We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mocali to your Saves list
Hotel Mocali
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicaragua 286, Col 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Menorca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“quiet hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

For my wife this was one of the best hotels we stayed in whilst touring Mexico. Very clean, comfortable beds, the rooms average size but perfectly adecuate, a balcony to sit out on with views of town, hills and a thin slice of the sea.
For me it was a bit distant from the old centre of town, where there is more ambience, but we'd moved from an otherwise lovely hotel there (Hortencia), because it was too noisy. This on the other hand we found quiet and slept very well. the beach is just a few blocks away, and there are easy city bus connections.
I liked the fact that it was near the park with a free running track and gym facilities.
The staff was friendly and breakfast was included, except Mondays(!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Nice place , basic rooms , no internet or very bad signal once or twice a day in the rooms despite being advertised as all romm WIFI
Complimentary breakfast a joke when you finally get a place after maybe waiting an hopur for a seat as it accomodates just 5 tables in a big hotel you just get coffe , mango, bread and jam so you have to buy a better one really
Staff are ok 1 or 2 speak reasonable English
Rooms cleaned to a high standard daily
Very good location, away from the gay area of PVR , which is why I moved there

Room Tip: Don not get an internal room , i.e one without a window . they look bad bad bad : )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel met our expectations of an inexpensive well located hotel in Puerto Vallarta that we used as a base to find a more long term arrangement. Only negative was that breakfast is not served on Mondays and no mention was made of this by the hotel staff nor is it posted in the dining area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I stayed here in Dec. 2011 for a couple of nights and I paid approx. $35 U.S. per night and I felt that it was a very good value. The room was newly remodled with marble floors and a new shower. The downsides were that the room was probably the smallest hotel room that I have ever stayed in, and the mattress was very hard, but for the price who could complain. It is three blocks from the beach and just outside the door was a cabeza taco stand that was cheap and delicious. Taxi from the airport was about $10 U.S. and they stopped on the way from the airport to let me exchange U.S. into pesos. I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have passed 14 days in the Hotel Mocali, PV (Mx). This is small Mexican hotel with 40 units. Clients are mainly Mexican people which is good for cultural discoveries and immersion. The hotel is well located, just few blocks north from the Malecon and 3 blocks from the bay. The hotel is clean and safe. Bus stops are very close for North or South bound directions. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very basic, coffee, toast and fruit (papayas or water melon). There is not that much variation in the menus. There is some questions about safety from some front hotel rooms, balconies are very close to high voltage electric lines, especially at level 1 (second floor).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

First, If you like fancy this place is not for you.

I enjoyed my stay, rooms are clean, good closet and luggage space and free wifi and breakfast. Ema and the girls where very nice and helpful. This is the place if you plan on exploring all day and just go to sleep at night. Very close to the beach and Oxxo's near by which is great for drinks and snacks on your way to the beach.

If you are in a budget restaurants close to the hotel are way cheaper than the ones closer to the Malencon.......and tastier.

Walking is the best way of exploring Puerto Vallarta, now if you need to go to shopping mall or Wallmart take a taxi (its faster and it only costs around 4 bucks)

Note: they are doing remodeling but they start late ( 12pmish) which is not bad. So the Lobby picture shown above is before the transformation. The lobby now looks amazing!

Yup, this is a little gem and I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is not the kind of place for you if you are one of those rich people who like to stay behind the walls of your all-inclusive resort. It's a moderately-priced hotel downtown. There is lots of street traffic, and lots of noise. This was compounded by the fact that they were doing construction on the hotel and didn't observe siesta time with quiet. Major bad.

That said, the room was clean, the people friendly, and the breakfast free. The beds were hard, but the staff gave us some mattress pads and that made it kinda OK.

Location-wise, it's convenient to "local" restaurants and there's a taco stand on nearly every corner nearby. The closest end of the Malecon is about 7 blocks away, and the furthest end of old-town is about an additional 9 blocks or so. Cab fare to the middle of the Malecon is 40-50 Pesos (3-4 bucks). A cab to the airport is about 120 Pesos (9-10 bucks).

After a day of fishing, the staff let us freeze the fish in the lobby freezer for transport back home. (You can take frozen fish on the airline as checked baggage, but they make you dump the ice.)

Overall, I might stay there again. But there are other hotels priced about the same in the Romantic Zone that are much more convenient to all the things we wanted to see and do.

Room Tip: Get one NOT overlooking the street. Loud traffic starts early in the morning, and continues late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mocali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocali

Address: Nicaragua 286, Col 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mocali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Mocali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.