We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for several years.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Encino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Encino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Encino Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Juarez 122 Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Stillwater, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stayed here for several years.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I have been going to PV for 23 years. We have stayed in the resort hotels at the Marina, in the Hotel Zone, at he south end of town and in the Romantic Zone. So we know all about the good and bad of comfort, cleanliness, amenities, location and price/value. For the past seven years we have chosen to stay at the Hotel Encino/Suites Plaza del Rio because there we get the best combination of what matters to us. The Manager, Claudia, and her staff are friendly and efficient, with virtually no turnover from one year to the next which indicates a well run operation. We feel at home there and will return for three months this winter. Ken and Ruth, Stillwater, MN.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    27
    10
    15
See reviews for
32
37
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have been returning to the Encino and the suites with our friends . We have all found the staff to be extremely helpfull and the location is the best (close to everything) -- Enjoy the culture of real Mexico around the corner -- most suites are quiet and recently upgraded --great place to spend a winter ---very safe area, have not heard of any trouble (large police presence)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Plaza del Rio is located in the heart of old town Puerto Vallarta. The Hotel is spacious, with a balcony and pool. We love the staff and the other visitors. We have stayed at Plaza del Rio 5 times now and enjoy going back.

Bill & Betty Bryant

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitt meadows bc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I have stayed in both the rooms and the suites for many years. Claudia and the staff have treated us with genuine hospitality and service every stay!! We stay for a month or more most years. When in PV its our home! RONNIE and KELLY BUYCK , Pitt Meadows BC

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We loved our stay at Hotel Encino. It was actually difficult getting a room for a month because loyal guests return year after year and reserve months in advance. Most are Canadians, with some Americans. The other guests were fun, but we particularly loved our maid, Maria, who was the happiest person we ever met. She kept our room spotless and our souls enriched. El Hotel Encino es como nuestra casa. Queremos volver y ver Maria otra vez.

Room Tip: This is an Old Mexico hotel. Don't go if you want an all-inclusive, everyone-speaks-English expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Have been staying at the Encino Apts for the past 2 years and are going back in Jan 2012 and have also paid out deposit for 2013, so that tells your how much we love it here....the apts have a great situation, near to everything, 5 mins to the beach and downtown, to all the best restaurants and bars, the apts are basic, but have everything you need, and all the staff are so very friendly and helpful, and are ready to help...we love it there and cant wait to go back each time, and now its like we are part of one big family.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

No Shampoo, cold watter, dirty place, my ipad was stolen, people does not speak english or french. I spoke t the manager Claudia is her name, and she got a very rude attitude when I reported that my ipad was stolen from my suitcase. Pointless speak to the mexican police.

Room Tip: stolen, poor, dirty,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Encino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encino Hotel

Address: Avenida Juarez 122 Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Encino Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Encino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encino Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Encino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.