We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night. Should have stayed longer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belmar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belmar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 120 hotels in Puerto Vallarta
Vernon, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stayed one night. Should have stayed longer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Belmar is close to many things in the old town of Puerto Vallarta. Walking one way takes you to a bridge across a river and to an outdoor market. The other way takes you into the old town. The beach is an easy walk and you are near shops, pharmacy, restaurants, bars and Taco stands on the streets.
The hotel is clean and the staff are great. Lorena and Itzel are good with speaking english. Lorena was at the desk. She's very pleasant to talk to.
It is a very noisy corner so if you want it a little quieter try to get an inside room. The beds are hard. There is plenty of hot water in the showers.

Room Tip: It is a very noisy corner so if you want it a little quieter try to get an inside room. The beds ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
27
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have been in Vallarta over 30 times in 30 years...I have stayed in many different places...many located on the beach...others with water views and once before we also stayed in a downtown hotel. We have been in hotels, condos, we used to own a studio apartment in Girasol, at Playas Gemelas...we did for ten years...we sold it because we were not using it enough...I think I know Vallarta and I know what I like about it and what to expect...Hotel Belmar is simple, the pictures on website and trip advisor show it well...no swiming pool, no elevator, no phone in the room, balconies facing a busy Vallarta street, but that is what I want...the beach is only 4 blocks away, Isla Cuale within one block, you can walk to zona Romantica or to the Malecon...the location is great...a bit noicy but close to many things Vallarta has to offer....if you are looking for afrdable, clean place with hot watter in a good location Belmar is the place...the staff is profesional, and thoughtful...the hotel offers free internet, and free coffee in the mornng, if you are staying for more than 2 weeks you might consider asking for a room with a kitchenette...we were there for tree weeks...we are planning to be back next year for four weeks...the price is right for all you get....


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed at the Hotel Belmar the last five times I've visited Puerto Vallarta. It is my favorite hotel. The staff is always friendly and accomodating. The rooms are immaculately clean. Bottled water is provided on every floor. Free wifi, as well as a computer in the lobby.

The hotel is located on a busy street. You can always request an interior room or one off the main street. The windows are now sealed, which blocks out most of the street noise.

Centrally located and just minutes from the Malecón and all the fabulous art galleries and restaurants.

I've always found it to be a great value. I feel like I am home at the Belmar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for a couple weeks over the holidays and were quite happy with the stay. For starters, it's super clean and you can't beat the price.

The inexpensive interior rooms were tiny but relatively well-equipped (TV, soap; no shampoo or hair dryer) and there was a great wifi connection. The only real rub we experienced is that our bathroom door was one of those slotted wood contraptions rather than a solid door, and there was no way to close your bathroom window to the interior of the building, so your noises weren't exactly private. We thought it was hilarious but I probably wouldn't recommend the lowest priced rooms to those couples traveling together for the first time.

On the afternoon of Christmas Eve, we stumbled back into the lobby to find the hotel's owner sharing a nice holiday punch with some guests and the hotel staff. We had a couple drinks and she gave us the rundown of how Jaliscienses spend the holidays. We saw her around town a couple times after that; she was always incredibly friendly and invested in making our experience a positive one.

Aside from the price and the great attitude, the biggest plus for this place is the the location, which is incredibly convenient. You're a short walk to the beach or pretty much anywhere in the Zona Romantica or Centro. There's a great shawarma/falafel place just outside the front door, a bus stop a few steps away, and an Oxxo and a Farmacia Guadalajara within a couple blocks for all of your health and grocery needs.

At the end of the day, this place isn't the Four Seasons, but if you're looking for a good value in a great location, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Yes, there is great balcony views from top floor,and there is art everywhere . Service is friendly, location is convenient. But if you like some quiet downtime, skip the balcony rooms. And if you don't like to walk stairs, ask for a lower floor room. Place is clean, cheerful and the size of rooms and balconies are comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I happened upon Hotel Belmar randomly online, and we are very happy with our choice. It is exactly what we needed!

Here is the key- know what to expect from an affordable hotel situated in a busy (read:convenient!) part of town before you go, and you won't be disappointed.

The hotel itself is incredibly clean! The decor is lovely- so much art from many different disciplines decorate the walls- I walked down other hallways just to see it all! There is reliable wifi throughout the hotel, and a computer in the lobby if you can't bring yours. The owner (I think she was the owner?), Maria Jose, was so incredibly helpful and informative, very willing to talk to us about the city, and has incredible knowledge of it. The location was ideal for us! An easy walk to the beach, to downtown, to the "zona romantica," etc. Lots of services very close by- pharmacies, small produce markets, etc.

The rooms are small but had more than enough space for what we needed. The shower was big and hot water was reliable and plentiful. The beds were firm, but that was no problem for us. Yes, it was a little loud, but anyone who has lived in a lively city or who has been anywhere other than a very expensive, soundproofed hotel in Mexico will tell you that is normal. Just bring some earplugs if you think you will be sensitive to the sounds.

The receptionists were great and super helpful!

I will most definitely come back if I am ever in need of a hotel in PV again (but now I'm living in a tiny apartment very close by the hotel belmar....and trust me, I miss the hotel,.) :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

This beautiful artsy hotel was recommended by a friend who has stayed here yearly for nearly 7 years. It has great service - great prices. Location is great - 5 minute walk to the markets. Real good value. With each trip back we'll definitely stay here and bring our friends. Fantastico ! Muchos Gracias, Dameyon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Puerto Vallarta
Address: Av. Insurgentes #161 Esq. Aquiles Serdan, Puerto Vallarta 48380, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Puerto Vallarta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#22 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
#23 Business Hotel in Puerto Vallarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Belmar 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique small budget hotel located downtown Puerto Vallarta with a great collection of art. Close to the beach, main plaza, the Malecon, the church, Olas altas. Within walking distance to restaurantes, galleries, boutiques, bars, discos, where all the action takes place, Hotel Belmar Friendly staff, attended personally by the owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.