We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , near beach.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eloisa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Eloisa Hotel to your Saves list
Eloisa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lazaro Cardenas No. 179, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Peresvet
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great location , near beach.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Hotel has a great location, close to Ollas Altas beach in the southen part of Puerto Vallarta center. The room we stayed in was very dim and simply furnished. Window was open onto the inner courtyard, also dark and narrow. I am not sure if other rooms have a street view, but, seems, most of them on all five floors do not. Breakfast was simple but served in a roof cafe with a great view over Vallarta.
I don´t think their rack rates are fair. However if booked with other sourse , rates might be worth of money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
15
39
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We've stayed here several times over the past 6 years or so but are unlikely to do so again. We paid 784 pesos ($60 at current exchange rates) for a regular room with fan and no TV. Bed was typical Mexican rock hard with cheap polyester sheets. The hot water wasn't even tepid (and we are very used to Mexico having lived here for two years and Mexican hot water standards but this was barely warm). Service was somewhere between indifferent and sullen.

We ended up checking out every other budget hotel in the Zona Romantica and ended up at the old standby Hotel Azteca, in a better room than at the Eloisa, with wireless in the room (not available at Eloisa) with better restaurants nearby and a more comfortable bed, for 350 pesos ($27) a night. That buys a lot of tacos - and the folks here actually seem to appreciate the business. Unsurprisingly the Eloisa was almost empty at this, the peak of high season. There are at least a dozen better choices at half the price.

Room Tip: Upper floors probably quieter overall as long as you don't mind the pool pump. Suites are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Only 1/2 block from the beach in the Romantic Zone. Great location to walk along the Malecon over the river towards the center of town and enjoy the art works along the way. We stayed in both outside and inside rooms. We paid only $40-45 per night with no AC but the ceiling fans were fine in April. The continental breakfast served on the roof terrace was very good. Much more than a European continental breakfast. We had juice, coffee, fresh fruit, cereal, bread and sweet rolls. The view from the terrace is lovely. Our room was basic, two double beds, tile floors, plain furniture and only a shower in the bathroom. Good advice from another review to close bathroom door at night as sound does carry through the vent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here next time.Saw baby turtles on the beach just steps from the hotel. Lots of good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: The inside rooms open on to the atrium with minimal light. If you are just going to sleep here it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We are fortunate enough to travel to Puerto Vallarta 2 or 3 times a year, and we always stay at the Hotel Eloisa. The suites are incredibly spacious, and the maids and front desk staff are always attentive. It is centrally located between the beach and countless bars and restaurants nearby. Overlooking a picturesque park, and a partial ocean view, our suite was lavishly appointed, and the maids didi an excellent job of maintaining the rooms. For the money, you will never find a better place to stay in Puerto Vallarta's Zona Romantica. We are already planning our next stay there in February! Don't miss this one!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or an outside room with a park view. The inside corridor rooms tend to be stuffy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We found this hotel by accident years ago and have returned many times. It is not anywhere near a 3 star hotel, however their suites come close. Our friends have stayed twice in a suite and we stay on the same floor in a regular room. I would recommend the suite! The room was a very basic bedroom and bathroom but decently clean by Mexican standards. They served a very simple continental breakfast on the roof which gives you a great view. The hotel is not on the beach, but within a few yards, surrounded by many great restaurants, bars and shopping. The location is perfect, and the people at the desk are friendly. We found a great little coffee shop right next door where we would stop every night on the way home and have the best ever Lattes!

Room Tip: If you stay on the side facing the park, it can be noisy in the mornings as there is a school direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

...while certainly clean enough, and close to the beach, the bathroom venting system leaves a lot to be desired. The bathrooms are connected by holes in the walls, (high up, near the ceiling), crudely patched with open brickwork. So sounds,(!) and smells, (!!) are transmitted room to room. Yes, you read that right.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

I love the Hotel Eloisa, but have only stayed in the Suites.. The rooms are clean, but tired. The location is excellent. I would stay again, but for the location.
If you want a pampered suit, this is not it.. The Eloisa is very basic .. no frills..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eloisa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eloisa Hotel

Address: Lazaro Cardenas No. 179, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 121 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eloisa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eloisa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eloisa Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Eloisa Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eloisa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.