We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada de Roger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Posada de Roger to your Saves list
Hotel Posada de Roger
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$27 (USD)
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
san francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just got back from another stay at Roger, and, as always, it was perfect. When you go to Vallarta, you make a choice: fabulous condo or hotel? Beach or in the hills? With this hotel, you get a clean, friendly, inexpensive hotel a few blocks from the beach and near a lot of the best bars and restaurants. It's in Zona Romantica, which is hands-down the best area to stay in PV.

The hotel is basic, but not too basic. They have wi-fi, safes at the desk, AC and ceiling fans. Some rooms have tiny balconies. The upper area has a good pool and a bunch of decks for sunning or recovering. The area by the front desk has a cute garden area with a fountain. Importantly, there's a good solid breakfast place attached, Freddy's Tucan, which is a god-send if you had too many margaritas the night before.

The staff is nothing but friendly and accommodating, and the housekeepers do a wonderful job of keeping the rooms clean.

The hotel isn't for everyone. It isn't a four star by any means. There can be a bit of street noise, and someone somewhere nearby has a rooster that won't shut-up. I wouldn't recommend it for a honeymoon or something. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to toss your flip-flops in while you explore PV, this is the place.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are best. If a little street noise is a problem, ask for rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Owner at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We thank you for your wonderful comments, we do have a big advantage which is our location but as you say, there can be a little more noise also. We do have rooms however far from the noise, make sure to request them if thats what you prefer.
We strive every day to better our services and it is wonderful to know it is paying off.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    158
    47
    12
    5
See reviews for
50
155
104
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lo de Marcos, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend several years ago and this year we got to try it. Conveniently located in the romantica zone in Puerto Vallarta, friendly staff, good price, with many amenities. The pool was small, but lovely to use. Our room was located on the street side, but did not find it too noisy. Breakfast and lunch cafe at the hotel with lots of choices, good prices, wonderful staff. Very nice ambience. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for two beds if that is what is required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments, We strive to give the best service posible and make you feel at home. Thank you for having stayed with us, we are happy to see you enjoyed our services and are looking forwards to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I haven't really figured out how reviewers come at their ratings. Are they basing it on nice staff or a great room or what? While this property is clean, well maintained and the staff is very tourist friendly, you'd not call this a 3star property in the US. the room is rather spartan. I had two double beds, 18" TV with cable was located up in the corner of the room. The air conditioner was either high or off. Overhead ceiling fan was a little too energetic for me. The mattresses were VERY firm: great if that is what you like. No desk space. Excellent free WIFI. The shower head was 10+ years old and 30% were clogged and some squired in weird directions so showers were never really a refreshing experience. Plenty of hot water once it got to your room. I was on the second floor facing the streets. The new windows were beautiful, but they open inward, so can't open the window and still use the roll down bamboo curtain (which don't cut out any of the morning light if you are a light sleeper!). There are rooms on the other side of the patio which are probably much quieter. The street noise from buses or trucks could be loud at night. The location could not be beat with good shopping and restaurants and snack shops on the block and very nearby. Several upscale art galleries were on the street. the pool and lounge chairs were clean and comfy. Refrigerator rental about $5/night. The beach is an easy walk and about 10 minutes to the famous blue chairs. About 15 minutes to the Malecon. Deposits on beach towels (new, big and absorbent! were much better than the bathroom shower towels), safe deposit key and 3prong to 2 prong adapters. No safe in the bedroom. So, if you are used to staying in 1 or 2 star hotels in the US, you might call this a 4 star in service and a lot of bang for he buck, but more than 3 stars for the facility is still a push even for Mexico. Four stars for the management and employees and 5 stars for location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from Basilio Badilla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have stayed a few days at a time each year for a number of years at the Hotel Posada de Roger in the old part of Puerto Vallarta. It is a charming, small, colonial style hotel in the old, historic part of town, near the beach, and close to many good restaurants, cafes, bars, etc. Dario and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are happy to know that till today you have been coming back, we hope to keep it that way. It is always satisfying to know you enjoy our services. We hope to continue to give the best we can.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

enjoyed our one week stay at the posada de roger. helpful, friendly staff. reservations,front desk and maids were all friendly and helpful and knowledgeable. prices were very reasonable.great location. found a new home on the south side of puerto vallarta.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We truly appreciate your wonderful comments, We strive to give the best service posible and make you feel at home, we are happy to see we did that!
We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here the last 3 days of our 10 day trip to PV. It was great to be close to the beach, restaurants, etc. The staff was very helpful and responsive to our needs. We didn't make our reservations until a couple days before we moved over there. Luckily they had rooms! Had breakfast almost every day in the community kitchen. Wifi was spotty, but they worked hard to get it going, and even provided another option from the restaurant. Rooms were super clean. Rates were super reasonable. I'd definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are happy to know you found our community kitchen helpful. We usually recommend using the wifi in the lobby to get the best service. We've recelty added a new modem and seem's to be working great from the rooms.
We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thanks to Dario and the hard working staff. I had a great two week stay in january 2013.
The hotel is in a great location with resturants and night clubs not far away.
The staff is friendly and very helpful.
This is not a high end hotel but a quiant little place to stay.
Thank you for your hospitaltity!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
posadaroger, Gerente at Hotel Posada de Roger, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We appreciate your comments, we are happy to see you enjoyed our services and are looking forwards to having you back.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada de Roger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Roger

Address: Basilio Badillo 237 | Colonia Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#15 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Roger 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a real Mexican-style hotel in downtown Puerto Vallarta, surrounded by beautiful gardens and authentic Mexican architecture. Our personalized service, always cordial and efficient, assures that you will return home with a smile on your face!We are located one block from the main beach in old town, 2 minutes walk to the malecon ‘the sea walk’, and 20 minutes to the International Airport.We are very close to shopping areas, markets, internet cafes, as well as to other services to make your vacations simply perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada de Roger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Roger Puerto Vallarta
Posada Roger Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada de Roger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.