We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Trip to Los Arcos Suites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Arcos Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Los Arcos Suites to your Saves list
Los Arcos Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Manuel M. Dieguez No. 164 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4th Trip to Los Arcos Suites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our 4th time visiting this hotel in the last 3 years, and again, we are very satisfied. We would come back again.

it's an older hotel, so you cannot expect 5 stars, however having a kitchenette, and larger than normal rooms with a balcony makes up for it! If you are up to it there are several places to by food for breakfast/lunch if you want to save some bucks on going out for all 3 meals each day. A trip to MEGA (huge grocery store $8 taxi) is also a good idea if you are staying for a while.

The weekends get pretty busy with tourists and local travelers, so the main pool and beach can get a little crowded, but we used this as an opportunity to make some friends while we were there.

A nice improvement since our last visit was the hotels internet - which is free. In the past it was not reliable but they have made upgrades, and it is now more than acceptable. I was even able to stream a live MLB baseball in HD on a day where we needed to be out of the sun (sunburn!)

The rooftop pool at Casa Dona Susana (part of the 3 hotels included) is a great option for a more relaxed time. The pool is not heated, so it's good on a hot day.

A huge benefit to the hotel is the location we never had to take a taxi once during the trip as you can walk to all the food spots and nightlife in 5 minutes. It's also in the 'gay' area of town, and everyone there respected our LGBT relationship.

Regarding the staff - they always immediately responded to any requests that we had. Specifically Javier Fransisco Ponce from the hotels main desk was exceptionally helpful. He speaks the best English of anyone at the hotel, so we always relied on him when he was working.

If I had to say something was missing it would be the beach towels. I think they have been reusing the same set since out first trip 5 years ago. They are "clean" but worn out with some holes, and the occasional stain. I think it's time for a new set Los Arcos!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301 and it was a full suite with 2 separate rooms and a kitchenette. All rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    89
    33
    7
    12
See reviews for
33
84
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Los Arcos Suites is located in Old Town PV one block from the ocean and 2 blocks from the new pier. Walking distance to the Malecon, shops, restaurants, and bars. Many activities at any of the family owned hotels. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. Francisco Ponce at the front desk is especially helpful with any request.

Room Tip: Book day trips to get the best understanding and experience of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I vacationed at Los Arcos Suites for 7 nights in April 2014. Their cocky, obnoxious male receptionist said "Really?" when I reported two roaches in the bathroom after checking in, and "Weird!" that my room wasn't made up by 2:45 p.m. one day when the regular [excellent] maid was off. His parting shot was to speak against me to a colleague during check out, so brush up on your Spanish before booking a room here. I understood everything he said, and was glad to say adios to him, too.

Having purchased the all-inclusive deal, I thoroughly enjoyed the buffet-style meals at their sister property, Los Arcos Suites, a two-minute walk away and directly on the beach. The variety was good, and the guacamole and baked chips are excellent. Breakfast is from 7:30 to noon (w/an omelette station)...snacks from noon to 5...lunch buffet from 1 to 4:30...dinner buffet from 6 to 10:30.

Bar service is from 9 a.m. to 11 p.m., and it should be noted that only domestic drinks are included in the all-inclusive package. For example, only Tecate Light and Indio Obscura beer; only Carlos Rossi red or white wine, etc. There will be a letter in your room listing the brands available to you.

Guests staying over 7 nights are entitled to a gourmet meal at the colorful restaurant outside the Playa Los Arcos that's on their property. It's a treat to dine on [for example] Ceviche Three Ways and Osso Bucco. And the waiter makes a perfect show of Spanish Coffee (or others) complete with flames against the backdrop of the sea.

At "Mi Pueblito Restaurant" where you'll go for the buffet at Playa Los Arcos, there's a wonderful man by the name of BETULIO who works there as a waiter. His kind, genuinely friendly, considerate nature was totally responsible for my good vacation in Puerto Vallarta. Not only did he watch out for me every day, but he also noticeably does the same thing for all customers in his assigned area of the large dining room.

Ask for BETULIO when you go there. He's an excellent "ambassador" of the hotel. It was rewarding meeting such a good man in the tourist sector.

There are colorful shows almost every night at the Playa Los Arcos. The MC/host is excellent, and he, too, contributes highly to the overall experience by being an enthusiastic, really nice guy.

Room Tip: (1) If your suite is on the front overlooking the street, expect noise from the Andale bar/restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is my forth time staying at Los Arcos Suites. From the moment you arrive, you are on vacation! Francisco at the front desk starts every day with a smile.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. This year I was in room 401 which was a great room. Two peek views of the ocean, and higher up to minimize street noise.

We did the All Inclusive package again this trip as it was only about $12 more per person per day. The food was o.k. nothing special, but for the price, can't be beat. Included was a nice dinner at sunset with choices off of the menu. Great service and great presentation. Soup or salad, entree, dessert and then after dinner coffee drink.

Once again, met some great people on the trip and spent a lot of time on the balcony just soaking up the Mexican life!

Was there before Easter and would recommend not going anytime the week before Easter as it is PACKED!! I like it a bit less busy.
Will be back as soon as I can arrange it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This was our second visit to Los Arcos. It's the perfect place for enjoying Old Town/Zona Romantica in Puerto Vallarta. Short taxi ride from the airport, amazing, friendly, welcoming staff, lovely pool that's perfect for little kids and--seriously--the best sunset beach in PV.

We opted for the all inclusive package because it didn't cost much more than a room alone and it gave us the flexibility of enjoying beer by the pool, fries on demand, and breakfast when we needed it. The food is best when you order from the menu (not included) but the buffet is quite tasty.

The staff welcomed us and remembered our kid from last year. Everyone is incredibly, sincerely warm. We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. There's extra space for the kid to explore and extra room to dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kootenay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The suites has everything for a short term get away for 2 or more. Convenient location, friendly staff, clean rooms and beautiful setting. Large size king beds and 2 pull out sofas for children. Room comes with small fridge, sink, 2 burner stove and dishes and coffee maker.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. No street or pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We traveled to Puerto Vallarta for a short vacation inFebruary. We selected the Los Arcos property because it was in the old town area. The hotel was fairly old but our room was clean and our veranda offered a view of the pools and the ocean. The food was very good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed wandering around the area and shopping for bargains. We had fun.

Room Tip: The hotel was built in stages. Check with management to get rooms in the newest addition
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Arcos Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos Suites

Address: Manuel M. Dieguez No. 164 | Col. Emiliano Zapata, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Arcos Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOS ARCOS SUITES is a beautiful and cozy boutique style hotel of exquisite colonial Mexican architecture. Without any doubt, this hotel is the perfect place to stay and enjoy an unforgettable vacation on the beach, the best option for honeymoons, a couple getaway or a family fun vacation. PERFECTLY LOCATED in the heart of the Romantic Zone, an area full of galleries, restaurants and incredible nightlife, only steps away from the vibrant downtown adn the famous brodwalk of Puerto Vallarta. You can have the Restaurant and Bar, Beach Cub, and the Spa sevices of our sister hotel Playa Los Arcos, located half block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Arcos Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Los Arcos Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Arcos Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.