We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for your bucks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mocali

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mocali to your Saves list
Hotel Mocali
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nicaragua 286, Col 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best for your bucks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have passed 14 days in the Hotel Mocali, PV (Mx). This is small Mexican hotel with 40 units. Clients are mainly Mexican people which is good for cultural discoveries and immersion. The hotel is well located, just few blocks north from the Malecon and 3 blocks from the bay. The hotel is clean and safe. Bus stops are very close for North or South bound directions. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very basic, coffee, toast and fruit (papayas or water melon). There is not that much variation in the menus. There is some questions about safety from some front hotel rooms, balconies are very close to high voltage electric lines, especially at level 1 (second floor).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
10
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

First, If you like fancy this place is not for you.

I enjoyed my stay, rooms are clean, good closet and luggage space and free wifi and breakfast. Ema and the girls where very nice and helpful. This is the place if you plan on exploring all day and just go to sleep at night. Very close to the beach and Oxxo's near by which is great for drinks and snacks on your way to the beach.

If you are in a budget restaurants close to the hotel are way cheaper than the ones closer to the Malencon.......and tastier.

Walking is the best way of exploring Puerto Vallarta, now if you need to go to shopping mall or Wallmart take a taxi (its faster and it only costs around 4 bucks)

Note: they are doing remodeling but they start late ( 12pmish) which is not bad. So the Lobby picture shown above is before the transformation. The lobby now looks amazing!

Yup, this is a little gem and I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is not the kind of place for you if you are one of those rich people who like to stay behind the walls of your all-inclusive resort. It's a moderately-priced hotel downtown. There is lots of street traffic, and lots of noise. This was compounded by the fact that they were doing construction on the hotel and didn't observe siesta time with quiet. Major bad.

That said, the room was clean, the people friendly, and the breakfast free. The beds were hard, but the staff gave us some mattress pads and that made it kinda OK.

Location-wise, it's convenient to "local" restaurants and there's a taco stand on nearly every corner nearby. The closest end of the Malecon is about 7 blocks away, and the furthest end of old-town is about an additional 9 blocks or so. Cab fare to the middle of the Malecon is 40-50 Pesos (3-4 bucks). A cab to the airport is about 120 Pesos (9-10 bucks).

After a day of fishing, the staff let us freeze the fish in the lobby freezer for transport back home. (You can take frozen fish on the airline as checked baggage, but they make you dump the ice.)

Overall, I might stay there again. But there are other hotels priced about the same in the Romantic Zone that are much more convenient to all the things we wanted to see and do.

Room Tip: Get one NOT overlooking the street. Loud traffic starts early in the morning, and continues late at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel is great value for money! The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff are super friendly and the location is walking distance to most places, and only a block away from the bus stop. Not to mention that the 24 hr supermarket and beach are very close by. There is free wifi and luggage storage, with complimentary breakfast. I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I felt welcome by all, the hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Malecon and old Vallarta, the room are simple clean and well designed: I will go back!

Room Tip: The top rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Good location and hotel if you want to feel Mexico. Stuff very helpful to find out local activities and restaurants. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa tn 38451
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I stayed at Mocali 4 out of 7 nights I wish I had stayed all 7 I enjoyed the staff and the setting I felt like I was in Mexico within walking distants of almost any where you want to go

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor and had a nice view from the balcony speaking spanish is a big plus not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mocali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mocali

Address: Nicaragua 286, Col 5 de Diciembre, Puerto Vallarta 48350, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mocali 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mocali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mocali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.