We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great roof top view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Vallarta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel
Save
You added Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel to your Saves list
520 Matamoros, Puerto Vallarta 55455, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great roof top view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The room was very spacious and very clean. The included breakfast was alright. Pretty basic, but different each morning. The roof top view was beautiful. We ended each day up there with a final drink of the day. The waiters were very friendly. The location of the hotel is up a steep hill, and we tried not to have to make any trips back during if we didn't have to! Great exercise! It was quite close the Malecon and everything else, about a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Enjoy the escape to a special place in Puerto Vallarta. Have a margarita on the roof top patio, open 4:30 p.m. with the special view overlooking Puerto Vallarta. Then down to the main entrance for dinner at the Chezelena Restaurant for one of the best meals in Puerto Vallatra.

www.cuatrovientos.com

This hotel and the feeling of this special place will always be with you. We recommend this escape as we have stayed here many times and this location completes our enjoyment of Puerto Vallarta.

Room Tip: Room A3 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I just wanted to express my pleasure for one of historic Puerto Vallarta's charming little colonial restaurants. I have been a regular in Vallarta since 1980 and have continued to enjoy Cuatro Vientos, Chez Elena Restaurant, since that very first spring. To begin an evening on the rooftop, at the El Nido, with a wonderful margarita to watch the sunset...the best view of town...to the lovely, garden setting in the restaurant to enjoy a scrumptious meal...makes for a memorable experience. Fantastic, fresh food and friendly service have always been the hallmark of Chez Elena. This little slice of Old World Vallarta is not to be missed. There are many dishes to choose from, both traditional and international. Sate Mixto is a favorite. The Indonesian brochette with delicious pork, beef, and shrimp with peanut sauce is wonderful. Fresh seafood is offered. I love the huge Butterflied Shrimp plate and unusual Cheddar Cerveza Soup. The icing on the evening is the flaming, fabulous Café Mulato made by Jesse, which has become a habit of mine, and I do not even drink coffee!!! Staying at the hotel is a marvelous experience. The hotel guests are very interesting and well traveled and some have become true friends for a life time. The lovely owner, Gloria, is always present with a friendly smile and a wealth of invaluable information as to sites to see, local art, classes, and Puerto Vallarta happenings.

Judith Graves
Newport Beach, CA

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We live down the coast from Puerto Vallarta but every time we come "to the city" we stay here. The rooftop patio is just great for having a drink and some great snacks while we watch the sunset. The food in Chez Elena, the restaurant which is part of the hotel, is excellent and after a drink upstairs, we have a wonderful meal. Because the hotel is located so well, we take a walk either before or after dinner and are always happy to find our way back to our room at this quiet and quaint spot. We often ask for a suite just for the extra space but you may not need that.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I stayed in Puerto Vallarta for a month, changing hotels every few days to find out what PV was really about and to see where I would want to stay on future visits. Out of all the hotels and bed and breakfasts I stayed at, this was the most authentic representation of true Puerto Vallarta.

Although you don't hear about this hotel like some of the bigger and noisier ones, it's history is celebrated as the history of Puerto Vallarta is. The "glory days" as some regular guests called them are documented on the walls with photos of famed guests and grand parties of days gone by.

The roof top is truly one of the best views in the city, with view in every direction. The food served and margaritas are excellent and you will find people searching it out even if they are not staying at the hotel. The breakfasts are lovely as are the staff (long and loyal) and the owner Gloria is absolutely charming and gracious.

The rooms are a little old and some areas could use a paint job but they are extremely clean and the linens are cotton, unlike hotels of similar good value that use polyester. It is also VERY quiet, unlike many PV hotels.

The downside of this place is the hill to get there, although many other hotels in PV have the same issue. There are a few stairs but not many. Wifi is available and the staff do everything they can to make your stay comfortable and pleasant and will spend much time making appointments for you. They do not push tours or time shares which is HUGE in this town. The whole atmosphere is completely low key and relaxed.

Although it is really a 3 star I give it 4 because the stay was excellent and I would absolutely recommend it to friends and family as well as go there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed at Quatros Vientos March 27 to April 5, 2011. There is also a restaurant called Chez Elena which is open for dinner. The cuisine is delicious, the service excellent. The restaurant has a roof and is open on two sides, with many plants, flowers and vines. A very romantic place to dine. Stayed in a pretty little room complete with its own bathroom. Room is decorated Mexican style with whitewashed walls and flower borders painted on the walls. There is an open closet with hangers and lots of windows with billowy clean curtains along one wall. A complimentary large fan was provided without asking for it, and it sure came in handy! Slept very well and felt secure. Slept with the door partly open most nights and sometimes the two resident cats would curl up on the bed with us. That was endearing. There is a roof top bar called El Nido which opens at 4:30 p.m. daily (provided the boutique villa has enough guests, as there is a busy season and a quiet season). We loved our stay.

Room Tip: Boutique hotels or villas are a well kept secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Not upscale and not for tourists with young children but a great choice for travellers who want to be close to centro but also be a bit out of the busy tourist areas. Great value and location with a roof top deck with a wonderful view and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Vallarta hotels
0.6 mi away
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Resort & Spa
Playa Los Arcos Hotel Beach Reso...
#34 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 1,143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallart...
#30 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Allegro
Hotel Porto Allegro
#17 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Vallarta Suites
Hostal Vallarta Suites
#18 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada de Roger
Hotel Posada de Roger
#24 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Catedral Vallarta
Hotel Catedral Vallarta
#21 of 123 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel

Address: 520 Matamoros, Puerto Vallarta 55455, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 123 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Hotel Los Cuatro Vientos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cuatro Vientos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.