We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada de Roger to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Roger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #18 of 121 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a very good experience at the Posada de Roger. I didn't want to spend too much and I wanted to be in the heart of the Zona Romantica near my favourite restaurants and near the beach but not on it. The Posada is a comfortable, clean hotel, with really nice staff. I could rent a small fridge from them for $5 a day -- I liked that.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Owner at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. As you mentioned, we are two blocks away from the beach and near many restaurants. This is a great advantage for us but can also mean a little more noise, make sure to request a quiet room when reserving and we will make sure to get that for you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    150
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
148
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely stay at the Hotel Posada de Roger. Our room was comfortable (and when I mentioned the bed was a little too hard, they immediately put an egg foam pad underneath the sheets). Wonderful authentic courtyard which I will paint, simple but fine pool to cool off in, and enjoyed the community kitchen where I met others and could make my own breakfast. Wonderful location!
Nan Hass Feldman

Room Tip: I liked the rooms facing the street, because they also faced the pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments, as you mentioned, if you feel you need more comfort we have extra bed padding for a better night sleep, ask for them at the front desk. We have put new mattresses in most of our rooms and soon all rooms will have new ones.
We would love a picture of the painting !
We are glad your enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you back soon!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

i just returned from Puerto Vallarta and stayed at Posada de Roger, while it is still a dump, they have fixed it up a bit with LCD TV's and A/C that is new and quiet, but overall still a step or two below a Motel 8. I was there 3 nights and had to move twice, the first time I knew about, but the second night I was put in a smoking room where the owner manager told me after one stinky long night that they had a guest who smoked and stayed for 3 months. ( Would have been nice to know beforehand vs. some casual smoker in there for a few days??) He then said he should have replaced the mattress....Duh! The next move was to above the courtyard, noisy until about 11:00. I have been here before and kindly refer to it as Hotel El Dumpo to my friend who insists on staying here. Staff is friendly, helpful, but the place is neatly painted to hold some of the bricks and mortar together. Maybe for the price in PV it is a deal, but I doubt it. Oh yeah, did they offer to comp the smoking room night, no way, here is $5.00 off. Go Figure?

Room Tip: You want to be away from the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Manager at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Good Afternoon,
We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not pleasant, it is clear that you and your friend have very different preferences and maybe the next time it would be a good idea to reserve on your own.

When your friend David made the reservation for you we clearly explained to him that the hotel was full and that the only condition, for you to stay, was if you switched rooms once or twice, to which your friend agreed and said he'll let you know ( probably he didn't )

Also we would like to note that the day before you switched rooms, we told you clearly that it was a corner room and we suggested you to check the room beforehand , we also gave you the option to help you find another accomodation in a hotel nearby, but your friend convinced you to stay with us.

The next day we asked you again to check the room and after you did it you agreed to stay.

As a Hotel, we always try to accomplish our guests requests and needs and the several reviews that you can read on trip advisor, can testify that we are a nice three stars mexican hotel and we have never tried to decieve our coustomers into thinking that we are a higher star rated hotel.
Have an excelent day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from another stay at Roger, and, as always, it was perfect. When you go to Vallarta, you make a choice: fabulous condo or hotel? Beach or in the hills? With this hotel, you get a clean, friendly, inexpensive hotel a few blocks from the beach and near a lot of the best bars and restaurants. It's in Zona Romantica, which is hands-down the best area to stay in PV.

The hotel is basic, but not too basic. They have wi-fi, safes at the desk, AC and ceiling fans. Some rooms have tiny balconies. The upper area has a good pool and a bunch of decks for sunning or recovering. The area by the front desk has a cute garden area with a fountain. Importantly, there's a good solid breakfast place attached, Freddy's Tucan, which is a god-send if you had too many margaritas the night before.

The staff is nothing but friendly and accommodating, and the housekeepers do a wonderful job of keeping the rooms clean.

The hotel isn't for everyone. It isn't a four star by any means. There can be a bit of street noise, and someone somewhere nearby has a rooster that won't shut-up. I wouldn't recommend it for a honeymoon or something. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to toss your flip-flops in while you explore PV, this is the place.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are best. If a little street noise is a problem, ask for rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Owner at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We thank you for your wonderful comments, we do have a big advantage which is our location but as you say, there can be a little more noise also. We do have rooms however far from the noise, make sure to request them if thats what you prefer.
We strive every day to better our services and it is wonderful to know it is paying off.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lo de Marcos, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend several years ago and this year we got to try it. Conveniently located in the romantica zone in Puerto Vallarta, friendly staff, good price, with many amenities. The pool was small, but lovely to use. Our room was located on the street side, but did not find it too noisy. Breakfast and lunch cafe at the hotel with lots of choices, good prices, wonderful staff. Very nice ambience. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for two beds if that is what is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments, We strive to give the best service posible and make you feel at home. Thank you for having stayed with us, we are happy to see you enjoyed our services and are looking forwards to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I haven't really figured out how reviewers come at their ratings. Are they basing it on nice staff or a great room or what? While this property is clean, well maintained and the staff is very tourist friendly, you'd not call this a 3star property in the US. the room is rather spartan. I had two double beds, 18" TV with cable was located up in the corner of the room. The air conditioner was either high or off. Overhead ceiling fan was a little too energetic for me. The mattresses were VERY firm: great if that is what you like. No desk space. Excellent free WIFI. The shower head was 10+ years old and 30% were clogged and some squired in weird directions so showers were never really a refreshing experience. Plenty of hot water once it got to your room. I was on the second floor facing the streets. The new windows were beautiful, but they open inward, so can't open the window and still use the roll down bamboo curtain (which don't cut out any of the morning light if you are a light sleeper!). There are rooms on the other side of the patio which are probably much quieter. The street noise from buses or trucks could be loud at night. The location could not be beat with good shopping and restaurants and snack shops on the block and very nearby. Several upscale art galleries were on the street. the pool and lounge chairs were clean and comfy. Refrigerator rental about $5/night. The beach is an easy walk and about 10 minutes to the famous blue chairs. About 15 minutes to the Malecon. Deposits on beach towels (new, big and absorbent! were much better than the bathroom shower towels), safe deposit key and 3prong to 2 prong adapters. No safe in the bedroom. So, if you are used to staying in 1 or 2 star hotels in the US, you might call this a 4 star in service and a lot of bang for he buck, but more than 3 stars for the facility is still a push even for Mexico. Four stars for the management and employees and 5 stars for location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Basilio Badilla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed a few days at a time each year for a number of years at the Hotel Posada de Roger in the old part of Puerto Vallarta. It is a charming, small, colonial style hotel in the old, historic part of town, near the beach, and close to many good restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. Dario and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are happy to know that till today you have been coming back, we hope to keep it that way. It is always satisfying to know you enjoy our services. We hope to continue to give the best we can.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon ‘the sea walk’, and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.