We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for the price. Free water and WiFi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Hotel Belmar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 120 Hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Acceptable for the price. Free water and WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We got a great deal for this hotel, this was my third and final hotel from my last trip to Puerto Vallarta. The price was a bargain comparing to the other hotels I stayed in. When I got there, the service on the reception was great, they helped me get my luggage all the way up to to the 5th floor.

Pros
Price - less than 20 USD per night, keep in mind I got a great deal online
Free water - Every floor has free filtered water, they only have cold water in the first floor. Also free cookies and coffee in the mornings
Service - Employees always said hi to me and everyone was very nice, I needed to reheat a left over pizza and I asked on reception if they could put it on the microwave for a few seconds and they did it.
Free WiFi - Fast and they have a wireless access point on every floor.

Neutral
Small room, only 2 towels, A\C is $80 or 60 more per night, parking lot is $50 pesos per night and its located 1 street away from the hotel, no elevator. Beds are ok at the best.

Negative - Noisy hotel, even at the fifth floor i could hear the noise from the buses outside all day long, also the A\C is kinda noisy.

Nonetheless, stay here if you are in a budget, ask for a inside room if the noise is a problem for you. I wouldnt stay here for more than 4 nights, but I'll probably come back again. Thanks

Room Tip: Noticed that some rooms have a kitchenette and are bigger. Rooms facing the blvd are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
27
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is in front of bus a stop. Place is safe and secure. Parked my car out front on street. The tv remote wasn't quite working. Staff had to replace it with 4 different remotes until if finally worked. Shower has hot water and good pressure. Toilet does not always flush well. Door to bathroom opens onto your bed. Obvious design flaw. The hotel is located a few blocks from the boardwalk. Easy to walk. I stayed there over Labor Day weekend with girlfriend and felt safe walking around. Lots of arts and craft things to looks at. Very artsy town. Never felt threatened or feared safety was compromised. Plenty of taco stands to walk to from the hotel. Prices are around 1usd. You can walk around and see the different prices. Its cheaper the further away from the water. Book online it's cheaper then just showing and asking if you got a room. Plus, online you avoid the extra out of country charges to your credit card. Be sure to stop/fill up at the gas station if you driving out of puerto Vallarta heading south to Manzanillo. No gas stations and windy roads for long time.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the Labor day weekend. The room was a bit small, but very clean and adequate for our vacation. We wanted a central location where we can walk everywhere and get access to the local bus (the bus stop is practically in front of the hotel) which is exactly what we got.

A few important tips:
1). you NEED to have air conditioning. It's worth the money especially with the humid weather.
2). There is no elevator. If you want a room with a view, expect to walk up and down over 4 flights of stairs. (We had a great work out everyday LOL)

The staff was friendly, but Oscar was beyond wonderful and gave us great recommendations for food and activities. All in all, we had a great time and are looking forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very clean rooms, nice showers, good water pressure, hot water, internet was strong, staff was friendly and helpful. Decorated nicely. Filtered water to drink is free in hallways. Parking on the street was safe. Air conditioning. Balconies with good views. Great location, about 4 blocks from the beach. Nice area, cobbled streets. No elevator in hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRINCE GEORGE
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thank you to Oscar and Lorena for making our stay so wonderful and comfortable. Also, thank you to all the staff for keeping the hotel so clean and welcoming. We will return the location is excellent and so is the hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very good, clean and original. The rooms are decorated with modern art and colorful walls. It is quite close by walk to the public beach where you find lots of restaurants and activities. The beds are confortable and there is also cable tv. The hotel offers complimentary drinkable water and breakfast. However breakfast is only cookies and coffee and ends early. Make sure your reservation includes air conditioning; otherwise you will get an extra charge of 60 pesos per night.
I really enjoyed my stay. I will suggest getting a room with a street view (even though buses can run very early) and above the 3rd floor for the view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel Belmar is a great choice if you want to be in the center of all the action. The maids are wonderful and always leave plenty of towels and soap. The rooms are literally spotless. Our balcony faced north and we had a great view. We were on the fourth floor and the walk up and down was tiring but nothing I would complain about. The street noise was not bad at all if you close your windows, although we kept ours open for a nice breeze and I got plenty of sleep. The beds were hard but not uncomfortable. The wifi worked great for us. There is fresh water in the hallways and they supply you with a pitcher and cups. The front desk people were helpful and between my small amount of spanish skills and their english skills the communication was fine. The area is my favorite in Puerto Vallarta because it is so authentic. The hotel is a short walk from the beach. It is also close to the buses that take you to other beaches north and south of Puerto Vallarta. We spent many days at Playa las Gemelas, one day at Mismaloya, and one day at Playa Conchas Chinas. All of the beaches were gorgeous, but Playa las Gemelas was the best for swimming. There are endless food choices nearby, as well as drinks. Dollar margaritas are all over on the beach down the street along with lots of great food. There are taco carts nearby the hotel that we hit up nearly every night because you just can't get tacos like that in the US so we took full advantage! Also oxxo's are everywhere nearby if you need anything. We loved this hotel and the location was amazing you can literally walk all around the best areas of the city from here. It is not a large resort with all of the amenities, but if you really want to experience Mexico and the wonderful people and culture that make it great than this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belmar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique small budget hotel located downtown Puerto Vallarta with a great collection of art. Close to the beach, main plaza, the Malecon, the church, Olas altas. Within walking distance to restaurantes, galleries, boutiques, bars, discos, where all the action takes place, Hotel Belmar Friendly staff, attended personally by the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Puerto Vallarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.