We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Excellent Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
pay 3, get 1night free!!
Ranked #20 of 119 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
mpls, mn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked the hotel for six day in January 2013, based upon other Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel exceeded our expectations. Staff at the front desk was very helpful, especially Alejandra and Ulyses. The restaurant that is connected, Coexist, was excellent. Breakfast was some of the best we had. Restaurant staff, especially Carlos and Nacho, did a super job. Really enjoyed the location in the "Cento" area. Our room was average, but we had one of the older ones that hasn't been refurbished. We have already reserved one of the newer units for January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
: ) thank you for spending your valuable time in a review of the Hotel Rio.
All those great comments are the reason why we come to work everyday : )
Carlos and Nacho have got an ear to ear grin ever since they read your comments.
Thanks again


Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    63
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
65
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rio Malecon for 6 amazing nights. Victor and his staff were absolutely fantastic throughout our stay. After days on the beach we'd come back to beautiful Daiquiris and Mojitos at Coexist, a great restaurant which is part of the hotel. We had many meals there and agreed it was some of the best food we had in Mexico. The location is ideal, a block from the beach and short walking distance to the nightclubs and bars. I recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Vallarta, it really was a special part of our holiday. Thank you so much to Victor and his fantastic staff, the 5 Aussie girls will be visiting again very soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Ey Girls!

It was delightful having you all as our guests. One of the best things about being involved in the hospitality industry is having the opportunity to meet wonderful people like you. Thank you very much for you visit. It would be a great honor to have you all back at the Rio.

Till then, you will remain our favorite 5 Aussie girls!!

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days, in July 2012. I was pleasantly suprised. It's a great location in the middle of everything. On a busy street, but we didn't notice any problems with noise, even though we had a room on the corner. The small pool was nice to have to cool off after walking around PV in July. The restaurant was great. We had breakfast down there almost everyday, and usually it was enough to hold us over until we ate dinner later in the day. Overall a nice low key place, that we'd stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review,

We have made more improvements to the hotel and the restaurant over the course of the past year. hopefully you will come and check them out this next july.

all the best,

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Rio several times because of its great location, friendly staff and reasonable rates. The outside spaces are welcoming, but a few more chairs would be welcome on the second and third floor interior courtyards. There is plenty of seating around the Coexsist Restaurant< however, which is a great place for a cocktail or a meal. Everything we had there was delicious. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, your suggestion and for being a repetitive costumer.
I totally agree we need more seating options on those areas, so i´ll get to it. and you can let me know if you aprove them on your next visit. ; )

Best Regards

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We brought my husband's parents and sister here. His parents are in their 80's and staff really made them feel comfortable. Service fantastic and the rooms were superb! This is where will be staying when coming into PV everytime. Great location, easy walking to all our haunts on the Malecon, great parking right across the street. One of our rooms was on the main road but with the patio door shut, everyone slept well.

Room Tip: We got one of the updated King rooms on 2nd floor and the shower, sink, was all upgraded and beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zvictor, Owner at Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
your comments makes me feel very proud of all my staff and all the investments I make to offer you better facilities. It has been a huge amount of work, but when I read your comments it reassures me that it is worth it.

thank you very much for sharing your experience,

Sincerely

Victor Zamorano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect location. Across the street from the Malecon and water and across the street from the Public Market. Everything is accessible from here. The beds here have extremely comfortable mattresses and the service is extremely personal and friendly. The menu as you can see on line if fabulous and offers a great variety. The atmosphere of Co-exist you will experience everywhere. Book online for the best deal. Great price overall. Stay here and you will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with soft mattresses. You can call the hotel direct. Staff understand and speak Engl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel with beautiful beach.
Staff really friendly and so helpful. Not as commercial as places like cancun. Puerto Vallarta is more rustic and charming.
Would definitely go back!
The staff work extremely hard and are still always polite and friendly.
Rooms are spacious and good sized balcony very clean. Love the various animals and flowers folded and made from the towels.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta

Address: Morelos No. 170 | Col. Centro, Puerto Vallarta 48300, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#20 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#21 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#30 Family Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable boutique style hotel located in the heart of downtown Puerto Vallarta. Only 5 miles away from the international airport and walking distance from the main attractions in the area, such as the traditional and recently restored Malecon, Los Muertos Beach, the Flea Market, the Romantic Zone, Restaurant Row, as well as Puerto Vallarta’s exciting night life. Our facilities include 47 comfortable rooms (featuring plasma TV with cable, private bathroom with shower, double glass windows, balcony and some with kitchenette), COEXISTbistro and International Bar (open daily 8am – 2am), outdoor chlorine-free swimming pool, complementary Wi-Fi, private club room for special events, and 24 hour in-house concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rio Malecon Puerto Vallarta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.