon as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Its an excelent hotel, very mexican that is place in the best part of Puerto Vallarta. I spend 3 days and 2 nights and really enjoy the experience.
The pool is great, the wi fi works excelent, the atention is very kind and have very nice common places to hang out.
I will return there when I return to Puerto Vallarta!!

Room Tip: ask for the PH!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your wonderful comments, We strive to give the best service posible and make you feel at home, thank you for having stayed with us we are happy to see you enjoyed our services and are looking forwards to having you back soon!

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Family friendly only because it is family run. Their sign says all people welcome an d they mean it. For part of my stay, I had a friend come in from Mexico City to stay with me and there was no judgment. Staff is wonderful, rooms are clean and remodeled, and the décor/setting is stunning! And the location can't be beat- walking distance from anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Hotel Posada Roger, We appreciate the time you have taken to express your lovely experience. It truly was a pleasure to assist you at all time. The staff of Hotel Posada de Roger is very happy to know you enjoyed the tranquil and relaxed atmosphere of our down town zone,. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to be your host again in the near future.

BestRegards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Most rooms faced an interior courtyard so were very quiet, especially with the white noise of the AC. Staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Orlando. A great breakfast restaurant is attached to the hotel, Fredy Tucans. Rooms were basic, no frills. What set this place apart is the location. Right in the heart of the Romantic Zone, two blocks from the beach. Walking distance to everything. So many restaurants to choose from within a minute or two. And great food carts in the area as well if you want to try what the locals eat. I did hear from some people that one side of the hotel was noisy, the side that backed onto the street where the bus ran. With all the cobble stone streets, that means loud in my book. Our room was very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a true Mexican experience, not the all inclusive experience. Excellent WIFI throughout. Non smoking rooms where a major plus however we could not enjoy the inner courtyard as the same smokers sat there all day smoking.

Room Tip: one side backs onto the bus route street, the other two sides do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to express your lovely experience. It's very motivating to all of our staff to know we excited your expectations making your vacation a memorable experience. Our main goal is to always make our guest feel pampered in the harmony and excellence of our service, relaxing in our beautiful grounds and enjoying our delicious breakfast at Fredy’s Tucan.

We look forward to greet you again and welcome you in the near future for another wonderful and unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#19 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon ‘the sea walk’, and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.