We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 weeks ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Hotel Belmar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$32 (USD)
Ranked #38 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 weeks ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Have to say The Belmar hotel is a very affordable place. It is very clean , very friendly staff . I spent 3 weeks. I did check other hotels in the area none were as clean and they all costed a lot more money. Only downside is the traffic noise but that calms down around 11 pm. I definitely stay there again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José Z, Director General at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We are very happy you have enjoyed your stay at Belmar Hotel Galeria; we think that the cleaning is very important for everybody to feel safe at any place, that is why we are always looking forward to keep our rooms, and every spot at the hotel really clean;
About the noise, I may say we are improving our rooms to minimize the sound outdoor, unfortunately we are rigth on a main street, as you should know, and this makes very difficult to keep the noise down, however, as I said before, we are always cheking our opportunity points.

Thank you very much again for your preference, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
29
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

extremely helpful right from the start, we checked in late due to bus times and they were more than accomidating, the lady behind the desk was the most help we have had during our travels and even organised someone to come down and deliver our bus tickets for free as we were having trouble booking. the rooms are imacculate and spacious. amazing hotel and would happily stay here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José Z, Recepcionista at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hello Mr. Stefano:

This is Citlaly, the lady behind the desk, is a real pleasure to read this wonderful words, I'm really happy you spend a great time with us; I hope you come back very soon, because we will try harder to make your stay as wonderful as the last time, or even better.

Thank you for your preference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I returned home last night from another wonderful stay at the Hotel Belmar. Out of the 9 times I've visited Puerto Vallarta, I have stayed here the last 7.

Every time I return, improvements have been made that have made my experience even more enjoyable and comfortable.

They continue to offer free wifi.

The staff is always so welcoming and accommodating. The free cookies and coffee in the lobby every morning are great. The Belmar is centrally located to all the best restaurants and is a very short walk to the Malecón.

Keep in mind that there is no elevator but I see that as my tiny bit of exercise while I'm on vacation.

The Belmar is located on a very busy street, which can be very noisy. However, the hotel has made many changes and the noise level from the street is much less than it used to be.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an inexpensive, immaculate, centrally located place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
María José Z, Director General at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Google Translation
Agradecemos de antemano su preferencia por este nuestro Belmar Hotel Galeria, efectivamente estamos realizando mejoras y remodelando cada habitación para que este lugar siga siendo el favorito de muchos.

Sin duda alguna estamos muy orgullosos de nuestro staff, que se preocupa cada día por hacer pasar a cada uno de nuestros huéspedes la mejor experiencia en Puerto Vallarta.

Esperamos verlo nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got a great deal for this hotel, this was my third and final hotel from my last trip to Puerto Vallarta. The price was a bargain comparing to the other hotels I stayed in. When I got there, the service on the reception was great, they helped me get my luggage all the way up to to the 5th floor.

Pros
Price - less than 20 USD per night, keep in mind I got a great deal online
Free water - Every floor has free filtered water, they only have cold water in the first floor. Also free cookies and coffee in the mornings
Service - Employees always said hi to me and everyone was very nice, I needed to reheat a left over pizza and I asked on reception if they could put it on the microwave for a few seconds and they did it.
Free WiFi - Fast and they have a wireless access point on every floor.

Neutral
Small room, only 2 towels, A\C is $80 or 60 more per night, parking lot is $50 pesos per night and its located 1 street away from the hotel, no elevator. Beds are ok at the best.

Negative - Noisy hotel, even at the fifth floor i could hear the noise from the buses outside all day long, also the A\C is kinda noisy.

Nonetheless, stay here if you are in a budget, ask for a inside room if the noise is a problem for you. I wouldnt stay here for more than 4 nights, but I'll probably come back again. Thanks

Room Tip: Noticed that some rooms have a kitchenette and are bigger. Rooms facing the blvd are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is in front of bus a stop. Place is safe and secure. Parked my car out front on street. The tv remote wasn't quite working. Staff had to replace it with 4 different remotes until if finally worked. Shower has hot water and good pressure. Toilet does not always flush well. Door to bathroom opens onto your bed. Obvious design flaw. The hotel is located a few blocks from the boardwalk. Easy to walk. I stayed there over Labor Day weekend with girlfriend and felt safe walking around. Lots of arts and craft things to looks at. Very artsy town. Never felt threatened or feared safety was compromised. Plenty of taco stands to walk to from the hotel. Prices are around 1usd. You can walk around and see the different prices. Its cheaper the further away from the water. Book online it's cheaper then just showing and asking if you got a room. Plus, online you avoid the extra out of country charges to your credit card. Be sure to stop/fill up at the gas station if you driving out of puerto Vallarta heading south to Manzanillo. No gas stations and windy roads for long time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Labor day weekend. The room was a bit small, but very clean and adequate for our vacation. We wanted a central location where we can walk everywhere and get access to the local bus (the bus stop is practically in front of the hotel) which is exactly what we got.

A few important tips:
1). you NEED to have air conditioning. It's worth the money especially with the humid weather.
2). There is no elevator. If you want a room with a view, expect to walk up and down over 4 flights of stairs. (We had a great work out everyday LOL)

The staff was friendly, but Oscar was beyond wonderful and gave us great recommendations for food and activities. All in all, we had a great time and are looking forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very clean rooms, nice showers, good water pressure, hot water, internet was strong, staff was friendly and helpful. Decorated nicely. Filtered water to drink is free in hallways. Parking on the street was safe. Air conditioning. Balconies with good views. Great location, about 4 blocks from the beach. Nice area, cobbled streets. No elevator in hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique small budget hotel located downtown Puerto Vallarta with a great collection of art. Close to the beach, main plaza, the Malecon, the church, Olas altas. Within walking distance to restaurantes, galleries, boutiques, bars, discos, where all the action takes place, Hotel Belmar Friendly staff, attended personally by the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.